We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern but noisy as hell”
Review of Art Hotel Like

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Art Hotel Like
Ranked #31 of 59 Hotels in Zagreb
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

The hostel is placed really close to the centre and really affordable for such a modern interior. Breakfast is optional but at 7,50 EUR a bit expensive.
We had a 2 bed room.
Bad thing about the hostel is, that all rooms face a big street where nearly all trams pass and go around a corner. And they are really loud and make the whole building shake.
They run all day except from about 1am to 5 am. Then there is still all the other heavy traffic.

So if you need to get a little sleep you have to get earplugs and close the windows.
I wouldn't want to stay there again which is kind of a pitty since the rooms are nice and everyone was very kind.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank dergerd81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 79 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

We arrived from Canada and our first greeting in this friendly country came from the employees of Art Hostel Like. There is nothing not to like, our room is funky, very modern and clean, and comfortable. As new arrivals we had many questions and the young ladies at reception were incredibly helpful. One of them even took the time to set up my phone with the Croatian phone chip and minutes I had purchased, but had no idea how to load. She soothed my lack of knowledge with telling me that the process was not tourist friendly! Close by the hotel is a beautiful park to appreciate, wonderful old cathedrals and some very classy shopping. We loved the hotel and highly recommend a stay there. Buses and trams are practically right outside the door and easy to use. We had a great first impression of Croatia at this hotel, thanks for making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lynskiCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed here in December as a group, we had a large room with brand new bathroom and the location was excellent (trams outside a little noisy but everything else outweighed that! ) the staff were absolutely superb they couldn't have done more to help us and really welcomed us to the hotel. Would definitely stay here again if I returned to zagreb!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kk24428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

It took us a while to decide which hostel to book just for our last 2 nights of our Croatia roadtrip. Among many good options we decided to choose this one because of the location, the price and, yeah, the pictures.

Must say that it is pretty much like in the pictures (though we saw less decoration in our room). All new and white. It is VERY new, opened a few months ago, so new that we had booked 2 beds in a 5 people dorm and we were put in a 9 people dorm because there was some works ongoing in the other. Anyway, there was no problem because we were alone the first night and the second there were two more people; so never exceeded 5 people.

We arrived almost at midnight and the girl at the reception desk welcomed us with a big smile. She gave us indications about where was possible to park and avoid the parkimeter.

We decided to have breakfast both days, but beware that you need to say it the night before so that they make sure they have enough supplies for everybody (don't know if it was because of the season -it wasn't too crowded). Anyway, it caught them by surprise one morning (and the same happened to other couple that just said it the first morning) and they solved it by going to the market in the corner and buying more bread. So, good solving skills!

The breakfast itself is pretty basic but you have everything you would ask for. Self-service of fruit, 3 kinds of cereals, instant coffee and tea, juice (that was the worst - couldn't be called like that - tasted like mixed syrup with water), some ham, salamis and cheese, bread, butter, jam and honey. I missed something sweet, like pastries or cookies, but it was ok!

This hostel mixes the concept of hotel and hostel, because it has private rooms and some dorms. However, it is not a backpacker hostel. It lacks a common room with a small kitchen -like most of the hostels have- and a shared fridge. We were bringing our last supplies and needed to store them in a fridge. We could use the one in the bar with no problem, like other people did. But the only inconvenience is that it's behind the bar so you have always to ask the girls there, who by the way were superkind.

The rooms were nice, white and new. But in my opinion it lacks some small details that you would expect in such a fancy accommodation, like small night table lights, some kind of foot towel for when you come out of the shower, a bin in the toilet... But they are just small details that I'm sure will be corrected with the time. It is a pretty new place and so far they have done it very nice!

I highly recommend it, unless you are a backpacker looking for the whole backpacking experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Coletasss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

as it has been opened this mid year, it is very new and clean. receptionist was very helpful. Though we were late for 1 day due to missing flight, they waived the first night no show charge which was much appreciated. They said they are changing from hostel to hotel,so they will upgrade the facilities ,e.g. add water boiler, hair drier and cloth hanger which would be very useful for customers. good location that you change a tram from train station.I will recommend this accomodation to friends.

Room Tip: we were upgraded to four-persons room, it would be recommendedto go to zagreb in low seasons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terenceh2o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed one night in August 2013 and could not fault this charming small hostel. This hostel is clean, tidy, well maintained and located in a great part of the city. Interior of hostel is modern and we like it a lot.

The staff are mostly young personel willing to help the customer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Magdalena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Great staff, who really cares about you and your satisfaction! Always with a big smile! :) Great location and the rooms/facilities are completing new...you really win when it comes to quality-price relationship!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JoanaCabral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
0.3 mi away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
0.0 mi away
Hotel Jadran Zagreb
Hotel Jadran Zagreb
#19 of 59 in Zagreb
288 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#8 of 59 in Zagreb
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jagerhorn
Hotel Jagerhorn
#2 of 59 in Zagreb
960 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel 9
Hotel 9
#7 of 59 in Zagreb
223 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#5 of 59 in Zagreb
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel Like? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Like

Address: Vlashka Ulica 44, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 59 Hotels in Zagreb
Price Range: £67 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Art Hotel Like 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art Hotel Like is located in the very centre of Zagreb. Art Hotel Like, besides great location, offers the most comfortable accommodation. Art Hotel Like is here for You whether You are on a business or private trip, shopping or just traveling. We are sure You will find a perfect room for Yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotel.de and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Art Hotel Like reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing