We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent hotel”
Review of Hotel Laguna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Laguna
Ranked #47 of 58 Hotels in Zagreb
Dugi Rat, Croatia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Decent hotel”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This is quite decent hotel in Zagreb. The rooms are bit dated, but very clean and spacious.
Buffet breakfast had a good choice and the staff is OK. Overall, very good choice for short stay on budget in Zagreb.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kreka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LagunaZagreb_Croatia, Director of Sales at Hotel Laguna, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thank you kindly for your review of the Laguna Hotel. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope you will return to visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Mr. Zeljko Mandaric,
head of sales and marketing Hotel Laguna Zagreb,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    76
    110
    37
    17
See reviews for
27
61
25
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Nice clean hotel. 800m from the nearest tram lines into town, about a 30min walk from centre. Bit quiet immediately around hotel, just a few bars. Room was a bit dated but clean. Staff spoke English and were polite. Bar just a little pricier than other places, but still around 2E a beer. A/C in the room, and free Wifi.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank des_scot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LagunaZagreb_Croatia, Director of Sales at Hotel Laguna, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Hi des_scot

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent experience at the Laguna hotel, we really appreciate you taking the time to share this with us. I will pass along your comments to our staff here - we look forward to welcome you back to our hotel soon!
Sincerely,
Mr. Zeljko Mandaric, head of sales and marketing Hotel Laguna Zagreb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
144 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

The only reason we were staying in Zagreb was that we arrived late from Plitvice Lakes, and had a 10 am train from Zagreb to Budapest. Accordingly I wanted a hotel near the train station and hence had booked the family room at Hotel Laguna. The first sight of the hotel was disappointing, as it seemed that the outer walls had not been painted for years. It was clearly an old hotel. However the lobby was large by European standards, and the staff very helpful. We were pleasantly surprised to see the family room had 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, and a dressing area. Very good for just a night stay. We also decided to have dinner in the restaurant and the food was very nice. The complimentary breakfast next morning was also outstanding. Overall it was fantastic value for money. As mentioned in other reviews, there is a dance club in the hotel, and we were with small kids. However we did not find anyone in the lobby or near the hotel that disturbed us in any way. Maybe the dance club was closed that night. Overall, the hotel does need renovation, but still is very good and ideal for a family if you just want to spend one night in Zagreb.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LagunaZagreb_Croatia, Director of Sales at Hotel Laguna, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Hi Vivek K
Thank you kindly for your review of the Laguna Hotel. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope you will return to visit us again soon.
Sincerely,
Mr. Zeljko Mandaric, head of sales and marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

The best part of our experience staying at Hotel Laguna Zagreb has to be having a coffee with Zeljko Mandaric, Head of Sales and Marketing.

Mandaric and the hotel was part of the The Croatian War of Independence between 1991 and 1995 when Block A of the hotel complex housed war refugees and Block B housed regular hotel guests.

Wearing a Robert De Niro smile (the mellow version), Mandaric manages sales & marketing as well as operations of this upscale 3-star hotel with everything to offer -- about 160 rooms, breakfast of variety and quantity, conference facilities, beauty & fitness and my favorite "public computer".

Taking into consideration the room rate, the location easily accessible by tram. This is not just an ideal place to stay in Zagreb but also an establishment which tells the country's 30-year stories from war to peace.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sangliatdol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Split
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Little old fashioned room with little bathroom. Not so clean small window. Urgently need some renovation. For this price you can find much better place to stay.breakfast very basic.location is very good in center.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbajozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LagunaZagreb_Croatia, Director of Sales at Hotel Laguna, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear Barba Jozo,
Thank you for taking the efforts of writing a review. We are very sorry for the experiences
you are mentioning and we apology. We agree that our hotel is a bit old fashioned but for many
guests is cute. We have reasonable priced parking - free of charge and free wi-fi. Our location is just a short walk from the very downtown and the most important museums and theater are next doors. We are welcoming you back upon your next visit to Zagreb and remain with our kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Zagreb hotels

Marstons Mills, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Be aware that there is an exotic dance club in the basement. I was traveling with students which was a bit awkward! Otherwise, reliable high speed internet and a comfortable bed. Located close to public transportation.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DKGarran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LagunaZagreb_Croatia, Director of Sales at Hotel Laguna, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear DKGarran
Thank you so much for your feedback, and we look forward to hosting you again.
Sincerely,
Mr. Zeljko Mandaric, head of sales and marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwestern State, USA
Level Contributor
121 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We liked this hotel. The price was good, the location was an easy walk from the city center, the breakfast was extensive, the room was clean and comfortable and quiet, the staff were very nice, and the wifi was free and functioned well. The architecture and interior design are a weird mix of Soviet-Ottoman-something, but so what? It was kind of cool. We only stayed one night in Zagreb and were totally happy at this hotel. There is a great little cafe across the side street from the hotel; very convenient if you don't want to walk back into the city for dinner. And there is a parking lot (we had a car).

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esker4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#21 of 58 in Zagreb
3.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Jadran Zagreb
Hotel Jadran Zagreb
#18 of 58 in Zagreb
3.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
1.3 mi away
Arcotel Allegra Zagreb
Arcotel Allegra Zagreb
#13 of 58 in Zagreb
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Loop Hotel
The Loop Hotel
#11 of 58 in Zagreb
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.4 mi away
Garden Hotel
Garden Hotel
#37 of 58 in Zagreb
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hotel Phoenix
Hotel Phoenix
#19 of 58 in Zagreb
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laguna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laguna

Property: Hotel Laguna
Address: Kranjceviceva 29, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 58 Hotels in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Laguna 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Laguna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Hotel Zagreb

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing