We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New and improved”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Sir Gara de Nord
Ranked #84 of 121 Bucharest B&B and Inns
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
“New and improved”
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Well, i just walked into a new and improved Das president hotel...
The fornt dask, were very helpful and they all speak English.
The rooms are clean and they serve breakfast for a great price.

I recomend this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank red r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    10
    7
    5
    12
See reviews for
2
8
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Though the price and location were good, there is an advertisement on the front of the building which is illuminated with many nights until 3:45 a.m. Its like daytime in the room. I hope they are making a lot of money from it because it makes the room unacceptable. In addition, the street noise, barking dogs, etc. make this location less than optimal (I know they can't stop the dogs from barking.) Finally, the carpet needs replacing and the bathroom grout was moldy. You get hot water but it takes 10 minutes. First turn on the water, then get undressed and brush your teeth, by then the water may be warm.

Room Tip: A room without the ad light would be much better or bring your sleep blinders as I did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim_Schorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bucharest hotels

wanganui
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2009

I booked this hotel which I thought we were going to arrive by train and it was just over the road from the station. When we were offered a ride I decided to keep the hotel booking. Bad mistake.
Arrived to find no record of booking. Accommodation was available but we were required to pay on check in. That should have been a hint to have gone elsewhere. The lift was awful. Facilities listed when I booked were non existent

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Murray61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jersey city, nj
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2009

phenomenal price! i paid 85 lei (about $25 USD) for a single with a shared bathroom. as has been mentioned before the hotel is about 20 meters from gara de nord so it can't be beat for accessibility for travellers just passing through bucharest (as i was, on my way to brasov). rooms are small but well appointed and very clean and it's got wireless internet and A/C!

i don't know if i'd recommend it for an extended stay or for family travel, but it was absolutely perfect for me... a single male spending a night or two on the cheap without having to worry about dingy rooms, unwashed linen, or bugs.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank downneck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2008

Coco's Hotel is perfectly located about 50 metres across from the main Gara du Nord train station. Perfect for travellers coming in/going out via rail - as I was.

Paid €35 for a single room and I was impressed for the cost. Room was decent in size for one person. Clean and warm. Flat screen TV included in the room. I've seen hostel single rooms cost much more than this.

Shared bathroom facilities were good, albeit very small. If you are anywhere near 6ft, then you will struggle entering and exiting the toilet (2nd floor bathrooms anyway). Shower had hot water. I was unsure of the general cleanliness of the bathroom facilities as I managed to get in there immediately after they were cleaned (9am). I did take a look at the cleaning roster and on some occasions they were cleaned once a day, on other occasions, twice a day, so not sure what they are like come 11pm.

Breakfast is included in the cost in the adjourning restaurant next to the hotel. Don't expect anything spectacular, but for €35 it's better than nothing. I had a meal in this restaurant of an evening and at very reasonable prices too. Romanian pizza, salad and large beer all for around £5.

Staff seemed friendly enough, especially the man on reception, although his name eludes me. If you want to get into the 'city centre' - as I was told, just walk outside the hotel, cross the street on the left and you'll see a bus stop in front. Take the 123 bus and get off about 20 minutes later (traffic depending) and you'll be in the centre (I think).

  • Liked — Cost and location to main train station
  • Disliked — Small bathroom facilities (at least on 2nd floor anyway)
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASO82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2008

I will come here again. Remember that this is a 35 Euro room across the street from the main train station in a relatively expensive city and don't expect frills. My room was clean although somebody had smoked tobacco in it long before. The fixtures, a bit flimsy. The shared bathroom shower leaked on the floor and the cold water went away at one point leaving only hot. The elevator is small, but how many 35 Euro hotels even have elevators? My single room is big enough, maybe 10 square meters. The shared toilets work and are clean; the sink in the room works; the air conditioning works (it is hot in Bucharest right now); the bed is comfortable; the carpet is clean. Breakfast is included, rolls and salami and cheese and jam. Best of all the people are as friendly and helpful as any place I've been. They connected my old Powerbook G4 to the Internet immediately even though their WiFi system is only 2 months old and this was the first Macintosh they had seen. Andrei even carried my suitcase to the room. Does that happen at Formule1?

By the way Garmin GPS places this address very wrongly on their map. Coco's Hotel is at

N 44.44503 E 26.07442

  • Liked — service
  • Disliked — that it isn't the old wing of the Oriental Hotel in Bangkok back in the day
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rtln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
0.0 mi away
Sir Orhideea
Sir Orhideea
#129 of 166 in Bucharest
14 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hello Hotel
Hello Hotel
#40 of 166 in Bucharest
413 reviews
0.1 mi away
Andy Hotel
Andy Hotel
#121 of 166 in Bucharest
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Euro Hotels International Gara de Nord
0.3 mi away
Elizeu
Elizeu
#143 of 166 in Bucharest
46 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Bucuresti Gara de Nord
Ibis Bucuresti Gara de Nord
#41 of 166 in Bucharest
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sir Gara de Nord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sir Gara de Nord

Property: Hotel Sir Gara de Nord
Address: Str. Dinicu Golescu Nr 29 S1 - Sector 1, Bucharest 010865, Romania (Formerly Das President Hotel)
Region: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 121 B&Bs / Inns in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Sir Gara de Nord 1*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Coco’s Cerna" is a charming hotel located vis-a-vis the northern railway station, the main station of Bucharest which is also the city's main bus and subway station. The Hotel has 85 rooms (40 single, 15 single premium rooms, 25 double/twin rooms and 5 double king rooms) with a total capacity of 115 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Sir Gara de Nord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing