We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wouldn't bother”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Vatra

Vatra
Ranked #28 of 1,769 Restaurants in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$30
Cuisines: European, Eastern European, Central European, Romanian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Best traditional romanian food in Bucharest.
Clapham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wouldn't bother”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Food was dull, staff seemed quite happy to do little, and the traditional dancing was pointless. Although I carnt say it was definitely this place, I got really ill the day after visiting. Could have been to boot tuff dry salmon I had. Though the staff really look as though they would rather be anywhere else but at work.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 78Cal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    277
    94
    31
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
So Cal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Authentic and a bit touristy Romanian dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Not far from the old town center, this Romanian restaurant is definitely a bit of a tourist attraction - especially with the music/dance show. That said, the food was good. Nothing extraordinary but good.
don't be fooled by the picture menu - the portion sizes look completely wrong. The appetizers and salads are small. We got the eggplant puree (aka babaganoush) which was delicious to share but could have easily gotten one each.
We then had the stuffed mushrooms (no meat) and they were good.
Main dish we had a mix of the meat rolls and the homemade sausage. both were really good! I'm not sure I loved the country potatoes (too greasy) and the grilled vegetables were kind of dried out.
We had a nice Romanian wine (you may have to ask for help with the selection as all their wines are Romanian).

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dasalomon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
119 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Traditional fare”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

If you are looking for a taste of typical Romanian food - with a couple of folk dances thrown in - this is your place. Our dishes were interesting, but not exceptional. We tried an appetizer place of a variety of food, none too appetizing. The stuffed cabbage rolls were good, but polenta was overly dry and had no sauce or sour cream to help out. Chicken was fine, not great. "Pancakes" with jam for dessert were also dry. Busy place, so some folks appreciate this restaurant. My view was of an abandoned "Eastern Block" abandoned and crumbling block apartment building - not the loveliest!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suenglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely traditional restuarant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We had booked ahead and were seated on the terrace which was very pretty, with benches with rugs on and lots of flowers in baskets. The staff were good and we had delicious meals. It was very reasonably priced too.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sue2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The staff were rude and the service was disgraceful.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We went here with a large group and ordered our meals the day before. Half of us hadn't received out meals by the time the other half had finished. The staff were extremely rude and blamed us for their mistakes, our sides were stone cold by the time we got our mains. The head female member of staff was intimidating and shouted at us while we were trying to eat. I am ashamed that we paid for this meal, the food was mediocre and the general experience was the worst I've ever had. Waste of money, wouldn't return. Don't go!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mcmizo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vatra also viewed

Bucharest, Romania
 
Bucharest, Romania
 

Been to Vatra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing