We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretentious, bad price-quality ratio”
Review of Bistro Karlo - CLOSED

Bistro Karlo
Price range: US$7 - US$28
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Croatian, French, Steakhouse, International, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Bistro Karlo is located in Gunduliceva street, in vicinity of the Flowers Square. At the very entrance to the restaurant, U will be dazzled by an extraordinary ambiance completed with modern interior chosen with utmost care. Our friendly and professional staff will meet all your requests, gastro and enological. Every dish in Bistro is a piece of art, inspired by knowledge and love for cooking. In Bistro Karlo wine and food are treated with unique creative feeling and touch, that constantly interwine, Every day for lunch we are cooking 3 course menu for 13 Euros, and for dinner we having 2 tasting 4 course menues, one fish and one meet for 25 Euros. Bistro have two menues during the day, one for lunch, which is dedicated to Bistromania, nice & fresh, carpaccio,pasta, risotto, steak & fish and the dinner which is occupied with fine dinning and Croatian modern cuisine. Wine list is made by some interesting wines from Croatia and from all over the world, and every wine is sell by the glass. Opening hours monday till saturday, from 11.00 AM until 11.00 PM.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“pretentious, bad price-quality ratio”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The food was average and the portions were very small. The chef obviously thinks that making a carrot cream and serving it as a side dish automatically categorizes a restaurant as a pinnacle of gastronomy. We had sea bass fillet for main course and it wasn't even properly filleted (I found about 8 or 9 bones in it). Besides that, the 'couvert', which was charged 15 kunas (2 euros) per person, was really miserable and consisted of half of strawberry with some sprouts. At the end I found out that they don't even take cards. Overall experience was bad and I walked out feeling cheated because I paid about 20 euros per person for a 3 course lunch after which I was still hungry. Even worse, I felt bad because as an amateur chef I can cook all those meals better and for about a tenth of a price.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank SimonMcallistar12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    24
    14
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cute place and great food-home atmosphere.”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

This restaurant was pteviously an apartment, thus it gives really a nice home feeling. Great food,good wines- a bit mote expensive but worth visiting.
The food selection is not big (few dishes) thus it is not acceptable not to have teo meala on the menue (I had to go with my 3rd choice).
Waiter was a bit clumsy but very charming and polite-one could tell he was new in the team.
Overall great experience the only begative thing was the fact that they did not have everThing on the menu

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MA2402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Less is more”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Went here 3 times and each visit was highly enjoyable. Food is beautifully decorated, with delicate and delicious flavors. Each dish has a rather peculiar combination of ingredients, but always complementing each other. Everything is home cooked, the presentation is impeccable and the interior just wonderful. As a person who prefers to cook and eat at home at least 95% of the time, this kind of restaurant is what makes it worth to eat out from time to time.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank A_J_TheTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very nice, but lacks in creativity”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

First of all, I would compliment the atmosphere and the decor. The interior of the restaurant is very elegant and simple. The waiters rearragned the tables in front of our eyes to squeeze in new customers who kept coming during lunch time. They were very quick and agile. However, they didn't put much effort into presenting the meals.
All in all, the meals are very up to date and the chefs are doing their best to keep up with the fierce competition of Zagreb's restaurant owners, but they lack in creativity.
I would recommend the octopus carpaccio as a starter for a fish menu.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Bistro Karlo - dinner for two”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Went for a dinner on saturday night. Beside us there was only one couple eating at that time so space seemd a bit empty. Waiter/host was quite polite but seemd to be a bit scared? Never the less he was capable of presenting the food in english and gave english menues as well with the croatian one.
We ate ravioli, paper steak, some sort of pasta and had cakes for desert + glass of wine and mineral water. Price was around 550kn (100 usd)

Food was tasty, nicly presented. (Chef came out to present the main course)

Issue was with the dessert. My friend found a short har inside her cake. Did not make an issue out of it so do nit know hiw they would handle it. I suggest them to offer deserts that they are making instead of buying from a supplier.....

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IvanG-Zg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistro Karlo also viewed

Zagreb, Central Croatia
Zagreb, Central Croatia
 
Zagreb, Central Croatia
Zagreb, Central Croatia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing