We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and located in the center”
Review of Cosmos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cosmos Hotel
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Chisinau
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

i was staying there for 5 nights when i arrived to the town, the place is cheap clean and the staff really helpfull and kind, also its located in the center like 5 min walk from everything..the beds alittle bit not so comfortable but the rooms occupied well with airconditioner and balcony...really valuable for that amount of money..i would stay there again if i will be in chisinou

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pini237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

very soviet but good location,walking distance to centre
fairly good value
not a whole pile to see or do in this city
old town area is nice
safe and not dear
as its on a major road roundabout,try and get a room in a higher floor
bar downstairs,not great

Room Tip: higher up the better as its on a major road roundabout
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank samboDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Stayed 4 nights at MDL530 a night in room on L10 with balcony, air con, twin beds, refrigerator etc. Reception staff spoke English (very fluent on 2 of the days) and were very helpful. Hotel located very close to train station and about a 25 minute walk into main part of town although MDL30 will get you a cab or there are trolley buses outside the door. Wifi in the main worked OK but dropped out at times using some apps or unless you moved closer to the door (6/10 and passable). Breakfast unremarkable with limited selection and didn't go back after 1st morning. Room was functional and clean but nothing special and balcony I think was last cleaned in 1970 (ended up being cleaned during the stay) Perfect if you are arriving via train and staying a night. 380 rooms according to their website and you shouldn't have trouble getting in. Half a day will cover the limited sights in city centre. Got lazy and paid MDL 600 for driver to cave monastery which was a good half day filler. If you get bus from Central bus station then Butuceni is right below the caves but Trebujeni would be a huge walk. Need no more than an hour to check it out so if you are bussing take a good book to fill in your time till the return bus. Bus from Central Bus Station to Tiraspol took just under 2 hours and was MDL20. No issues at border. Do your research and write down where you want to go if you dont speak Russian as English non existent and no maps etc. Money changers at train station drop off. Got taxi back from Bendery for €15 and 55 minutes.
If your not expecting the world then Hotel Cosmos has a lot of character, is a little retro and does the trick. Jacks Bar and Grill around the corner a good place for breakfast, lunch etc and has free strong WIFI and pretty good coffee. Also a major supermarket (Green Hills Market) across the road. Taxi from airport was MDL90 from fixed price stand and MDL using hotel driver for trip back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJS1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

The Cosmos Hotel is very interesting dued to its socialistic architecture and view over the city. It is very close to the central station. The staff at the reception was very friendly and helpfull. The installation in the lobby with old TVs is also very impressive. We did not like the old carpets and dirty balconys in Cosmos Hotel. Some floors and places in the Hotel need new colour and more light, some floors are too dark. The breakfast room and the breakfast is like a flashback in the old Sovietunion.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank berlinpixels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed here having not booked, we were shown a number of rooms from suites to double rooms. The decor is very 1970's but in good condition. The rooms are clean, and spacious, they provide clean towels and complimentary toiletries in the rooms. Breakfast was included in our rate which was quite good.
The reception area was dated but very interesting. The bar is great value, 80p a pint, 25p a shot of vodka
This hotel is popular with and used by the Moldovan top flight football teams, so it's quite clearly a respected hotel. Should I be in the area again I will stay there again

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daveykbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

The hotel is a bit dated but for the price the rooms were clean and comfortable. We arrived a day late due to a missed flight but the hotel insisted that they would not charge us for the missed night which is better than many Western hotels. The staff spoke English well and were friendly. Breakfast was forgettable but that doesn't matter if you don't intend on getting up for it.
The location was fairly central, about ten minutes walk from the main areas and the bus station.
Overall, not a bad choice and I have stayed in many lower quality hotels in Europe.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

A pretty decent hotel for the price. Its right near the center of Chisinau, about a 15 minute walk to Stefan Cel Mare or 10 minute bus ride. Very Soviet! So if that is why you are coming to Chisinau, this would be a great choice! I speak Romanian, so I was surprised when the front desk lady spoke English.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chisinau hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chisinau
Hotel Chisinau
#6 of 46 in Chisinau
236 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bed & Breakfast Olsi
Bed & Breakfast Olsi
#19 of 46 in Chisinau
36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Flowers Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Leogrand Hotel
1.7 mi away
Wine Hotel Chisinau
Wine Hotel Chisinau
#31 of 46 in Chisinau
5 reviews
2.7 mi away
Zimbru
Zimbru
#32 of 46 in Chisinau
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmos Hotel

Address: 2 Negruzzi Square, Chisinau 2001, Moldova
Region: Moldova > Chisinau District > Chisinau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Chisinau
Price Range: £24 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cosmos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HostelWorld, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cosmos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing