We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best '' Cost performance" hotel”
Review of Capital Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Capital Plaza
Ranked #33 of 166 Hotels in Bucharest
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best '' Cost performance" hotel”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I have been stayed almost all 5-4 star hotels in the center of Bucharest last 3 years(among 23 times visits ) This hotel is the best "cost-performance" hotel.
If you have business meeting the area Piata Victorei and Dorobanti area, of course.
Also nearby there are many restaurants, cafe,supermarket, boutique etc.
I found also very promising Hair dresser's studio" nearby.
Hotel is located in major boulevard, convenient and can find a taxi in few minutes. Also return to the hotel is easy. Room has standard equipments, clean, good housekeeping. Only wifi connection was not good if you have 2 devices(like iPhone, and iPad)

Room Tip: I stayed behind room. No noise at all even open window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HV40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    108
    22
    9
    6
See reviews for
21
35
9
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I concur, the showers require patience and a degree of faith but pretty much everything else was perfect. Nice friendly staff, a functional breakfast, free quality internet, a vibrant bar/cafe, modern well equipped rooms with a very comfy mattress and all for the price of a reasonable bottle of wine anywhere else in the World.
But you might want to give yourself an extra 15 minutes to get to the airport. The hotel will happily order you a cab but it seems that a 10-15 minute wait is normal, and then it is time to wish you were back in the shower and pray you get to the airport alive.
I liked it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gustypants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

The water unstable pressure in The shower just sucks. I almost burnt myself one time. Bad service, unfriendly staff, bad taxi pickup arrangements. No formal apology after complaining, nothing whatsoever. In short, way overpriced, lacking of service hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Pim U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capital P, General Manager at Capital Plaza, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Mr.Pim Uijttewaal,

First of all we would like to thank you that you choose our hotel for your stay in Bucharest.
I would like to express my regrets and apologize for the inconvenience. We will going to check what was the problem and we assure you that we will going to fix it.
Once again, please accept our apologize and we would like to thank you very much for your review, which will going to help us to improve our services.

Best regards,
Catalin Stefan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
197 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This is a 4 star hotel. The rooms are good size. The TVs are good. It's VERY clean. Slept pretty well. Good hotel food. Inexpensive rates. This hotel would make sense for a lot of people (mostly the business crowd).

Negatives: the shower temperature goes from singing hot to freezing cold. Not a lot of consistency. The beds are pretty uncomfortable (mostly the pillows). Location is a 10 minute walk from Piata Romana. I would have rather stayed at the Hilton for location.

Specific to my trip: the AC was broken in my room (not the biggest deal, as it was nice outside and we left the window open). Mechanic promised he'd be back the next day to fix it. Never showed.

Why is this a 5 star hotel? One colleague: Ionut Popescu. I've never had a staff member work as hard at pleasing a customer as this young man. He bent over backwards to assist us. He was, genuinely, a better concierge/employee than anyone I've come across at a St. Regis or Park Hyatt. Hands down, amazing.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galati, Romania
Level Contributor
107 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I stasyed just one night in march,it was a busines travel;the hotel is very well situated near Dorobanti street at a 10 minutes walk to Piaza Romana.I stayed at thefirst floor ,i had a very quiet room- no 111-a single room.The room was basic but very clean and wuith all the facilities,free internet,free tv programs-even adult programs-THe breakfast was great-somon fumme,a plenty of various food and good beverages.The parking under the hotel was free of charge for the hotel guest and the reception front desk was fast and smart.I,ll be back!

Room Tip: take the first floor 111 room if you are a solo traveler
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SiaoWun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Besancon, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2014

friendly staff, very nice hotel decoration, however, the carpet in the room was dirty upon arriving (hairs and dirt). the carpet was not vacuumed properly. we had to complain twice at the reception and the carpet was vacuumed but not washed only the second day. we had to wear shoes in the room and the dirt was still there. housekeeping is not doing a very good job....

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miha I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
111 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night on a business trip, booked by our associates in Bucharest. This was both a pleasant place to stay and excellent value for money, given the rate we paid.
The hotel is modern, spacious and very clean. The internet worked well.
Breakfast was a varied and tasty buffet. I also ate twice at the braserie in the hotel, where the food was tasty and very reasonably priced.
The staff was attentive and helpful.
Two comments: the heating in the corridors was turned to maximum which was downright uncomfortable, not to mention a waste of electricity. Also, the bathroom was sparse, not even a box of tissues.
Bottom line: excellent value and highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANZ101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
0.5 mi away
Le Boutique Hotel Moxa
Le Boutique Hotel Moxa
#23 of 166 in Bucharest
521 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Unique
Hotel Unique
#52 of 166 in Bucharest
124 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Bucharest City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Christina
Hotel Christina
#1 of 166 in Bucharest
1,122 reviews
2.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Bucharest Unirii Square
1.1 mi away
Novotel Bucarest City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Plaza

Property: Capital Plaza
Address: 54 Iancu de Hunedoara Bd, Bucharest 011745, Romania
Region: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 166 Hotels in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Capital Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Capital Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing