We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true gem!”
Review of Hotel Scala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Scala
Ranked #2 of 123 Bucharest B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newbury
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A true gem!”
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We stayed here after a week of roughing it and it couldn't be a nicer place. The hotel is comfortable, immediately greeting you at the door with cool air and a pleasant aroma. The staff are all excellent, particularly Ibou, who really went above and beyond. The room service is beyond compare, you really get what you pay for. This truly is the best hotel in Bucharest.

Room Tip: The Opera room has jets in the shower and the tub, plus a nice little balcony and a memory foam bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeafErikson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    39
    6
    5
    11
See reviews for
14
88
16
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Hotel Scala was an excellent choice. It had a wonderful ambience and was full of genuine antiques and pieces of wonderful furniture. Overall it was very special. The building was well cared for, and was clean and top quality. The breakfast was full and varied. The staff were courteous and helpful The hotel had no lift, but our case was carried to our room without us asking. We were upgraded to a suite, and the airconditioning was excellent. Our room was spacious and top notch, including plates of fruit and robes and a super bathroom with marble detail. Although our car was not parked on site, we were able to park within viewing distance of the hotel, and this was free. The 10 minute wak to the old town was pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneMaskell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

This hotel is absolutely beautiful. It is an old building, has been beautifully restored and furnished with exquisite antiques.
Our room was a delight, beautifully decorated and immaculately clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was served in a cheerful breakfast room. Hot dishes were cooked to order. The coffee was excellent.
The in room wi fi was free and worked perfectly.
We cannot fault this hotel and recommend it warmly.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julietheoracle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

The apartment is fabulous, the location of the hotel excellent, in the heart of Bucharest and yet in a silent area, the crew is helpful and friendly, even when we wanted to eat in another restaurant and not in that one from Hotel Scala, they made for us reservations to the other one restaurant. The breakfast was not very consistent, or better say not very inspired, but that doesn't make me to say no more WOW. I'd like to come back here and I think I'll do it. Would I recomment to somebody else? Of course, I already did it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorena2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We had just one night to stay in this drop dead gorgeous hotel located right in the center of Bucharest. When our guide suggested a box hotel, I quickly searched Trip Advisor to find something special rather than the huge, generic hotel nearby. Oh my goodness, this hotel is fabulous.

When you enter, you feel as though you have been transported in to a different world. It is far more lovely than the photos on the Hotel Scala's website.

Our room, it was a HUGE WOW, not a room but an entire suite and so elegant, so spacious with wonderful touches like robes, slippers, shoe shine kit (a real one not one in a plastic wrapper). The bathroom was very very large and well appointed.

We did not eat dinner there but did have a wonderful breakfast the next morning in the lovely breakfast area.

This hotel staff made us feel welcome and we would have loved to stay longer. The location is amazing as all to see is well within walking distance. Boutique hotels like this one are the way to go:-)

Room Tip: I think that any room would be wonderful though ours was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Micheljane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucharest
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

During visiting family in Romania we stayd in this hotel because of a recomodation.
We had the Concerto suite, the suite did feel about being home 2 flatscreens and 3 airconditioning in our room,the crew is very friendly and a big plus is the free wifi internet and breakfast included.
The hotel is very close to the national theatre and metro.
The rooms are not numbered but all roms have a name.
The crew helped us with finding a good japanese restaurant in Bucharest

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1972erickaufman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Since its opening Scala Boutique Hotel was my home and sometimes office in Bucharest for several times.
Coming to SBH either as single guest or with my family (wife and infant child) SBH was and is first and best option.
Comfortable and very clean rooms, good location, very good prices but above all excelent services, all this make SBH (in my opinion) the best option for accomodation in downtown Bucharest no matter if you come hear for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Christina
Hotel Christina
#1 of 167 in Bucharest
1,131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cismigiu
Hotel Cismigiu
#3 of 167 in Bucharest
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Bucarest City Centre
0.6 mi away
Rembrandt Hotel
Rembrandt Hotel
#4 of 167 in Bucharest
950 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Bucharest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Scala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scala

Property: Hotel Scala
Address: Strada Rosetti C.A. 19, Bucharest 020011, Romania
Region: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 123 B&Bs / Inns in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Scala 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scala Hotel Boutique is a destination of reference for all the lovers of the comfort boutique concept. Scala Hotel is more than a place intended for repose, it is a fascinating journey into a world of refinement that aims at perfection. In the 10 rooms and one apartment everything is conceived as a symphony of modern comfort and classic style, to offer a memorable experience, always repeatable. Located in the heart of the city, close to all the major interest points of Bucharest, only 20 m away from Magheru Boulevard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Scala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing