We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd rather stay in B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria
Ranked #5 of 58 Hotels in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I'd rather stay in B & B”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I stayed here for one night and it was not value for the money. Staff service was fine but there are turns of B&Bs with better rooms, location and the lower price in Zagreb. Room was small, bathroom was small with 2 star hotel decoration and water pressure in the shower was very weak
Location was not that great as we still had to walk 10 minutes to the main area and their full breakfast was disappointing.
I stayed in a Ivan't B&B in Zagreb(5min away from this hotel) for 1/5 of price and it was whole lot better than this hotel. I enjoyed the breakfast at the local restaurants or bakeries more than this hotel's breakfast for lower price and better atmosphere. I regret that I picked this hotel for our last night in Croatia. Nothing was wrong but it is just not value for the money.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShinieLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    824
    539
    82
    12
    5
See reviews for
176
643
144
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
105 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

The Hotel Astoria has everything you would want in a big city hotel plus a few nice touches. The rooms are quiet, beds comfortable, location is terrific and breakfast fantastic. We loved the complimentary lemon water in the foyer, a small but practical touch. The staff were always fabulous and helpful. And to top it off the price was very reasonable. I really can't think of enough praising adjectives to describe this hotel!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sydneysider70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Bottom line: I would stay here again & recommend to all.

Pros:
The breakfast spread was amazing and really nice waitstaff!
Location, 5-10 minute walk to city center & other sites.
The front desk staff were nice as well.
Clean, nice-sized room, quiet

Cons:
NONE

Helpful arrival info.:
I took the airport shuttle bus to the main bus station (Autobusni Kolodvor). It leaves every 30 minutes (_:00 and _:30).

From there, I walked which was a good 15-20 minutes, depending on your pace (I walk really fast).

Afterwards, I realized I could have arrived (less sweaty) by taking the 6 tram 4 stops to the Art Pavillion & walked 2 blocks over.

Room Tip: I believe I was in room 324 facing a back parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BKloandC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morro Bay, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived around 11 pm after traveling for over 24 hours from California . Wasn't sure what to expect but it far exceeded exceeded my expectations. It Was great to arrive and have a Nice, clean and comfortable room ready for us. There was a Clean bathroom and good shower with excellent water pressure which is important to me! Very quiet. No street noise or noise from any neighboring rooms. The air conditioning was sufficient as well. But what surprised me most was how great the free breakfast buffet was. Couldn't get over all the great options. Good way to start the day! Oh and they have a nice area with fresh lemon and ice water available in the lobby. Good working elevator too!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank emilyd49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is nicely positioned to town and a very pleasant walk to the city (10 min).
The hotel is well maintained and service good. The rooms spacious and clean. Food is as good as you get in Croatia. All in all a good place to stay,

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dinkumguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
636 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

When I arrived I was given a room with a relatively small window overlooking a wall about four feet away. This was on the second floor. After a bit of a struggle I got the same room on the 6th floor which did have a view on a large interior courtyard. Otherwise the stay was perfect. The room was quiet enough and comfortable with good internet, a comfortable bed and a bathtub in a spacious bathroom. The room while not huge was a comfortable size. Staff were very friendly and the hotel location was perfectly situated close to the old city and within good walking distance of all major sites. One thing Best Western seems to do is an excellent breakfast buffet and this hotel provides a good one. Bacon and eggs and many other breakfast favourites - real maple syrup - fruit nuts, cheese, breads and toast, jam, pancakes, french toast and many other items.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up, not facing the street or a wall but facing a courtyard. Try 621.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DohaInternational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ancona, Italy
Level Contributor
1,335 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,685 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Comfortable rooms, a reliable lift, efficient, helpful staff, a good breakfast, there's even a desk in the lobby with an ipad for the use of guests and a corner where you can help yourself to coffee etc 24/24. About 150 yards from the station and the central post office.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
0.3 mi away
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb
0.3 mi away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#6 of 58 in Zagreb
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jagerhorn
Hotel Jagerhorn
#2 of 58 in Zagreb
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#8 of 58 in Zagreb
4.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria

Property: Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria
Address: Petrinjska 71, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Zagreb
#4 Business Hotel in Zagreb
#4 Luxury Hotel in Zagreb
#4 Family Hotel in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first-class hotel BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Astoria **** in the centre of the Croatian capital casts its spell with its wonderful 30ies charm. 100 luxurious rooms with all amenities, business center with 4 fully equipped conference rooms, the exquisite restaurant Ragusa and the elegant Glama Bar with affiliated pastry shop create an oasis of recreation for business travellers and city tourists.Hotel guests have on disposal a FREE private parking in the courtyard within hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Astoria
Best Western Zagreb
Zagreb Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing