We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value for a 2 star hotel :)”

Hotel Sir Lujerului
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Sir Lujerului
Ranked #80 of 121 Bucharest B&B and Inns
Stonehouse, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great value for a 2 star hotel :)”
Reviewed 27 November 2012

i was here in mid September for a week, first impression its clean and has friendly staff, my room was a good size everything was clean and had free wi fi :), with the staff they were really helpful as the first night my room got flooded with a faulty air conditioner, i said to them about my room and they said they apologized and said straight away the said they can move me in another room within an hour. i killed some time and headed back to the hotel and to their word they gave me a new room with no hassle at all. so i was very pleased with the room and service. the breakfast was something to be desired for, i wasn't expecting much after reading the reviews but the things i could eat was a choc croissant and a yoghourt. luckily there's the Cora supermarket 5 mins away, but i don't think anyone has mentioned about the lovely bakers just next to the hotel, beautiful choc chip muffins and pastries. i would defiantly come back to this hotel as its really good value for money and ill go back to that lil bakery again :)

Room Tip: the rooms i was in were at the back and away from road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    3
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
3
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2012

For a 2 star hotel, this was a pleasant surprise.

The hotel - situated right next to a subway station (15 minutes from the center of the city), bus/trolleybus station, tram station. Also, the Cora hypermarket is right across the intersection. It is certainly not in the center of the city, but the area is usually safe, especially if late at night you stay on the main roads and avoid the usual stray dog (since I am Bucharest-born & raised, I know what I am talking about).

The room - I have stayed in a matrimonial room (around 42 euro/night outside the weekend), which is only 2 euros more expensive then a double room - on the 3rd floor (not counting the ground floor), and thankfully the windows were not oriented to the main road. It is not specified on their official website, but the rooms have air conditioning. Also, there are a mini-fridge and wireless Internet. The room is quite big. The bathroom is cramped, not very well maintained (but it is clean) and poorly designed (2 persons cannot use the toilet and the sink at the same time, the toilet seat was the wrong size, the shower cabin was not high-enough for me and somehow the floor was a bit flooded everytime I took a shower) - still, these are all minor problems.

The breakfast - haven't tried it, but from other guests we understood it is the usual sad affair of a cheap continental breakfast - one coffee, one mass-produced croissant, some jam and butter.

The personnel was helpful (didn't need them a lot, which is usually a good sign).

As a conclusion, I would recommend the hotel as a quite cheap & clean alternative, if you want to avoid spending big bucks on 5 stars hotels like Howard Johnson Grand Plaza (which is very good, but also 3 times more expensive), but also get a decent quality of your stay.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a room that does not have windows to the main road. It tends to get noisy other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Endril13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We spent a long weekend exploring Budapest and this was a convenient base. There's nothing very special about the hotel but it's very cheap and perfectly OK.
There's free wireless internet available throughout (and it's fast; speedtest.net gave me a figure of 30Mbit/s for both upload and download - far better than I get in London!)
If you like to have the window open when you're in bed then you'll find it's noisy - there's a main road outside - but the air con works reasonably well so you can leave the windows closed.
The breakfast is a bit odd; you get given a fixed set of items each day but there's plenty of it. Every day there was a chocolate filled croissant, jam, bread, a yoghurt, a cup of coffee and then a variety of items which included cheese slices or portions, salami, pate. I'd have liked more than 1 cup of coffee but that didn't seem to be on offer. The only real problem was that the staff seemed to take the bread out of its packet long before it was served so it was dried out by the time we had breakfast at about 9am,
One small hint - if you're coming on the metro from the centre of Bucharest then stay at the back and come out of that exit from the station; it's then just round the corner to the left to get to the hotel. The metro is fantastic value - 15 lei (about 3GBP buys a week's ticket to go anywhere)
If you want to go shopping then there's a massive hypermarket just across the road but there's nothing much in the way of restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
207 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

This hotel is OK for a night or 2 but head over the road for breakfast. They offer whatever tea they can find, packaged croissant that is about 2 weeks past due, stale bread all provided in a little basket. The room however is quite comfortable with reasonable wireless.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tumbuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
2.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Bucharest
2.2 mi away
JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel
3.0 mi away
Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Christina
Hotel Christina
#1 of 166 in Bucharest
1,122 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Relax Comfort Suites
Hotel Relax Comfort Suites
#101 of 166 in Bucharest
106 reviews
3.1 mi away
Novotel Bucarest City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sir Lujerului? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sir Lujerului

Property: Hotel Sir Lujerului
Address: 1A Virtutii Avenue, Bucharest, Romania
Region: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 121 B&Bs / Inns in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sir Lujerului 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sir Lujerului reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing