We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the only two decent options in Chisinau” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jolly Alon

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Jolly Alon
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Chisinau
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“One of the only two decent options in Chisinau”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

We were told that there are basically 2 hotels of decent standard in Chisinau.
Jolly Alon (we were all the time tempted to call it Jolly Alone) is one of them, well located downtown.

Very pompous appearance and lobby and armchairs that make you expect Hosni Mubarak to enter the place any moment. The personnel in terms of friendliness is more or less Ok.
Quite poor restaurant! For good cuisine and excellent wine you have to go to restaurant Pegas (Pegasus) - judged by cars in front the focal point for local elite.

The hotel rooms are old fashioned but clean and (mine at least) spacious.

Room Tip: Go and eat in restaurant Pegas. Order taxi to thr restaurant, order taxi from the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterZashev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    53
    39
    7
    2
See reviews for
5
8
8
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

In Chisinau for a short business stay, the Jolly Alon provided an adequate choice of hotel. Changed rooms from the back to the front of the hotel (20€ extra, but worth it). Fittings and furnishings are dated. TV was a relic. Restaurant quite OK and breakfast was a simple but satisfactory buffet. Bar OK. Security good. Fitness centre not bad (hardly used, and you have to be escorted to it). They have a pool as well but I didn't get to it. WiFi free but coverage extremely poor (non-existent in rooms, so had to visit the lobby often). Rooms facing the back are dim and depressing. Pay the extra for a room facing the front (park). Corridor lighting is movement activated so you walk into dark corridors all the time until the sensor reacts. ATM in the lobby. Small "diplomatic" shop in the foyer. Reception staff friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: Don't opt for a room facing the back (small and dark) but pay the little extra and choose a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2CLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

Location - very good, in the center of the city, just near the beautiful park
Internet connection - very poor in some rooms , in lobby is better
Rooms - quite big , very clean, but there's problem with ventilation - if somebody smoke in other room, you can smell tobacco smoke in yours
Quietness - strangely, music is playing in the halls and corridors from 8 am till 10 pm, you can hear it in your room - so it can be problem for comfort rest

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Spent a week at the hotel on business. Clean room with balcony facing to the front of the building, comfortable bed, robe and slippers if needed (not), good shower but after three days there was an increasing odour de drain emanating from the bathroom. The sanitary ware was clean and functional, though. Colleague on same trip had real issues trying to obtain wi-fi: but to be fair, I didn't even try to log on. Breakfast was alright but I stuck to cereals, fruit etc. after finding the cooked breakfast was not to my taste. The hotel is situated a few minutes from a couple of pleasant parks for a stroll around. Arrival and departure were a pleasure, with the staff helpful and polite despite the unsocial hours dictated by airline schedules.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 397Weights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

Stayed at the hotel with a football trip
First day room key failed after we checked in ...was locked out of my room ( couldnt get to my phone / clothes etc took 4-5 hours to get handyman out to open door ..then had to move into another room)
food very poor and hotel very dated
main problem was the hotel will rip you off at any attempt ..... A piece of glass was broke when a lad sat on the edge of a small glass table in the reception area ( glass was not toughened and lad had gash in his back ...really lucky it wasnt a child ) hotel charged 500 EURO FOR THE GLASS!!!!!! Even though the hotel could produce no invoice / etc for the glass and the whole table was worth peanuts ----another room had a hand towel missing which they charged £25!!!! ....bear in mind a pint of beer is around 50p-75p ....hotel staff knew they were scamming people but said its a set charge???
Over half the people on the trip had sickness and the runs which was a mixture of the very poor quality food and the poor standard of hygeine in the hotel
Ive stayed in over 100 hotels and this is the first time ive wrote a review .....Take my word for it and pay the extra for a better hotel
marc july 2012

Room Tip: rooms in another hotel are only option
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marc l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
61 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

The hotel seems to be one of the most famous in Chisinau, with business travellers, politicians and foreign tourists staying there alike.

The rooms are fine, with all the basic amenities and an individual safe, which was appreciated. Our upgraded room had a bathrobe and slippers. The location is very central and facing the wonderful park, and the area seems quite safe in general. There is a restaurant and bar on site with average food (the bread at breakfast was always a bit stale, but the warm food was good).

The staff was friendly and everything was more or less good. One of the issues is the slow and patchy internet, which only reached up to the second floor, so I had to sit in a random corridor to check my emails. The room could have been a teeny bit cleaner, but that wasn't really too big an issue.

The one outrageous issue were the prices - 20 euros for one person for one hour for the sauna?? I would never even consider using such a "service.'

I would stay here again - definitely fell in love with the park.

Room Tip: We chose the slightly upgraded room, which was very big and had a balcony facing the park. The only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anchorless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
149 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

This isn't necessarily a hotel to be in a hurry in - especially at breakfast when coffee comes at a leisurely pace (but individually made in the kitchen, which is nice). Comfortable bed with really nice pillows, quiet, shower (no bathtub) but good high-pressure hot water. Front desk are efficient enough, and very helpful. Lifts are a bit slow - but it's not New York, so don't complain! The colour scheme is old-style brown, but the place is clean and well run and good value for money. The internet worked fine for me, though I heard others had some problems with it.

Room Tip: It may be that some rooms have better wireless service than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcwcBaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chisinau hotels
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Leogrand Hotel
0.1 mi away
CODRU Hotel
CODRU Hotel
#11 of 44 in Chisinau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.5 mi away
City Park Hotel
City Park Hotel
#2 of 44 in Chisinau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Jumbo Hotel
Jumbo Hotel
#9 of 44 in Chisinau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel VisPas
Hotel VisPas
#12 of 44 in Chisinau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nobil Luxury Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jolly Alon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolly Alon

Property: Jolly Alon
Address: Maria Cibotari Street, 37, Chisinau 2012, Moldova
Region: Moldova > Chisinau District > Chisinau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Chisinau
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chisinau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Jolly Alon 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Jolly Alon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolly Alon Chisinau
Jolly Alon Hotel Chisinau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing