We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”
Review of Hotel Laguna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Laguna
Ranked #52 of 58 Hotels in Zagreb
Bucharest, Romania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We stayed at Laguna two times and our experience was different. The first room we had looked pretty old ( repainted and everything ) and the window wouldn't open. The second time, you could see that the room was more modern and everything was ok, except the distance to the elevators. The hotel has a big parking , internet , restaurant , souvenir and exchange. The only problem was with the breakfast since the options were pretty slim and somewhat weird for breakfast. The coffee was so bad that we couldn't touch it but we later found out that this was the case for all Croatia. I think the ratio between room price and distance to center is good( maximum 15 minutes from city center).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrei P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    77
    115
    38
    21
See reviews for
29
64
26
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bilbao, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We didn't like the restaurant's food. The hotel is quite old but it's comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ander82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Zagreb hotels

Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Booked on-line; easy access from high way; free parking; receptionists speak several languages; very professional; room on a smaller size; good mattress, good a/c; clean bathroom with soft large towels; good shower; breakfast satisfactory (2 fruits, cereals, eggs, cheese, etc.) coffee could be better; excellent espresso available from the bar; good location; 15 min walk to the main square; taxi available; overall better experience than a number of new motels, hostels that charge more; ideal for a pragmatic no frill traveller.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiume051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

The Hotel Laguna was a pleasant stay for a couple trying to stay on a budget. The hotel is about a mile from the train station, nice breakfast buffet and quiet, although it's near the stadium (which was never an issue). Although Zagreb has a rep as an industrial town, we found it (especially the Old Town) to be very pleasant and a nice stopover for 4 days.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor across from the entrance and it was always quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank galacticshimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

I was in Zagreb with Mr Polojo, I had a double room, I must say the room was clean and the staff went out of their way to make your stay a nice and plesant one, One thing you must bear in mind is that the hotel doesn't claim to be a Hilton or Sheraton and as long as you keep an open mind you will definately not be disappointed. I personally didn't have a problem with any part of my stay at this hotel, I only thing I would say is that I would have liked a bigger bath ( I did mention this to the manager as a constructive dialogue whilst we were jesting, Goes to show how relaxed the staff were with their guest) in my room but hey the shower was OK, Like I said keep and open mind and all (your stay) will be fine. The joint we used to go after nights out was called American Donought, Its a cafe to go to after a night out. Some revellers come to get breakfast and burgers etc. Its like having a mini party and only ten minutes walk back to the hotel.

Keep and open mind and you will be fine. This is because some people will never be happy no matter what and get eat up with little things............

Sonny

Liverpool

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lagunahotel_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

The Hotel Laguna is just a brilliant hotel situated five minutes by tram from the centre of Zagreb. I organised a holiday here for ten gentlemen. Our requirement was four single rooms and three two-bed double rooms. For UK residents, this is a top notch Travel Inn or Holiday Inn Express. For the price, staff and location, I’ll always go back here if I visited Zagreb.

Hospitality and politeness shown by staff is exemplary and the reception desk is manned 24 hours. The manageress (Vesna) is brilliant and leads by example. Big thanks for the room change and repeated changes during the booking process. I must mention that the old building that is mentioned in previous reviews is no longer in use.

All rooms have en suite shower with toilet. The TV has CNN, BBC World, Kiddie channel, music channels and many Croatian channels which play films in English with Croatian sub titles because it cost a lot to dub. The air conditioning works perfectly as well. There is also a hair dryer, fully stocked fridge and towels. All rooms are sized reasonably with double occupancy rooms having two single beds and they are cleaned daily including Sundays. Wireless internet access worked perfectly in all rooms and we all used it on our smart phones. The funny thing about the free gym is that it is a “women’s only gym” – Guys beware.

Breakfast is filling and not bad as described by others – Remember this is not the Hilton or small B&B with 1-2-1 service. I think you get more than you pay for. Breakfast selection includes sliced breads, baguettes, variety of fruits, cheeses, boil or poached eggs , sausages, yogurts, ham, cereals, with tea, coffee or fruit juice. Go as many times as you want. For night owls, there is a local pizza / sandwich shop which is a ten minute walk from the hotel. It is 24 hours.

Overall, this is a very good hotel not claiming to be luxurious. For the price, it has all that you need for a comfortable and relaxing stay. Just ask at the 24hour reception if you want something or have a problem. Always ask the receptionist to get you a taxi and always agree a price before you leave. If you flag a taxi, agree a price (We learnt the hard way).

We all took the first bus from the airport to Zagreb Bus station (5 or 6 Kuna) then a taxi for convenience (Pay no more than 60 Kuna). We reckoned that the tram from the Bus station is far cheaper but being new to town would most likely get lost and miss our stop.

Room Tip: Nearby stadium was no problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2011

Polite and helpful staff very cheap rooms are nice

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thecream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
1.3 mi away
Arcotel Allegra Zagreb
Arcotel Allegra Zagreb
#13 of 58 in Zagreb
806 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Jadran Zagreb
Hotel Jadran Zagreb
#19 of 58 in Zagreb
251 reviews
0.3 mi away
Panorama Zagreb Hotel
Panorama Zagreb Hotel
#25 of 58 in Zagreb
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#21 of 58 in Zagreb
306 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel International
Hotel International
#9 of 58 in Zagreb
623 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hotel Phoenix
Hotel Phoenix
#23 of 58 in Zagreb
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laguna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laguna

Property: Hotel Laguna
Address: Kranjceviceva 29, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 58 Hotels in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Laguna 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Laguna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Hotel Zagreb

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing