We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not more than 3 stars...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Razvan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Razvan
Ranked #151 of 172 Hotels in Bucharest
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
110 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Not more than 3 stars...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

I was here just for one night in a double room at the fourth story. I was not at all surprised by nothing... Old 4:3 LCD TV, shower, a small room from my opinion. I remember that is not so old, just several year (sure less than 10) but the supplies in the bathroom are damaged a little bit.
As a position... is not so far from the Center but be sure that it is not in the Center! The neighborhoods are not so fancy for a hotel.
But, for a single, simple-ordinary person one night to stay can be OK.
There are theoretically two restaurants inside, but I think that one is for the breakfast and just the second NAMASTE is really restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stoica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luminita-stefan0107, Owner at Hotel Razvan, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you for your review .We hope the next visit to be more satisfied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    5
    14
    7
    2
See reviews for
3
7
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Baia Mare, Romania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

I have spent a few nights in the hotel being in Bucharest for business. I have expected an average hotel but my expectations turned to be too high... The room had a small balcony with a large window that had no curtains and even if the people at the front desk assured me the window was coated I constantly felt like fish in a bowl to be studied by the people in the neighboring building 10 meters close. Though the room was livable in terms of cleanliness, the carpets in the common areas were showing the fatigue of heavy traffic. The breakfast was the same every day and you wouldn't need extra fingers to count all the "ingredients". We tried to have dinner in the restaurant at the top floor but there's a band playing there every night (so I've been told) at a volume that would prevent you from hearing a fighter jet at take-off. When asking if this doesn't scare customers away, the staff told me they were OK with how things work at this moment... Overall impression : There's no place like home :)

Room Tip: Don't plan to have dinner in the hotel unless you're a fan of local live music at abt. 120...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thegreyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

Its a nice hotel with good rooms. The staff generally its available. The only problem its the distance from the city, but you can easily go to the city center in a 25min walk, or with a cheap tax in 5 min by taxi. The main idea is that is a good hotel, fine restaurant and good staff!

Room Tip: Rooms that are not turned to the street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GRPitada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oradea, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

I stayed one night at Hotel Razvan ; it's the average Romanian hotel, with two restaurants that have really decent prices.
Unfortunately... it does have some drawbacks, like the fact that it's located at about 15-20 minutes from the closest metro station (Piata Muncii) and about 30 minutes to Unirii metro station, on a really narrow and crowded street. Also, I haven't seen any parking places, but perhaps I'm wrong.
One more tiny detail: the beds are stiff, and you can't really sleep comfortable in them.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emanuel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

This hotel is a good base to start exploring Bucharest, as it is 15-20 min walking distance away from the nearest subway station. There is tram and bus service in front of the hotel with affordable prices. There is bus service that can take you all the way to the airport (one change /down-town)
The hotel is very clean and tidy with good spacious rooms and in-suite bathroom and shower. There is soap/gel and hair dryer in the bathroom.
The staff are great, friendly and speak fluent English. The breakfast comes in variety that will appeal to every taste. The hotel is good value for money and you can choose the room that you like, just ask the staff.

Room Tip: There is a restaurant in the top floor that can be pretty noisy late in the night, so try not to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samsite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Constanta, Constanta, Romania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Pretty clean and tidy (except some red-hair in the bathroom sink), noisy rooms especially if you are top floor and the restaurant houses some party, no panorama whatsoever, at 3 meters there's an office building with people looking into your room if you leave your curtains opened. Also the matress and the pillow were terrible so the sleep was a failure.
On the good side, price and food were ok, even though at dinner you do have free food but if you want a glass of water you pay for it which is weird considering the "dinner included".
Parking lot situated some 200m, but i managed to find a place nearby, in front of a block of flats. Wireless available only in lobby, in rooms you have to plug in.
To sum up i would say it is worth to book a room here only for a night, like in a business trip or if you are in transit.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexandru B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galati County, Romania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

In February 2012, we returned for the fourth time at the hotel Razvan.
In the last two years has been one of our favorite hotels in Bucharest. Used to provide good service, good food, good prices. Included in the category of three stars was close to four
What has happened over time? We are not sure
Prices (I mean euros or U.S. dollars) have increased every year and although staff remained friendly and helpful as always and not only provide quality services decreased.
Restaurant menu is more poor: poor content for dinner and breakfast included. After three days we have preferred to lose the money paid and instead eat in Bucharest restaurants.
The bed and pillows were absolutely terrible and the whole experience of sleeping more than unpleasant. There is nothing left of comfort which we knew from previous visits.
Our room was on one side of the hotel's first floor, facing an office building. Whether it was day or night, we had to always keep the curtains drawn to avoid being seen by people in offices. Unpleasant and not at all comfortable to have the lights on all the time and no daylight.
Except that was enough heat and hot water, not anything good left in the hotel Razvan we think we know allready. The only good thing that we can remember is that the Internet connection remains as good as we knew it. Unfortunately an overall poor offer for the price we paid !
As noted above, the hotel has no parking and you risk your car being taken by the people at city hall if you leave before entering.
True, the hotel is about 30 minutes walk from Union Square (where you have good links to metro, tram and several taxis) but because the neighborhood is not too sure, I do not recommend walking at night
Unfortunately, we have only one conclusion: after this last experience we decided that we will not return to the hotel Razvan

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the side of the office building (only good if you like to be always watching) Remembe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudiu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
0.3 mi away
RIN Central Hotel Bucharest
RIN Central Hotel Bucharest
#41 of 172 in Bucharest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
6.3 mi away
Visconti Militari
Visconti Militari
#106 of 172 in Bucharest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
1.1 mi away
Citadella Hotel
Citadella Hotel
#95 of 172 in Bucharest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Tempo Hotel
Tempo Hotel
#27 of 172 in Bucharest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Michelangelo
Hotel Michelangelo
#37 of 172 in Bucharest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
2.5 mi away
Johann Strauss Hotel
Johann Strauss Hotel
#142 of 172 in Bucharest
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Razvan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Razvan

Property: Hotel Razvan
Address: Cale Calarasi No 159 | District 3, Bucharest 030614, Romania
Region: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 172 Hotels in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Razvan 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Razvan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing