We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect hotel for a City Break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Astoria
Ranked #5 of 60 Hotels in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Saltash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel for a City Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a New Year break in Zagreb, if you are looking for a centrally located hotel, 5 minutes from the old part of town, close to the train station that is clean, modern, well furnished rooms with friendly staff and a breakfast buffet that is open from 0630 - 1030 then you are going to have to work hard to find anything better than the Astoria - I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveMac71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    803
    519
    78
    12
    4
See reviews for
170
624
140
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Located between the station and the city centre the Astoria has obviously been recently uppgraded. It is within walking distance of the older centre of Zagreb which is definitely worth the effort. The location of the hotel isn't that special but don't be put off; the interior is modern and the rooms, although small, are well appointed. There is complimentary iced water in the lobby and during our stay on New Year's Day, free mulled wine. Difficult to judge the restaurant as during the New Year Holiday only a buffet was available but this was perfectly acceptable. Breakfast was extensive and good. Staff friendly and helpful. There is also a car park which was very convenient as I imagine Zagreb could be a difficult place to park on normal days. The city itself is quite a revelation. Between the hotel and the commercial centre are a number of grand streets and squares but beyond the commercial centre the historic heart is very impressive.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dirk49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

This is a wonderful small hotel that is conveniently located in Zagreb and is always sparkling clean. The hotel offers excitingly little surprises to its guest such as free lemon water and free macaroons. The location is excellent especially if you have to travel around as it is situated close by to train station. The service at the hotel is impeccable and the staffs are always friendly and eager to help. I have never felt the love from hotel staff like the one felt while staying at this little heaven. Then only problem I encounter while staying at this hotel was the language barrier, some of the staff have only limited English master and it will do go if you had a little grasp of the Croatian.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

Great little hotel excellent location very clean and tidy nice little touches like the free lemon water in reception and the free macaroons were also delicious
The only thing that let's this hotel down is the extortionate prices at the hotel's bar you do expect the hotels drinks to be a little bit more expensive but 3 times as much was a little hard to take !!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyDisco54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham England
Level Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

We stayed as part of our honey moon for two nights whilst in Zagreb. The location was good, close to the train station which was how we were travelling. The service in the hotel was excellent, staff were very helpful, we arrived an hour early expecting to drop off our bags but our room was ready, we went out to explore the town before returning to our room to freshen up for dinner. Before leaving we had inquired about an iron and on our return an iron and board were waiting in the room. The bed was very comfortable, the best nights sleep of our trip. The rest of the room was quite small but we did not spend much time there.
The breakfast was also very good, good selection of hot and cold food, hot drinks, juice and even champagne.This was all self service although staff were at hand if needed. On our last day we had an early train to catch but we still managed to have breakfast before we left as it started earlier than you usually would expect.
Overall great stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TaraR09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights and had an excellent time. Staff were very pleasant and hospitable. It is worth noting that a few housekeeping staff I came across only spoke Croatian so having at least a basic grasp will help. Price was average for these types of hotels in Europe. Beds were fantastic but took a lot of space up in the room but cannot complain too much as I was a solo traveller. Breakfast buffet was fantastic and can say that it is one of the best I've had so far. There was a large selection of Croatian specialties as well as the standard Western fare. Did not try the restaurant for lunch or dinner as I was mainly out during the day and found a number of inexpensive eateries in the area. Location is key for this hotel as it is very close to major sites in Zagreb such as Ban Jelacic square and the Cathedral. Avenue Mall is not too far by tram. Train station is only one block away and that is where you can catch bus transfers to the airport. All in all, it was an excellent stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank businesstrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
117 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Walking distance to the centre and train station. A small supermarket across the street.

Look like a safe neighbourhood.

Breakfast selection is also not bad with cold and hot dishes, and fresh fruits.

The room feels new and clean. I stayed in a single room without a window facing outside, but I am perfectly fine. Decoration is classy and traditional, with lots of wood. Doesn't look cheap. Air-conditioning also works properly.

The room, however, is a bit small. Writing desk is placed at the end of the bed. Bathroom size is relatively larger.

Reception is friendly and speaks good English. I saw both business and leisure visitors staying in this hotel. It is not a big hotel, and I like that feel.

Wi-fi works well.

Overall: I have no complaint. It is a reliable choice and deserves the "Premier" from Best Western. And a stay here is value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TripMember06092015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
0.2 mi away
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb
0.3 mi away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#6 of 60 in Zagreb
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jagerhorn
Hotel Jagerhorn
#2 of 60 in Zagreb
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#9 of 60 in Zagreb
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Astoria

Property: BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Astoria
Address: Petrinjska Ulica 71, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Zagreb
#4 Luxury Hotel in Zagreb
#4 Business Hotel in Zagreb
#4 Family Hotel in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Astoria 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first-class hotel BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Astoria **** in the centre of the Croatian capital casts its spell with its wonderful 30ies charm. 100 luxurious rooms with all amenities, business center with 4 fully equipped conference rooms, the exquisite restaurant Ragusa and the elegant Glama Bar with affiliated pastry shop create an oasis of recreation for business travellers and city tourists.Hotel guests have on disposal a FREE private parking in the courtyard within hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Astoria
Best Western Zagreb
Zagreb Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing