We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best western astoria”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria
Ranked #4 of 59 Hotels in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2007

Beautiful modern hotel with very nice desk staff. The location is perfect , 2 min walk from train station and the city hotspots. The breakfast is fantastic!! !

3  Thank dlw0324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,609)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,020 - 1,026 of 1,609 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2007

We stayed at this hotel at the beginning and end of our 15 days in Croatia. We were upgraded to a suite for the first stay, which was lovely, and then had a standard room for the second stay, which was adequate. Both were more than adequate for a 3 star hotel. Breakfast is fantastic -- one of the key reasons many business travelers to Zagreb chose this hotel. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.

While the bathroom was ampl, updated, and nicely laid out, we noted the modular shower was a bit small, albeit very functional.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank SuzanneWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2007

Compared to other European capitals, Zagreb is a bleak city, and this hotel blended in perfectly with its bleak surroundings. I chose this hotel because it was close to the railway station and because the single room rate was about 30 euros cheaper than the weekend rate at the 5 star Esplanade directly adjacent to the station. I should have spent the extra money because the weekend deal at the Esplanade was a better value for this time of year. The staff was efficient, not overly friendly, typical of service people in Croatia. The big disappointment hit when I arrived in my room, although the room contained all the touted amenities, the room itself was unacceptibly small. There was barely enough room on either side of the bed to navigate without falling onto the bed or into the wall. I'm not sure what the double rooms are like but the singles are not worth it. On a positive note, their buffet breakfast was outstanding, better than the Dubrovnik Palace, a huge selection of fresh items and easily accessible unlimited coffee. Before staying here ask to see the room and then decide.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FormerUALEXOinVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2007

Beautiful hotel, excelent stuff, beautiful city!!! Greetings from Belgrade!!!

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank pexon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2006

I liked this hotel. It was central (~10 minute walk to the main square and also close to the cinema complex near the Arcotel, with shops and cafes/bars) and welcoming. Our room was definitely on the small side, just fit a double bed, plus a few chairs/table but it was cosy. There was no bath but apart from that the bathroom was really good, super clean and brand new (with heated floor tiles). The reception staff were really friendly. Breakfast was pretty normal, but with a good range of things to choose from. My only niggle was that the rooms only have air con OR heating, i.e. in about October they change the settings from one to another. Therefore when we arrived and it was really hot (in October) it was not possible to put the air con on - just seemed a bit odd! Apart from that, although it does appear more of a business hotel, it it well located and friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank xxxBeckyxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2006

Hotel is placed in the centre of Zagreb so all the main sites are in walkable distance. It is easy to reach if you coming by train (10 min) or by car (garage is 500m from hotel).
Rooms are clean, well furnished, bathroom is very nice and clean, cable TV free of charge, AC... In one word: exellent. If you have a room facing the street it could be noisy, but only during the day.
Personal are friendly and helpfull.
Breakfast is very good!
I recomend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank alexspider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2005

I wasn't sure what to expect when booking this hotel; I stayed one night before leaving to Dubrovnik for two nights and then returning for 1 night before leaving to Belgrade.

When I walked into the lobby I was very impressed. It was very elegant and richly decorated. The receptionist was welcoming and I felt underdressed in my t-shirt and shorts compared to how well the hotel looked.

My room was quite compact, but really functioned. Shutters came down over the window when your room wasn't in use. The hotel was airconditioned throughout - no expense was spared.

The bathroom was marble, with expensive toiletries and good towels. I would like to have seen what an executive room looked like - as I was very very impressed with the way mine looked.

When I arrived back at the hotel from Dubrovnik, the receptionist remembered me and welcomed me by name. He was also helpful in guiding me to Zagreb, which was about 5 - 10 minute walk away.

The hotel was fairly close to the train station and 10 minutes from the bus station which is why I decided to stay there, I'm pleased that I did and would return without hesitation.

The breakfast was very good, although there wasn't really any waiters, which I found disturbing as the food wasn't being replenished enough - this has to be my only criticism.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
0.2 mi away
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#5 of 59 in Zagreb
1,409 reviews
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jagerhorn
Hotel Jagerhorn
#2 of 59 in Zagreb
978 reviews
0.3 mi away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#7 of 59 in Zagreb
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria

Address: Petrinjska Ulica 71, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Zagreb
#3 Luxury Hotel in Zagreb
#4 Business Hotel in Zagreb
Price Range: £74 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first-class hotel BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Astoria **** in the centre of the Croatian capital casts its spell with its wonderful 30ies charm. 100 luxurious rooms with all amenities, business center with 4 fully equipped conference rooms, the exquisite restaurant Ragusa and the elegant Glama Bar with affiliated pastry shop create an oasis of recreation for business travellers and city tourists.Hotel guests have on disposal a FREE private parking in the courtyard within hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Astoria
Best Western Zagreb
Zagreb Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing