We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Europa Royale Bucharest
Ranked #17 of 169 Hotels in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Booked the hotel for a stag do. Price was very reasonable, hotel is very clean, rooms are nice. Staff were helpful, even upgrading the stag to a junior suite, and importantly were very tolerant of c. 20 lads. Above all the location of the hotel is the major selling point, it is on the outskirts of the old town (far enough away to not be rowdy) but close enough to be near to a large proportion of the city's bars are, and backs on to Piata Unirii where you can get a train to anywhere in the city, although the taxis are cheap enough on the meter.

Overall I can not recommend this hotel highly enough, quality, value, service and location all top notch.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank richard2875058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (746)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

360 - 366 of 746 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

Marvellous location at the outskirt of the Old town, just around the corner from Vlad Tepes' Bucharest stronghold. Stayed for two nights. Rooms are clean and spacious, service excellent and wifi above average. Didn't try the restaurant, though.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stylegar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here two nights. Great central location. Looks modern enough inside. Wifi is great. Room newly decorated suspect in past couple of years. Bathroom ok, walk in shower, all very clean.

However it's not up to 4 star Western European standard - no tea/coffee, no gym, basic facilities. Worst thing was an internal atrium facing room - balconette window door would be accessible from the walkway outside. And then it was warm in room - 26 degrees C per the air con unit, which didn't do anything but heat. Slept terribly - got up at 4am and was 29 degrees C and no way to cool down.

Overall wouldn't want to stay here again. Understand hilton or Intercontinental are better for next time!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank TravellingBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Marketed as a business hotel, it's unfortunate this hotel fails the one, basic requirement of a 21st century place for business travelers - reliable internet. So that's the most important thing to know if you're considering this hotel. If you need to be able to do, for example, skype calls with the home office, that won't be possible. Sometimes in the evenings, when all the guests are presumably online, it was even hard to load simple websites.

In an country with the bandwidth and internet speeds of Romania (3rd in the world in recent rankings!) it's pretty inexcusable that the hotel management would cheap out on such a vital necessity.

Otherwise, the hotel is ok. Bed was reasonably comfortable, shower was reliable. There are power outlets next to the bed. (Always surprised how many hotels lack this simple amenity.) It's functional and well-located. Not luxurious, but for the price, you're not expecting that. If they improve internet speeds, it would be a good choice. But until then, worth heading elsewhere.

Room Tip: The rooms on the outside have good views, but for some reason, the rooms on the inside (with a windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katzistan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Perfect location and a lovely hotel. The wonderful Old Town is right next door, with its many many restaurants and interesting building. It's lovely to stroll through this pedestrian area.
It is also possible to walk to the Presentational Palace - don't forget to bring your passport if you visit this insanely large building and I recommend taking the longer tour if you have the time.

Room Tip: Presidential Palace - make sure you take your passport with you, they will keep it while you take th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katrinass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Debated whether to rate this poor or average, but as it is selling itself on 4 star it is poor. If it was sold as 3 star then it would be average. The location is the best point to the hotel unless you have a car. When we checked in we were asked to pay a 50 euro deposit charge, later in the day we ordered coffee from the bar and told we had to pay cash and could not charge to our room. You could not charge anything to the room including the restuarant. The room itself was very clean and minimalistic, only one chair for the 2 of us and a bed that was so low to the floor you could not even sit comfortably on that. There was no kettle or tea/coffee facilities in the room. The also was an awful smell in the bathroom which we were not sure whether this was poor drainage or the cleaning materials. The hotel is ok but if you want a 4 star hotel I would look elsewhere

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

The hotel is great located, in the pedestrian zone in the old city of Bucharest but it can be problem if you come by car. Parking garage is in taxi zone and you will have problems to park your car, especially if police is near. We tried to park three times, trying to explain to police officer that we are hotel's guests but he didn't care. After one hour of driving around the city center we somehow parked after contacting hotel's stuff. It was our first time in Bucharest and the first impression was not so good! The hotel is recently renovated and is pretty cozy, the stuff is polite and willing to provide you a lot of informations and their english is very good. The rooms are spacious but has noisy ventilation and heating system, so after 9 AM it's difficult to sleep because that's the time when ventilation system automatically start to work. The rooms should be better heated, in our room was quite cold. Not the four star hotel that we expected.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klaudio72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
0.5 mi away
K+K Hotel Elisabeta
K+K Hotel Elisabeta
#7 of 169 in Bucharest
947 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rembrandt Hotel
Rembrandt Hotel
#4 of 169 in Bucharest
986 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Bucharest
NH Bucharest
#13 of 169 in Bucharest
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cismigiu
Hotel Cismigiu
#3 of 169 in Bucharest
431 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Bucarest City Centre
0.9 mi away
Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Royale Bucharest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Royale Bucharest

Address: Franceza St 60, Bucharest, Romania
Region: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 169 Hotels in Bucharest
Price Range: £58 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Europa Royale Bucharest 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 19th century building overlooking the Unirii Square, next to "Hanul lui Manuc" restaurant, has become an elegant four star hotel. Europa Royale Bucharest has 92 rooms, tastefully decorated and air-conditioned, 2 conference rooms, a bar and a restaurant. The hotel will offer all facilities for a very enjoyable and relaxing stay. The four star Europa Royale Bucharest Hotel is located in the Old Historical Center of Bucharest, on Franceza Street, one of the oldest streets from Bucharest. A once-glamorous residential area, the old city center, is now being refashioned into an upscale neighborhood. Nowadays, the area is home of many art galleries, antique shops and coffeehouses and now is also home of Europa Royale Bucharest Hotel. The hotel is within walking distance to the government district, most historical and cultural attractions as well as shopping streets, financial district, and downtown entertainment facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Europa Royale Bucharest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing