We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy and dirty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palmers Lodge Zagreb
Ranked #17 of 170 Speciality Lodging in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I stayed 2 nights in a 6 bed dorm.

Pros
-------
Close to the main train station and to the main bus station so you don't have to carry your luggage around that much. The day of checkout we could leave our luggage there and pick it up later.

The staff was really very, very, very nice and friendly!! These two stars are only for the staff!

Free wifi & internet/computer use.

Airconditioning cold & warm.

Cons:
-------
The bathrooms are dirty. It looks ok at first sight but only because of the pattern of the tiles. I stepped inside the shower and I realised there was hair, old shampoo (gotten black), general dirt and dust, mildew on the ceiling and the floor was wet all over. And this was not in the evening, you know, when all the guest already took a shower. The next day it was just the same, so they really didn't clean.

I had hair in my bed linen, too, and not just one little hair, no, a whole bunch of it.

My bed was squiecking with every little move, even while just moving my head!

The Hostel is close to the main train station and there is also a tram going right in front of our window and traffic lights which beep every 30 seconds. And the trains don't stop going at night time. So you can imagine the noise. EVEN EARPLUGS DONT HELP! If was impossible to have a good sleep.

It seemed like there was a homeless guy staying at the same room as we did. So far, so good, but he was smelling and stinking like hell, no exaggeration(!!), I had to hold my breath while passing him and the whole room was smelly. He was walking around the Hostel in his underwear. He was snoring and walking around at night time making a lot of noise with the door, flushing his nose and searching something in his luggage (luggage = plastic bags). Of course, it's not the hostel's fault, but they really should take a closer look at whom they let stay, especially in shared rooms.

I really don't understand why Palmers Lodge got such good references!

Room Tip: If you really want to stay here, try to get a room with windows to the back, not to the train statio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leaboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmers L, Front Office Manager at Palmers Lodge Zagreb, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

First of all, thank you for writing a review. Even if it not the best one, we like our guests to tell us their experience. In situations like this, we always encourage our guests to tell us the issues that they have with their stay, because we can always help, you did not have to stay for two days feeling unsatisfied, we could have helped and sorted out everything. Let us take this step by step.
Thank you for the kind words about our staff, we really try to make our guests feel welcome, and we glad you had a good experience interacting with them.
The cleanliness part: after going to the room where you have stayed at and really looked around, we did not fing any piece of mildew, not even a speck. We can only guess that you have used our shared bathroom. You have to understand that there are 15 people that use that shower daily, and with our best intentions, we cannot guarantee that you will not encounter some water on the floor or some hair in the drain. Our staff are the one that clean the bathrooms, twice a day thoroughly, since we are a small hostel, and we try to keep everything clean. You can read our other reviews, we take pride in the cleanliness of our hostel, we even have an award for the cleanest hostel in 2013 by HostelBookers, which is a big aknowledgement. We understand that sometimes the staff cannot react at the spot, like when you use the bathroom just after someone, but if you just told them, you would not have to use a shower that was not clean as you expected. The same goes for the linen. We clean and wash them ourself, and there is always a chance that the dryer will leave some hair in there, or that some hair fell out form the people using the upper bed, or from bags you leave on the bed. You never know, and that is why our staff is at your disposal, we would have cleaned everything and would have apologized and made it up to you.
The tram noise is always an issue when staying in the city centre, this is not a thing we can control, but we have soundproof windows and earplugs, and there is one issue that was not correct in your review: the trams stop running at 23.30, and this is without a doubt.
About the other guest which you have descibed as homeless. That person is a guest which has bookd over the booking engine you have also used, and we cannot refuse the service to a person just because the look a little bit odd to other people. We are very open minded and don't discriminate. If a person has to blow their noise or go through their stuff, there is not much we can do if it is not bothering people, and they inform the staff. If you did so, you would have probably been upgraded, or the guest would have been asked to keep the noise down. As you pointed out, it is not our fault the way that guests behave, but we would have certainly tried to help, if only we knew about the problem.
The day you have stayed with us, the hostel was completely full, and in situations like that, some mistakes can always happen, but that is what the staff is there for, to help you and to correct the mistakes and make your stay feel as comfrtable as possible.
If you ever come back to Zagreb, please contact us, and we will do everything in our power to make your stay here amazing, so you can see that our guests are No.1 priority to us.
We hope that we will have a chance to host you again soon, and until then, all the best from the PL team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014

I stayed two nights in this hostel. The staff was friendly all the way and the room and bathroom were very clean. The only problem is that the hostel is smaller in size, but still it's great for this kind of money. Top recommendation!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrapeNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

From the very start the staff; both Josipa and Charita, were friendly and welcoming and super helpful with suggestions of things to see and do in the city. They were both happy to sit and chat for what was probably hours about all things random.
The hostel is ideally located in the city close to the train station. Inside the hostel is clean, tidy and well maintained with large comfortable rooms and good facilities, with a computer area and a cosy common area/kitchen to hang out in.
The staff not only provided info on the city but were very helpful in organising a trip to Plitvice Lakes National Park, one of the most beautiful places I have seen.

This hostel felt like a home from home and the staff felt like friends I'd know for years rather than a few short days. I think I left a bit of my heart in Zagreb :) and would happily return.

Dennis

Room Tip: 6 bed dorm next to reception was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DennisRowland86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmers L, Front Office Manager at Palmers Lodge Zagreb, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Thank you Dennis fro this amazing review! Paul and you will forever be remembered as one of our favorite guests, spending time with you was a blast, and we truly hope you will have a chance to stay with us again so we can chat and drink a drink or two together :) Until then, enjoy!
Cheers,

Sara & Josipa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

It was a great hostel. As i usually read up on the hostels before booking, i came here on a recommendation. Was not dissapointed. The hostel is very clean, the service is amazing and the rooms are very well designed. As i travel with my family, we usually tend to stay at hotels, but this place made us change our minds. Thank you, and see you soon again!

Room Tip: i have not seen all the rooms, but the 4 bed dorms are mazaing, with a private bathroom and an amazi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kendra w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

+ Location (200m from train station)
+ Tram at the door
++ Staff
++ Clean

- Noisy
- Hot rooms

Laundry service was 6.5€, the night around 20€ if i go to Zagreb i will stay again in Palmers. Totally loved the staff there and the atmosphere

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quartilho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmers L, Manager at Palmers Lodge Zagreb, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Hi! Thank you very much for your kind review! We just wanted to remind you that you can always ask the staff to turn on the A/C when you feel the room is hot :) And sorry for the noise, that's what comes with the fact that we are located in the city center, but with the soundproof windows it will soften the noise, and if not, there are complementary ear plugs on the reception :) We hope to accommodate you in the future, and until then, enjoy :)

PL team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The hostel is only 1 tram stop from the train station, 2 stops from bus station and 3 stops from the Main square! The room is very comfortable and the hostel is very clean. Vending machine and hot drinks machine are both available in the reception. One of the best hostel I've ever stayed.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the street as the trams can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Genesis89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

If you're arriving by train, this hostel is an easy few hundred metre walk- very convenient. Upon arrival the staff member at reception was exceptionally helpful in organising our bus trip to Plitvice Lakes and then ongoing connection to Split. Wifi was excellent and there are 3 computers available for use free of charge. They have an award for cleanliness (through TripAdvisor) and they thoroughly deserve it- all amenities were spotless! Each dorm bed has a very large, lockable, locker. The only negative is our room had trams rattling by right outside the window (I think the snoring room mate was louder though!). Great place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
0.4 mi away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
6.7 mi away
Hotel Tomislavov dom
Hotel Tomislavov dom
#42 of 59 in Zagreb
52 reviews
1.4 mi away
Funk Lounge Hostel
Funk Lounge Hostel
#6 of 170 in Zagreb
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Swanky Mint Hostel
Swanky Mint Hostel
#1 of 170 in Zagreb
374 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostel Bureau
Hostel Bureau
#3 of 170 in Zagreb
131 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chillout Hostel Zagreb
Chillout Hostel Zagreb
#2 of 170 in Zagreb
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmers Lodge Zagreb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmers Lodge Zagreb

Address: Ulica Kneza Branimira 25, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 170 Speciality Lodging in Zagreb
Price Range: £8 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Zagreb, Palmers Lodge Zagreb is ideally located for visitors of the capital, just across the street from the main train station, 700 m from the main bus station, and a 1000 m walking distance to all major tourist attractions. So set your bags down as soon as you exit your transportation and relax. This is not just your typical hostel, as we can accommodate up to 50 people, single travelers and groups, families and friends, and all that in a lovely homelike atmosphere in various types of rooms. We offer air conditioned dormitories with private bathrooms that vary from 4 to maximum 8 people, reading lamps and power plugs for each bed and a lot of additional practical and aesthetic details. We have also opened a new separate floor of the hostel with deluxe twin, double and triple bed rooms with en-suite bathrooms, fully equipped kitchenette, TV and WiFi, air condition, and all those little things that matter. Palmers Lodge Zagreb is an ideal combination of great location, top service and a cozy atmosphere for all types of travelers. Free WiFi, PLAYSTATION 3, PCs with internet, coffee and tea making facilities, self service kitchen, and a luggage room that is at your disposal for as long as you need. We also provide breakfast for groups at a discount price. Our parking is located just two streets away from the hostel, on the address Kneza Branimira 41. We offer a special price, from just 8 EUR for 24 hour parking, and on Saturdays from 3 pm until Monday at 7 am the parking is FREE. The parking is safe and also under video surveillance. We also organize airport transfer and day trips to Plitvice Lakes, the most beautiful place in this part of the world and a must see when visiting Zagreb, also the possibility to book day trips to other locations close to Zagreb, PUB crawls, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Palmers Lodge Zagreb reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing