We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Jagerhorn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Jagerhorn
Ranked #2 of 60 Hotels in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Florianopolis, SC
Level Contributor
1 review
“Perfect Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

We were 3 and booked a suite room wich was very spacious, confortable and well decorated. The location is the best possible and the staff is very friendly and polite. The breakfast is simple but tasty. The only down side is that they dont have a lift.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma_Mi, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Jagerhorn, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay and for writing a review!
We hope you enjoyed your stay in Zagreb and if you come again we would look forward to welcome you!

Best regards,
Irma Milet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    584
    235
    31
    9
    4
See reviews for
145
395
69
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

I stayed here with two of my best girlfriends from college. We stayed in a suite and it was very spacious. The suite would have comfortably fit 4-5 people. The hotel is a quick 3 minute walk to the town square with lots of shopping, restaurants and cafes nearby. The breakfast was very delicious too! Although it was cold and snowy during our stay, the patio/garden area looked like it would have been nice on a warm day. Reception were extremely helpful with restaurant recommendations and booking taxis. I HIGHLY recommend getting Jagerhorn's reception to book your taxis to and from the airport as we paid almost three times as much without their help. I would definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IheartSugar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma_Mi, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Jagerhorn, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay and for your feedback in this review! We're pleased to read you enjoyed your stay as well as our service, and we're sorry you didn't ask us to arrange taxi pick-up for your arrival. Your advice regarding the taxi transfer is appreciated, as we're highly recommending the same :)

We are looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you if you and your girlfriends will be visiting again!

Best regards,
Irma Milet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

I can hardly believe the critical remarks of a recent review--but thankfuly they are in a very small minority. This is a LOVELY hotel in every way.
LOCATION--the best possible--right in the centre of town within walking distance of everything--but up a quiet arcade off the main street--so it is also peaceful.
ROOMS---warm, large super king size beds, hot showers,quiet and immaculately clean.
BREAKFAST--between 7-10 AM- in a lovely room with a garden terrace(too cold outside in Jan!). Usual European fayre--plenty of it and extremely courteous staff.
RECEPTION---manned by a team of young women all of whom were helpful, smiling, enthusiastic and lovely ! All questions answered and plenty of recommendations for eating and drinking. one restaurant-Vinodol- gave us one of the best meals we have ever had--for very reasonable prices.
COST--A bargain--we paid 84 euros for a double room with breakfast
6 of us went--for 3 nights 24-27 of Jan and we all give it 5/5.
ZAGREB---a real find--go there while it's still relatively unknown before everyone else finds out about it.

Room Tip: i had room 106 facing the garden and slept really well
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indiraOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma_Mi, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Jagerhorn, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Dear guest,

we are really thankful for your wonderful review, and for taking the time to cover all the elements of our offer in it! We really enjoyed being your host during your Zagreb visit, and we can't wait for the opportunity to welcome you again!

All the best wishes from the entire Jagerhorn staff!

Best regards,
Irma Milet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

Visited October 2012 for football and back again January 2013 for Ice Skating. Excellent - staff really friendly and helpful, clean tidy rooms and excellent position right in centre of city at foot of old town. Minus 9 degrees at night while we were in Zagreb but room warm and comfortable.

If Zagreb call s again I will be staying here.

Room Tip: Stayed on second floor and first floor. Both good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welshpeej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma_Mi, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Jagerhorn, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for writing your review and for choosing our hotel again for your stay in Zagreb!

We really hope that Zagreb will call again and we look forward to welcoming you then!

Best regards,
Irma Milet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pula, Croatia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

Although located in the centre of Zagreb the Jaegerhorn hotel is very quiet. The room was nice and clean with a view on the inside garden. We had the same view from the breakfast room. The breakfast was perfect. The parking is nearby and easy to find. Before coming we were contacted by e-mail and provided with the code for the parking entrance and the instruction how to open the parking door. The staff was nice and obliging. Next time in Zagreb we will certainly book a room in this hotel.

Robert & Kristina

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma_Mi, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Jagerhorn, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Dear guests,

we are very happy to read your review and thankful that you chose our hotel for your stay!

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again, we hope to have this opportunity soon!

Best regards,
Irma Milet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

Occasionally I misread Tripadvisor.com reviews. Number 2 hotel in all of Zagreb – hey, that must count for something, right? But no.

If you are travelling by yourself on an economy weekend with minimal luggage, and you do not plan to stay in the room much, then this hotel is fine (if somewhat overpriced). If you are travelling far from home (eg Australia) on a reasonably long trip, have the luggage to back this up, and there is more than one in your party, then do not stay here.

The official hotel website indicates some rustic establishment bordering the Old Town. What they did not flag were the rustic trams tearing past at 50+ km/hour outside, nor the rustic but ominous doors (really more like castle gates) that close at 9pm and open only after much yelling by us through the intercom. Nor did the website indicate the unlit rustic gloominess of the closed shopping mall we stumbled through to get to reception.

I am usually not too fussed about lobby areas, be they big or small. But this one was tiny; a couple was checking in in front, so my wife & I lined up outside. This was a precursor of the room; every time one of us wanted to get up to visit the loo or go to the wardrobe, the other had to retreat to the bed or the hallway outside.

No lift, so we had to drag our bags upstairs (but the lady at reception did help – thank you!).

No common areas. The hallways appear to be decorated in the same style as my student dorm in the 1970s. The “bar” (as listed in the hotel guide book) was a construction site when we were present. We were in a “renovated” room; these are apparently the same size as the old non-renovated rooms. Unfortunately the renovations did not extend to the bathroom, where a wonky shower provided us with some frustration followed by unintentional amusement as the hotel staff came up, stated that this problem was easy, and then were also stumped by it.

As a plus, we had free wi fi. The hotel restaurant was also quite pleasant, with appetising food and an outdoor area for breakfast taking advantage of the mild autumnal weather.

But those two plus points were insufficient, and so we bailed on Zagreb’s number 2 hotel after only 1 night. Number 2? As a staff member of the hotel to which we fled subsequently remarked: “You should see hotel number 3.”

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lysurgis23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma_Mi, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Jagerhorn, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for writing impressions of your stay with us in September last year! We appreciate your feedback, and are very sorry to read that your stay with us failed to meet your expectations.

We are a hotel in the very city center, in a pedestrian zone where only trams are passing by. We are not sure if your complaint about trams refers to the sleeping quality in the rooms. Usually, most of our guests give a very positive feedback on the sleeping quality, they get surprised how quiet it is in our hotel despite the fact we're located in the city center. We're sorry if you didn't have such experience.

In order to provide peaceful atmosphere for our guests during the night we close the main gate at Ilica street at 10pm every night. Our guests are kindly asked to ring at the intercom and then we open the gate for them. Guests are asked for confirmation only if the receptionist doesn't recognize them on the camera, unfortunately the reason why you couldn't get in easily remains unkonwn.

All other remarks you made we took in consideration in the plans for upgrading the level of our service and facilities' functionality, as we're devoted to constant improvement in all areas. Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope you had a nice rest of the stay in Zagreb and Croatia!

Best regards,
Irma Milet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

I stay in Zagreb for two days for a business. The rooms were in very good condition, the staff polite. The parking was a small issue because was 300 m away from the hotel and it was raining. But no matter that I was really satisfied to be guest of Jagerhor.
If I go back I will stay there without hesitation. There is an coffee are that is opened those days next to hotel reception which makes the location even better.
Please have in mind , in local bars they did not accept Credit cards, but you can pay in EURO.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma_Mi, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Jagerhorn, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for staying at our hotel and for taking time to write your review!
It is really pleasing to read you enjoyed your overall stay and that we would be your first choice if you come again to Zagreb.
Just a slight correction regarding your note about bars accepting euro: it might not be true in most of the bars, as our official currency is Croatian kuna and usually euro is not accepted when paying with cash. There is a number of exchange offices, banks and ATM machines nearby hotel where you can easily exchange your money.

Thank you once again, and looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

Best regards,
Irma Milet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
0.5 mi away
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#6 of 60 in Zagreb
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
0.3 mi away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Astoria
0.4 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#8 of 60 in Zagreb
4.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jagerhorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jagerhorn

Property: Hotel Jagerhorn
Address: Ilica 14, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 60 Hotels in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jagerhorn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Jägerhorn; an intimate oasis of style, service and comfort in the very center of Zagreb, Croatia. The oldest standing hotel in the city, the Jägerhorn enjoys a truly privileged location at just a stone’s throw from the main Ban Jelačić square in the heart of Zagreb. Nestled in a passage connecting the historic upper town with the city center, the hotel houses 18 elegantly appointed rooms, a stylish café offering the finest beverages, and the most beautiful terraces and garden to be found in the city. A peaceful and relaxing oasis defying its urban surroundings, Hotel Jägerhorn provides the perfect platform from which to explore the city and its numerous attractions. The full refurbishment of the Jägerhorn was completed in 2015, with great care and consideration given to preserving the historical and cultural significance of the hotel in its interior decoration and visual identity. This attention to style, detail and comfort extends to the customized, personal and intimate service to be found, making Hotel Jägerhorn the ideal destination for both business and leisure travellers seeking an authentic hotel experience in the center of Zagreb. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Jagerhorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing