We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb =D”
Review of Epoque Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Epoque Hotel
Ranked #2 of 166 Hotels in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb =D”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed over a short business weekend in room 101. The hotel is clearly quite new, one of the newest I saw in Bucharest. It is fairly small but has everything that's needed. Close to everything but not in a noisy location.

The Spa is great, with a small but adequate pool I was the only person using it which made it very relaxing. Well equipped gym, which I was keen to try out, unfortunately I forgot my shorts! Some tables and loungers were by the pool with a menu. I was never spoken to about ordering anything which was a shame. Others have mentioned the lack of jacuzzi, it would be a welcome addition.

Room 101 was large, comfortable and had the best stocked mini-bar I've ever seen! Heating controls were excellent and very modern.

The bedroom had a huge bed which was let down by polyester sheets. There were three types of pillows. Easy to use safe, convenient plug sockets, Ethernet connections (wireless too) and TV with loads of channels. Room has a window but no view, not really an issue. There is also a dressing table and large wardrobe.

The bathroom has an enormous double shower in the wet room complete with bidet and loo. In the rest of the bathroom there is a large bath and double sinks. Heated floor in the wet room was amazing! Plenty of towels etc.

The reception area in my room had a sofa, coffee table and desk again with convenient power and Ethernet connections. Another larger TV across the room. The room was spoilt by a large empty area between the TV and sofa. A cabinet under the TV would have made it look much less bare. The mini-bar had everything, there was no room left for anything else! Prices for the mini bar put me off, which is a shame as otherwise I would have used it.

Restaurant was good, with a varied French menu and skilled chef. Portions were plentiful and delicious. Breakfast was equally as enjoyable with food cooked to order in addition to buffet. Service was superb.

Bar was well stocked with a friendly knowledgeable bartender open for a chat, which was stopped me from going stir-crazy! Prices were fairly reasonable for the service and quality received. Seating in the bar area was not very relaxing, could have done with a few sofas, I spent less time in the bar purely because of the seating which is a shame.

Concierge staff were incredibly helpful and were always on the end of the phone if anything was needed. I booked a private car for dinner one night, at a very reasonable price.

-1 for value purely because of the high mini-bar prices.
-1 for Sleep Quality because the sheets weren't particularly comfortable.
-1 for spa because of no service.

Everything else was superb. I look forward to staying again/

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 14zz4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana P, Owner at Epoque Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,
I would like to personally thank you for taking so much time to write such a detailed review on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at Epoque Hotel.
I read with great pleasure all the kind words and also your observations, your feedback is extremely important to improve in any aspect we may.
I assure you that all aspects you mentioned have been discussed with our team members, especially the one regarding the bed sheets which are 100% cotton, of course. We are currently checking with our laundry cleaning provider, as it may be an issue related to the cleaning process.
Should you decide to visit Epoque Hotel again, you will be more than welcome and I hope you will notice improvements regarding the aspects you mentioned.
Allow me to wish you Happy Winter Holidays!
Diana Popescu
Owner & CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    624
    87
    25
    4
    6
See reviews for
91
266
57
198
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We were at the hotel for five night, the pool and spa are great , especially when it's cold outside. rooms are clean and nice, we were in a executive suites which was wonderful but small for four people. the food is great, rich breakfast and the restaurant very high level, all the dishes we tried were excellent,
Staff were kind and enthusiastic to help, there is a little problem with the taxi it difficult to find the hotel.
In conclusion highly recommended

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Moriya1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana P, Owner at Epoque Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,
Thank you for posting such a flattering review on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at Epoque.
I passed your compliments to our French Executive Chef and he was very pleased his dishes were highly appreciated, and sends his regards.
We hope we will have the chance to welcome you again in our boutique hotel.
Happy Winter Holidays!

Diana Popescu
Owner & CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2013

It's been several years now and Epoque became my favorite spot when I'm dropping to Bucharest ! Keep going for the best ! The rooms are great the breakfast excellent and the service is at steady 5 stars quality

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bogdan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana P, Owner at Epoque Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Mr Bogdan,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor about Epoque Hotel.
It is always a great honor and pleasure to have you as our guest, and I am really proud we managed to turn Epoque into your "home away from home".

You will always be welcomed here, at Epoque and we look forward to your next visit.

Until then, Happy Holidays!
Diana Popescu
Owner & CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galati, Romania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

All is perfect, Beautiful and confortable large suite, Nice SPA area, Excellent breakfast. Efficient and kind employees
Only two small remarks: a jacuzzi is missing in the SPA area and the first time you come the hotel is a little bit difficult to find

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank parigi m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana P, Owner at Epoque Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,
Thank you so much for posting a review on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at Epoque.
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay, and I would just like to specify that our swimming pool is equipped with powerful under-water bubble jets as well with massage showers, therefore compensating in part the lack of a jacuzzi.
I hope you will return to Epoque with pleasure and next time you will test the bubble jets from our swimming pool.
Kind regards and a big thank you from our team for your kind words.
Diana Popescu
Owner & CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

general impression is good -
arrived in the room at about 4pm
we have reserved trough the hotel site a junior suite per 3 persons
and the reservation department confirmed a free upgrade into an execuitive suite
size of this executive suite is not to be compared to others same level hotel in europe
rate was much cheaper then others same level hotel in europe but we know the cost of the life in romania is not that expensive as in Paris , Rome , London , Milan etc etc

the 3rd bed in the living room was a sofa with folder bed with very thiny materass
(can not say very confortable)

the bath robes and linens and sleepers was prepared only for 1 person

the entrance walls were a bit dirthy and broken ( by luggages of past Guests)

room cleaning was very good

this room 101 was facing to a bad courtyard -
(so no view at all a part an ugly wall with lots of antennas) .

spa , small but very nice and clean (must pay big attention to the wet floor )

breakfast was very good and staff friendly

reception staff polite

location very good near Cismigiu park only minutes by walk to everything

Thank You
Luigi Giammetta

Room Tip: ask a room overlooking the front as this is a very quiet hotel .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luigi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana P, Owner at Epoque Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Mr Luigi,
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at Epoque Hotel.
I really appreciate your detailed review and kind remarks, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our boutique hotel is located in the historical part of Bucharest and it is indeed true that not all the buildings around the hotel are properly renovated, so the view is not astonishing from all rooms.
However, to make your stay as comfortable as possible, as you well noticed, we upgraded you to a superior category - executive suite, and the view from the executive suite we had available at your arrival was with a back view. This is also the reason the towels were not yet ready when you checked in, as the original junior suite was upgraded to executive suite.
I was a bit puzzled to have received from you only three bullets, but I really hope we will have the chance to be your hosts again and to prove ourselves and win five bullets with your next comment.
Best regards,
Diana Popescu
Owner & CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I booked here for a bit of a splurge for the last two nights at the end of a two week trip. Although at $125 a night it hardly even counts as a splurge. The room was actually a very comfortable and well appointed suite. The breakfast buffet (included in the price) was very good. The pool and spa were perfect for relaxing at the end of a long trip. The location is a bit odd for this sort of hotel. It's tucked away at the end of a short street in a quiet residential area. However it's close enough to the metro and only one stop to the central plaza.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aghiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana P, Owner at Epoque Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,
Thank you for posting such a nice review on Tripadvisor regarding you recent stay at Epoque.
I am really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we will have the chance to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Diana Popescu
Owner & CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Helpful staff, perfect location, 10 minutes walk to all interesting places in town. Nice and clean rooms. Breakfast was also excellent with nice coffee, real juices and whatever you can want from a breakfast. Wi-fi is everywhere in the hotel with very good speed. Parking on the street and also under the hotel. Spa looking good (we did not try it) . May be if I have to say something not so good , I did not like the pillows and also prices in restaurant are pretty expensive for Romania , but also reasonable for a 5 star hotel. Hotel is very good choice for all the travellers to Bucharest.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mario_Alexiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana P, Owner at Epoque Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Mr Mario,
It eas a pleasure to have you as our guest and I am grateful you took the time to post such a nice review on Tripadvisor about your recent experience at Epqoue Hotel.
I would like to apologize for the inconvenience with the pillows being too soft, we have a pillow menu available for our guests (including orthopedic pilows), so should you visit us again please do not hesitate to ask for one.
Thank you again for your kind remarks, it is very rewarding for our entire team when our guests are satisfied.
Look forward to having you back at Epoque Hotel.
Kind regards,
Diana Popescu
Owner & CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Christina
Hotel Christina
#1 of 166 in Bucharest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cismigiu
Hotel Cismigiu
#3 of 166 in Bucharest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Grand Hotel Continental
#9 of 166 in Bucharest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Bucharest
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Bucharest
InterContinental Bucharest
#8 of 166 in Bucharest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
0.5 mi away
Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Epoque Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Epoque Hotel

Property: Epoque Hotel
Address: Intrarea Aurora 17C, Bucharest 010213, Romania
Region: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 166 Hotels in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Epoque Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Epoque luxurious boutique hotel is located in the very center of Bucharest, near Cismigiu Central Park, a perfect downtown location for a tourist exploring the city and also for a business person in need of connections to all major business venues of the city. With its 45 suites, a high class restaurant and a luxurious cozy spa, the 5 star Epoque Boutique Hotel has a passion to deliver its guest's satisfaction and exclusive life style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Epoque Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing