We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing time in Zagreb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Day and Night Hostel
Ranked #116 of 151 Speciality Lodging in Zagreb
Split, Croatia
1 review
“Amazing time in Zagreb”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This place is absolutely amazing! This time, I was on a kind of business trip, but still I was there for a weekend and everybody was gathering in the common area, ready to go out. So I couldn't just stand on a side. Atmosphere was really special and all the travellers forgot for a moment that they are still travelling, the felt like at home. this was my third time that I stayed here. Staff is extremely helpful, but a little bit clumsy cooking wine :-) I would definitely recommend this place to stay and have a great time. thanx to Emil, Irena, Zlatko & John

Room Tip: all rooms are good, waste with very nice and comfy beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinko p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    27
    18
    5
    16
See reviews for
Families
0
17
39
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

I have slept in a wide range of lodgings in my lifetime, and from my experience, this has to be the worst. The giant dormatories where I stayed for year 5 bush camp in 1996 were even a class above the Day and Night hostel in Zagreb.

My traveling partner and I had booked a private twin room, which upon arrival, was told it was located on it's own across the street. On entry, we found it to be uncleaned, with an overwhelming odor of cigarette smoke. Oh, and it was a double bed and not two twin beds as advertised.

Upon being relocated to a 4 bed mixed dorm, we were able to experience the hostel's third world shared bathroom facilities. Even after a shower I came out dirtier than when I entered. Finally, after 'freshening up', we were told that the hostel's internet would be down for the rest of the week. What a surprise that was!

If all of the holes in a piece of swiss cheese lined up and everything was functioning as intended, this hostel might be ok, but to avoid the risk of catching bed bugs, do not stay here.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Zagreb hotels

Gent, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Spent a few nights in this hostel. Has a great location, central in Zagreb.
It's close to the train station, 10 minutes walk from main square.
Very friendly staff as well.
Only negative point: matrasses have springs in them.
Feels a bit like you're being tortured when one of those springs suddenly release in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siemen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I spent a few night at this hostel during my visit to Zagreb. The dormitories, just as the whole hostel is immaculate. - Loved the design, great atmosphere! The beds are super comfortable!!
Every staff member I met was really nice and helpful. They helped me organize my trip to the Plitvice Lakes and also to my next City.
The hostel is in the middle of the city, so everything is close: Bus/Train station, super market, public transport, Sights...

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Mate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I stayed at Day and Night Hostel during my stay in Zagreb and I will definitely come back next time I visit Zagreb! Great location, really nice environment, absolutely clean, very fast internet and really nice personnel! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diego538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Only stayed here one night but the staff couldn't have been more helpful. We had a trip to plitvice lakes and split planned for the following day and the staff arranged travel for the whole day for us, booking us a mini bus which was much more comfortable than a train/bus. The driver was very helpful to have once we reached the lakes as he knew where we could buy tickets without having to queue for ages and was very knowledgeable of the area, advising us how best to spend our day at the lakes. The staff also advised us where best to spend the rest of our time in croatia, excellent management and extremely friendly and accommodating

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thun, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Me and my boyfriend spent 3 nights in the hostel day and night in Zagreb. The first two nights we slept in the private room with the double bed. this room isn't in the hostel itself, it's across the street in a separate building. This double room is excellent for staying a couple of nights, you have wi-fi connection in this building and a kitchen you can use. So you don't have to go to the hostel to cook. the bathroom is all right and air condition is working. the only thing that maybe wasn't perfect were some ants on the floor. i would recommend staying in the double room.
the third night we spent at the 4-bed room in the hostel. you meet a lot of other travellers, but in the night it's difficult to sleep because everybody is talking, coming home late or getting up very early. also there is more noise from the street and traffic.
the staff was just great, they speak perfectly english and are really really nice. we enjoyed staying in day and night in zagreb.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
0.1 mi away
My Way Hostel
My Way Hostel
#32 of 151 in Zagreb
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Chic
Hostel Chic
#17 of 151 in Zagreb
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostel Old Lab
Hostel Old Lab
#30 of 151 in Zagreb
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Palmers Lodge Zagreb
Palmers Lodge Zagreb
#11 of 151 in Zagreb
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Temza
Hostel Temza
#76 of 151 in Zagreb
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.5 mi away
Main Square Hostel
Main Square Hostel
#13 of 151 in Zagreb
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Day and Night Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Day and Night Hostel

Property: Day and Night Hostel
Address: Ulica Kneza Mislava 1, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 151 Speciality Lodging in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Day and Night Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing