We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay in Zagreb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria
Ranked #4 of 59 Hotels in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Dana Point, California
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay in Zagreb”
Reviewed 20 July 2009

We stayed here for 2 rainy days in June. This is a very nice hotel, with a “grand” feeling- lots of wood, etc. We found it easily, the maps are good, and we had GPS. There is parking in a lot (for 16E/day) close by. The room was small-ish, nice, clean, and comfortable. Internet was free. The breakfast spread was very impressive!

We spent the day before this stay at the Plitvice Lakes which was something not to be missed. While in Zagreb, because of the rain, we spent much of the time in museums. Zagreb has a very nice feel; it’s a pretty city, if you can ignore the graffiti, which is everywhere.

We have always had good luck staying in Best Western Hotels in Europe—and their “Premium” Hotels have always pleased us. This was no exception; I’m glad we picked it for our 2 day stay in Zagreb, and would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    854
    569
    87
    13
    5
See reviews for
186
672
156
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2009

The perfect base for exploring Zagreb. The beds are extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElisaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2009

We booked the hotel because of previous reviews. The taxi from the airport was painless c 150 kuna. Checking in was straightforward and pleasant enough, although I did get the feeling that it was a little lacking in something. The entrance and reception area are very grand though.
We had booked a King bed deluxe for 2 nights, cost €229........however.....

You seriously could not swing a cat in the room....yes it had all the amenities advertised...but when you put 2 people and 2 suitcases in a room you don't expect to be trampling over each other to move about. There was no more than 12 inches either side of the bed before you could touch the wall. And whilst I am no prude (far from it), I don''t expect to be able to view hardcore adult entertainment mixed in with 'normal' channels at any time during the day - if you are travelling with children I would really caution you.! The bathroom was a good enough size with plenty of toiletries supplied.

The walk in to the square was perhaps a little longer than we had anticipated, however it is flat and comfortable enough. Having just come from Cavtat in southern Croatia, and visited Dubrovnik, Zagreb has a little catching up to do.....worth a day though.

On our first night back we came in around 11.30pm to find out there was no bar, it had closed at 11pm, even for residents.....is this normal?

One redeeming factor was the help we had from reception at 11pm on our second night. We were looking to catch a train to Vienna and the male receptionist could not have been more helpful....even though it meant a 6am start! The train station though is only a 5 minute walk away, so if arriving by train the hotel is well located.

It's fine for 1 or 2 nights......

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chucklers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2009

I chose this hotel based on the reviews of Tripadvisor.com and was not disappointed. This is a classy well-located first-class hotel that definitely deserves its four stars. The rooms are not very large but typical in size for Europe. However, they have been recently renovated and look very classy and nice appointed. The A/C works great and the interlock system when you slide in the key causes the room to stay lighted (must be for energy conservation). There is also an interlocked outside rolling shade that comes down over the window to make the room more energy efficient and dark. When you pull out the card key, the shade goes down. When you slide the card key in, the shade goes up.

The restaurant is also 4-star quality and I loved the breakfast. The buffet breakfast consisted of eggs, sausage, bacon, cereals, fresh fruit, breads, nuts, juices, milk, potatoes, and chocolates.

The location of the hotel was great and only one block from an historical park and about 5 or 6 blocks from the Old Town and square.

I would definitely stay here again and again.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ptadin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas, USA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2009

A group of 26 of us stayed here two weeks ago. The front desk was very pleasant, the food was great, and the rooms were pleasant with working air conditioning. Toiletries provided in room were nice too. Great location close to sites. Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pspjenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2008

This hotel is located in the heart of Zagreb, close to the train station, Ban Jelacic square, the cathedral, the Dolac--everything! The rooms were comfortable and well-appointed. The breakfast was varied and delicious. Staff was helpful and knowledgeable. There were convenience/grocery stores right down the street, a pizzeria across the street and many shops nearby. The price is reasonable and the hotel was very nice. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank namegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natchez, Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 358 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2008

Hotel is within walking distance of the train station and blocks from the Old Town. Service at the hotel was excellent. The room was very nice and been recently updated; however, be sure to leave the key card in the slot by the door or the automatic window shade will put the room into almost total darkness. The buffet breakfast that was included with the room was excellent. The business center offers free Internet and printing. There is a bakery and grocery in the same block as the hotel and restaurants nearby. The walking/bus tour of city, which can be arranged from the front desk, is highly recommended.

Denver Mullican, New Orleans

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Denver_Mullican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
0.3 mi away
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#5 of 59 in Zagreb
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#8 of 59 in Zagreb
897 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jagerhorn
Hotel Jagerhorn
#2 of 59 in Zagreb
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria

Property: Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria
Address: Petrinjska 71, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Zagreb
#3 Romantic Hotel in Zagreb
#4 Business Hotel in Zagreb
#4 Family Hotel in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first-class hotel BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Astoria **** in the centre of the Croatian capital casts its spell with its wonderful 30ies charm. 100 luxurious rooms with all amenities, business center with 4 fully equipped conference rooms, the exquisite restaurant Ragusa and the elegant Glama Bar with affiliated pastry shop create an oasis of recreation for business travellers and city tourists.Hotel guests have on disposal a FREE private parking in the courtyard within hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Astoria
Best Western Zagreb
Zagreb Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing