We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palmers Lodge Zagreb
Ranked #16 of 167 Speciality Lodging in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Nice clean rooms, friendly staff, good wifi. Excellent facilities. Very close to the central station- about a 5 minute walk. Check in was quick and simple, no hidden charges. Very good price for what you get.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neevyg893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmers L, Public Relations Manager at Palmers Lodge Zagreb, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you very much for this great review, it is always great to feel appreciated :) We would love the chance to host you again in the future ! Until we meet again, enjoy :)

PL team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

My friend and I stayed 2 separate nights at Palmers Lodge and it was great. The first night we were upgraded to an apartment because a large group wanted the room we originally booked. The second night we had a 4 person dorm to ourselves (we booked it that way) and a private bathroom. The rooms and bathrooms were cleanly and neat. It was a little warm both nights as the air conditioning didn't seem to be working but it really wasn't a problem as we were able to open the window. Some other reviews have mentioned the city tram that is outside. While you can definitely hear it, I used earplugs and was able to sleep (with some help from some major jet lag as well). The staff are very helpful and courteous (even when we needed a cab both mornings at 5am)! My only recommendation would be to not take the shuttle bus from the airport. They made us wait an extra 45 minutes for the next flight that was coming in and the guy driving the shuttle gave us very poor directions. He said it would be about a 200 meter walk which was way longer and took us almost a half hour (at 9:00pm and after 18 hours of traveling). Needless to say we took cabs to and from the airport after that. The hostel is also very close to the train station.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmers L, Public Relations Manager at Palmers Lodge Zagreb, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you very much for writing this review, we always appreciate to get a guest's point of view! Regarding the air condition, since there are usually 4 people in the 4 bed dorm, we don't turn the air condition on since some of the guests want it, and some do not, so we leave it to the guests to just tell the receptionist if they need it, and we set the temperature so it suits you :) We wished that you have mentioned it, so that you could have a more pleasant stay :)
We are glad that you brought your ear plugs, just for info, we have them at the reception, and they are FREE ;)
Regarding the shuttle bus, sorry for the inconveniance, they have nothing to do with us, since they are the property of the airport. If you ever need any suggestion about alternative ways to get to the airport, just e mail us, we are happy to help!
We hope that you will have a chance to stay with us again and enjoy our hostel's facilities and the people again :)

Cheers,

PL team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Today is the opening of the World Cup.. and I really wanted to go back to Zagreb to enjoy it, and back to Palmers Lodge. (I couldn't come back because of transport problem but you don't care, just let me tell you why I would have love to come back and why you should try Palmers Lodge)
- awesome localization, so close to the bus station and the train station, really fast to go to the center.
- nice kitchen and common room
- comfy rooms with ok beds
- perfect wifi
- and awesome staff ! (Hey guy who works at the hostel and who's name I'm REALLY ashamed not to remember.. ;)) nice people, always available with good advice.

Just what you're looking for to discover Zagreb, honestly !

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This is my home away from home, in the future. I actually came to this hostel because the other i have booked was so horrible. I had a business meeting, so i had to be close to the center and the train station, and this location is perfect. The staff are so amazing, they help you out with anything you wish, and recommended me some of the best pubs i have visited. I did not stay long, and did not spend a lot of time in the hostel, but you just clock with some places. thank you, i will come back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmers L, Public Relations Manager at Palmers Lodge Zagreb, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Dear Johann,
thank you for this great review, you are always very welcome in our home away from home :) We hope to host you again in the future, and until then, we wish you great travels and great business meetings :)

Cheers,

PL team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The hostel itself was good- rooms very big and bathroom nice and clean. However, we were put in a room with a family, who appeared to be working there, who insisted turning the air con off although it was boiling, snoring very loudly and pumping at regular intervals. Can't say I would stay there again because of this. However it was very close to the train station which was great. Oh yeah, and the tram goes by outside the window which makes it quite loud.

Room Tip: Don't get one facing the tram tracks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelsea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmers L, Manager at Palmers Lodge Zagreb, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Hi,
First of all thank you for your review. We are very sorry you had an unpleasant stay because of snoring roommates, but when you book a mixed dormitory there's always a chance you'll end up with snoring guests. That's why we offer earplugs at the reception desk, because we are very aware of that fact. The staff is always here to assist you with any problem you might have in the room or with other guests. That's one of the reasons the reception works 24 hours, if there's anything wrong or unpleasant you can come to the reception and ask the staff for help, we always do what we can to make your stay as comfortable as possible, so take advantage of that. The Koreans staying in your room booked over hostelworld as same as you, so we cannot know who are we dealing with until they arrive. I am very sorry you got the impression that they work here, because I assure you they were regular travellers just like you. We do not have Korean workers in our hostel, the staff is exclusively Croatian and there is only one staff member during a shift, so it would be impossible to have three of them sleeping in a room ment for guests, so I think there was a big misunderstanding about that. Nevertheless we are very sorry for the inconvenience, and we really do hope you come again and we will try our very best to make your stay as enjoyable as possible, as we try with each guest who comes across our doorsteps. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This was by far the best place i have stayed at during my trip. The 8 bed dorm was full of people, but clean and the beds are great. There are trams in front of the place so it is very easy to get around, and the staff will help you with everything. I have to really take a second and thank them, they are so great! The place is super clean, we had a shared bathroom which was so clean and there was toulet paper there all the time :) they even had shampoo which you could use. They are located next to the main train station which was super convenient. i will stay there again, for sure. thank you :)

Room Tip: pick the 6 bed dorm, they have a private bathroom. too bad i didn't read up on this before booki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daichi86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmers L, Public Relations Manager at Palmers Lodge Zagreb, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Thank you very much for this great review, and for the tips to other travelers :) We hope to host you again, and enjoy your company once more :)
Cheers,

PL team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I stayed 2 nights in a 6 bed dorm.

Pros
-------
Close to the main train station and to the main bus station so you don't have to carry your luggage around that much. The day of checkout we could leave our luggage there and pick it up later.

The staff was really very, very, very nice and friendly!! These two stars are only for the staff!

Free wifi & internet/computer use.

Airconditioning cold & warm.

Cons:
-------
The bathrooms are dirty. It looks ok at first sight but only because of the pattern of the tiles. I stepped inside the shower and I realised there was hair, old shampoo (gotten black), general dirt and dust, mildew on the ceiling and the floor was wet all over. And this was not in the evening, you know, when all the guest already took a shower. The next day it was just the same, so they really didn't clean.

I had hair in my bed linen, too, and not just one little hair, no, a whole bunch of it.

My bed was squiecking with every little move, even while just moving my head!

The Hostel is close to the main train station and there is also a tram going right in front of our window and traffic lights which beep every 30 seconds. And the trains don't stop going at night time. So you can imagine the noise. EVEN EARPLUGS DONT HELP! If was impossible to have a good sleep.

It seemed like there was a homeless guy staying at the same room as we did. So far, so good, but he was smelling and stinking like hell, no exaggeration(!!), I had to hold my breath while passing him and the whole room was smelly. He was walking around the Hostel in his underwear. He was snoring and walking around at night time making a lot of noise with the door, flushing his nose and searching something in his luggage (luggage = plastic bags). Of course, it's not the hostel's fault, but they really should take a closer look at whom they let stay, especially in shared rooms.

I really don't understand why Palmers Lodge got such good references!

Room Tip: If you really want to stay here, try to get a room with windows to the back, not to the train statio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leaboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmers L, Front Office Manager at Palmers Lodge Zagreb, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

First of all, thank you for writing a review. Even if it not the best one, we like our guests to tell us their experience. In situations like this, we always encourage our guests to tell us the issues that they have with their stay, because we can always help, you did not have to stay for two days feeling unsatisfied, we could have helped and sorted out everything. Let us take this step by step.
Thank you for the kind words about our staff, we really try to make our guests feel welcome, and we glad you had a good experience interacting with them.
The cleanliness part: after going to the room where you have stayed at and really looked around, we did not fing any piece of mildew, not even a speck. We can only guess that you have used our shared bathroom. You have to understand that there are 15 people that use that shower daily, and with our best intentions, we cannot guarantee that you will not encounter some water on the floor or some hair in the drain. Our staff are the one that clean the bathrooms, twice a day thoroughly, since we are a small hostel, and we try to keep everything clean. You can read our other reviews, we take pride in the cleanliness of our hostel, we even have an award for the cleanest hostel in 2013 by HostelBookers, which is a big aknowledgement. We understand that sometimes the staff cannot react at the spot, like when you use the bathroom just after someone, but if you just told them, you would not have to use a shower that was not clean as you expected. The same goes for the linen. We clean and wash them ourself, and there is always a chance that the dryer will leave some hair in there, or that some hair fell out form the people using the upper bed, or from bags you leave on the bed. You never know, and that is why our staff is at your disposal, we would have cleaned everything and would have apologized and made it up to you.
The tram noise is always an issue when staying in the city centre, this is not a thing we can control, but we have soundproof windows and earplugs, and there is one issue that was not correct in your review: the trams stop running at 23.30, and this is without a doubt.
About the other guest which you have descibed as homeless. That person is a guest which has bookd over the booking engine you have also used, and we cannot refuse the service to a person just because the look a little bit odd to other people. We are very open minded and don't discriminate. If a person has to blow their noise or go through their stuff, there is not much we can do if it is not bothering people, and they inform the staff. If you did so, you would have probably been upgraded, or the guest would have been asked to keep the noise down. As you pointed out, it is not our fault the way that guests behave, but we would have certainly tried to help, if only we knew about the problem.
The day you have stayed with us, the hostel was completely full, and in situations like that, some mistakes can always happen, but that is what the staff is there for, to help you and to correct the mistakes and make your stay feel as comfrtable as possible.
If you ever come back to Zagreb, please contact us, and we will do everything in our power to make your stay here amazing, so you can see that our guests are No.1 priority to us.
We hope that we will have a chance to host you again soon, and until then, all the best from the PL team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
0.4 mi away
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
0.0 mi away
Arcotel Allegra Zagreb
Arcotel Allegra Zagreb
#14 of 59 in Zagreb
836 reviews
0.4 mi away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Zagreb Hotel
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmers Lodge Zagreb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmers Lodge Zagreb

Address: Ulica Kneza Branimira 25, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 167 Speciality Lodging in Zagreb
Price Range: £7 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Zagreb, Palmers Lodge Zagreb is ideally located for visitors of the capital, just across the street from the main train station, 700 m from the main bus station, and a 1000 m walking distance to all major tourist attractions. So set your bags down as soon as you exit your transportation and relax. This is not just your typical hostel, as we can accommodate up to 50 people, single travelers and groups, families and friends, and all that in a lovely homelike atmosphere in various types of rooms. We offer air conditioned dormitories with private bathrooms that vary from 4 to maximum 8 people, reading lamps and power plugs for each bed and a lot of additional practical and aesthetic details. We have also opened a new separate floor of the hostel with deluxe twin, double and triple bed rooms with en-suite bathrooms, fully equipped kitchenette, TV and WiFi, air condition, and all those little things that matter. Palmers Lodge Zagreb is an ideal combination of great location, top service and a cozy atmosphere for all types of travelers. Free WiFi, PLAYSTATION 3, PCs with internet, coffee and tea making facilities, self service kitchen, and a luggage room that is at your disposal for as long as you need. We also provide breakfast for groups at a discount price. Our parking is located just two streets away from the hostel, on the address Kneza Branimira 41. We offer a special price, from just 8 EUR for 24 hour parking, and on Saturdays from 3 pm until Monday at 7 am the parking is FREE. The parking is safe and also under video surveillance. We also organize airport transfer and day trips to Plitvice Lakes, the most beautiful place in this part of the world and a must see when visiting Zagreb, also the possibility to book day trips to other locations close to Zagreb, PUB crawls, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Palmers Lodge Zagreb reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing