We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best choice”
Review of Hotel Jagerhorn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Jagerhorn
Ranked #2 of 58 Hotels in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best choice”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We could not have found any better!! Right in the city centre of Zagabria, in the pedestrian area and very close to the main square, the market and the funicular taking you to the upper city. Private parking nearby provided by the hotel with instructions and entry code supplied upon confirmation of the reservation. Extremely kind and helpful staff. Rooms are perfect, so is the breakfast with a view on the courtyard. Recently refurbished but preserving the charm of an old style hotel the Jägerhorn is the perfect place to stay during a short trip to Zagreb!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma_Mi, Front Office at Hotel Jagerhorn, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Daniela,

We are so glad you had such an enjoyable stay with us and we wish to thank you for taking the time to share your impressions! Thank you for all the compliments and for recommeding us, your review is surely useful to all our future guests who wish to stay in a more intimate environment located in the heart of Zagreb.

Till the next opportunity when we hope to welcome you back,
Safe travels and all best from the whole team!

Irma Milet
Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    610
    249
    33
    11
    5
See reviews for
153
421
72
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Hotel is 2 blocks from the main square so stay here for the great location. However beware the rooms are bare bones, not soundproofed and do not have a safe for valuables. The single rooms are very small, barely enough to store your bag which will end up on floor next to bed. The shower is so small that you can't even bend over without opening the door, which itself leaks everywhere. The biggest annoyance is the non-soundproofed rooms, you will hear the popes when nearby rooms use the washroom and also anyone closes their door, which includes hearing the old fashioned key locks.

I am confused by this hotels high rating on this site and I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 103, its next to a loud shoe shine, main stairwell and the breakfast room, you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma_Mi, Front Office at Hotel Jagerhorn, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Jamie,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience! We appreciate your feedback and truly regret you were not fully pleased with your stay. I would like to address the issues you mentioned hoping it will serve as a worthy explanation and apology.

As our hotel is the oldest standing hotel in Zagreb (with history of almost 200 years) it is situated in the property which doesn't allow much changes regarding room size. The rooms are designed with the goal to offer the most possible comfort and functionality, but ideas for increasing it both are in the process. For this reason we appreciate the honest feedback from our guests as we wish to incorporate these changes to the improvements. In order to preserve the rich historical atmosphere of our hotel, our rooms have old fashioned doors and locks, but more soundproof doors which match to our style will be considered in the next larger investment. As for depositing your valuables, we offer this service at the reception where you can keep your valuables in our safe and get a confirmation with a detailed list of items received.

We regret you didn’t express your discontent to our Front Office staff, we would make sure to make your stay more pleasing by moving you to another room or offering another compensation. And we do hope you will return to stay with us when visiting Zagreb again when we would gladly welcome you back!

All the best from Jagerhorn team,
Irma Milet
Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

We were only able to stay at this wonderful property 2 nights. We would recommend to anyone visiting the Old Town area to first stay at Hotel Jagerhorn and to stay at least 4-5 nights. The old town area is spectacular! Hire a guide for an hour and half tour, to get your bearing, then venture out on you own. We can't speak highly enough for the friendliness of the staff, fabulous location, wonderful breakfast and beautiful hotel layout with the courtyard, breakfast area and bar area. We will positively return to Zagreb and stay at Hotel Jagerhorn again!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma_Mi, Front Office at Hotel Jagerhorn, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Teresa,

thank you for sharing your wonderful review and staying with us while visiting Zagreb! Your words are really too kind and we are so honored and encouraged by them. Thank you for your practical sightseeing advice and recommendation, it is useful to our future guests.

We are looking forward to the opportunity when we will welcome you back, hopefully soon!

Safe travels and all the best from the whole team,
Irma Milet
Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The hotel was in a lovely location and in the heart of old town, with everything within walking distance. The staff were friendly and accommodated our every need, including letting us stay for a bit longer without the extra charge! Parking is free and nearby, but it takes some finding, so you will need to have a map with you! We were given information about the best places to see, eat and have fun. I would definitely go back again on my next visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katarina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma_Mi, Front Office at Hotel Jagerhorn, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear guest,

thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience! It is great to know you enjoyed your stay and were so pleased with our service. It is our goal to ensure our guests have the best possible stay in our hotel and Zagreb, so we are focused on providing valuable information and advices about reaching us and exploring the city.

I would like to give little information about our parking facilities to all our future guests who might be reading this. As we are located in the heart of the city center, which is pedestrian zone, we are offering parking facilities in the nearest possible location, about 350m walking distance from our hotel. To all of our guests who give us their e-mail address prior to arrival we are sending detailed parking instructions with the entrance code which is necessary for entering into parking area. On the inner side of the parking gate you can find a map showing directions for reaching our hotel from parking area by foot. In any time of the day or night you can contact us by phone or email and ask for further assistance.

Thank you once again for your kind review and we are hoping to welcome you back when you visit Zagreb again!

All the best from Jagerhorn team,
Irma Milet
Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I was visiting Zagreb on business and, having experienced a quiet and comfortable stay in Hotel Jagerhorn twice before, I didn't consider staying anywhere else. I stayed for four nights and the weather was warm sunshine each day. I took advantage of this by sitting on the hotel terrace with a glass of wine after work listening to the relaxing sound of the waterfall feature. Just one minute away in the shopping area was a thriving cafe culture and a great atmosphere.
The hotel staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms clean and comfortable and the breakfast is more than adequate, the breakfast manager is efficient, friendly and he makes a nice cafe au lait.
Just like my previous visits!
As remarked elsewhere, the airport taxi pick-up is well worthwhile. I used ECO taxis every day (hotel recommended) they are punctual and good value.
It's a bonus having a Konsum supermarket just minutes away in the shopping centre. If you are buying water then "Jana" brand has a nice taste to it.
Thank you for an enjoyable stay Hotel Jagerhorn, I hope to make it back for a fourth time in the autumn.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Norbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma_Mi, Front Office at Hotel Jagerhorn, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear guest,

thank you for your wonderful and charming recommendation! Your positive feedback is highly appreciated and will be passed on to all of our team! Just by reading your review we can imagine how pleasing was your stay and we are really so glad about it. Thank you for returning to stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you again this autumn, or maybe even sooner!

All the best from the whole team,
Irma Milet
Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Everything about this hotel is first class. The taxi to collect us at the airport is charged to the hotel therefore no need to worry about being ripped off in a new country with unfamiliar currency. Staff are so helpful, the gentleman at breakfast exceptionally so.Location superb.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ann2307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma_Mi, Front Office at Hotel Jagerhorn, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience! It is really flattering to read your first line and we are really so glad you liked it so much. Thank you for mentioning our taxi service, we tried to get the most suitable and reliable transfer service for our guest so it is great to know that it is as convenient.

You are most welcome to come back visit us anytime!

All the best from Jagerhorn team,
Irma Milet
Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Forget the big, expensive chains, the lovely people at the Jagerhorn will make you feel at home, the service is tip top and the facilities excellent. Best of all, it's both right in the heart of the city; the old and new towns are a couple of minutes away and the tram stops almost outside - and it's tucked away in a quiet courtyard. One minor gripe, the wifi is a little unpredictable and can drop out. Fix this one and your hotel is unbeatable. I've already recommended you to friends.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Farehamvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma_Mi, Front Office at Hotel Jagerhorn, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your amazing review! We appreciate your recommendations and especially your kind feedback. We definitely wish to know how we can improve the experience of our guests and that's why your honest feedback is very welcomed.

Till the next opportunity when we hope to welcome you again,
All the best from Jagerhorn team!

Irma Milet
Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
0.5 mi away
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
0.3 mi away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#6 of 58 in Zagreb
1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb
0.5 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria
0.4 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#8 of 58 in Zagreb
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jagerhorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jagerhorn

Property: Hotel Jagerhorn
Address: Ilica 14, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 58 Hotels in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jagerhorn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Jägerhorn; an intimate oasis of style, service and comfort in the very center of Zagreb, Croatia. The oldest standing hotel in the city, the Jägerhorn enjoys a truly privileged location at just a stone’s throw from the main Ban Jelačić square in the heart of Zagreb. Nestled in a passage connecting the historic upper town with the city center, the hotel houses 18 elegantly appointed rooms, a stylish café offering the finest beverages, and the most beautiful terraces and garden to be found in the city. A peaceful and relaxing oasis defying its urban surroundings, Hotel Jägerhorn provides the perfect platform from which to explore the city and its numerous attractions. The full refurbishment of the Jägerhorn was completed in 2015, with great care and consideration given to preserving the historical and cultural significance of the hotel in its interior decoration and visual identity. This attention to style, detail and comfort extends to the customized, personal and intimate service to be found, making Hotel Jägerhorn the ideal destination for both business and leisure travellers seeking an authentic hotel experience in the center of Zagreb. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Jagerhorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing