We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Epoque Hotel Relais & Chateaux
Nearby Hotels
Crowne Plaza Bucharest(Bucharest)(Great Value!)
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Cismigiu(Bucharest)(Great Value!)
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
NH Bucharest(Bucharest)(Great Value!)
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
K+K Hotel Elisabeta(Bucharest)(Great Value!)
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Christina(Bucharest)(Great Value!)
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$150
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mercure Bucharest City Center(Bucharest)(Great Value!)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Novotel Bucarest City Centre(Bucharest)(Great Value!)
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (885)
Filter reviews
885 results
Traveller rating
742
101
30
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
742
101
30
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscismigiu parkfrench cuisinequiet cul de sacjunior suiteold townbeautiful parksmall poolexcellent hotelliving areaquiet locationspa facilitiesthe heart of the citysteam roombusy citymacaroonsminute walkspecial thanks
Filter
Updating list...
552 - 557 of 885 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Like the previous reviewer, I was also here for Valentine's weekend. Also, we had an excellent time. In particular, would like to give special thanks to Bojan, for sorting out the room. Bogdan, for the wonderful cocktail made for my partner on the Saturday evening. Florin, the concierge, for all of his help & suggestions. Christina & the other receptionist (apologies for not remembering your name), for the quick check in & out. Also, to the 2 gentlemen looking after breakfast in the mornings. The room had was excellent, airy, lots of windows & balcony as well. The spa was excellent, especially enjoyed the sauna & steam rooms. Wifi worked well. Very well situated for exploring by foot of which we did plenty.

Room Tip: Rooms with balconys are airy
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Black_Cavalier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana P, Owner at Epoque Hotel Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Valuable Guest,
I am really glad you enjoyed the Epoque romantic experience and I thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor.
Warm regards from our team, they are all grateful for your kind words, and we all look forward to welcome you again.
The nice Cismigiu park that you mentioned, which is also the oldest park in Bucharest really worths a visit during spring/summer, so your next visit at Epoque is a "must" :)

Kind regards,
Diana Popescu
Owner & CEO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

One of the best hotels in Bucarest. Great room ,good restaurant, nice spa, good location.I visited the hotel many times since opening and will do so in the future too because it offers the best in rooms and services.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank peter30091959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana P, Owner at Epoque Hotel Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Valuable Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding the Epoque experience.
I really appreciate your kind words, it is very rewarding for all of us. But above all, to me the greatest reward is that we managed to gain your loyalty, and turned Epoque into your "home away from home".
Look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards,
Diana Popescu
Owner & CEO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I spent the Valentine's Day weekend with my girlfriend and we had a wonderful time. Staff is friendly, attentive, courteous, and extremely helpful. Room was very well maintained and the bed was extremely comfortable. The food at the restaurant was superb and the breakfasts were tasty and with a lot of choice.

The spa is excellent and we went often and it was never crowded and the couples massage was amazing. The location of the hotel is also excellent. near the old city and right across from a great park. Despite being so central, Epoque is nicely tucked away into a small street and is quiet.

There were a couple of minor things. We didn't receive champagne upon our arrival but it was extremely busy and I think we just got missed. Also, a whirlpool in the spa would be an excellent addition. The pool is nice, but not quite the same.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorontoGuy37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana P, Owner at Epoque Hotel Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Valuable Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding the Valentine's weekend spent with us at Epoque.
I am glad you enjoyes so much the romantic weekend and we managed to raise to your expectations.
Apologies for the small shortcomings, in fact there are two "secret" whirpool buttons inside the pool, hope next time you visit us we will have the chance to reveal them to you :)
Look forward to welcoming you back at Epoque Hotel.
Kind regards
Diana Popescu
Owner & CEO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Back in 2012, we had no idea what to do for New Year's, so we decided very short notice to stay in town (Bucharest) but spoil ourselves a bit. So we booked an overnight at Epoque Hotel, complete with New Year's dinner at their restaurant L'Atelier. Much to our surprise, and although we've done the “post mortem” together repeatedly, neither I nor my husband had anything to complain about...
You will like the rooms/suites - they're small but they're nothing like the norm "boutique hotel" in Bucharest, which normally means stereotypically monotonous "classic" furniture and decorations. In an ambition to break with the said norm, this hotel has tried to tackle the Neo-Romanian architectural style. (If you're not familiar with this, here is a quote, courtesy of unknownbucharest.com: "original style with a specific national character that emerged in the late 19th century and ceased abruptly after the installation of the communist regime. Among the distinguishing features of the style are the massive, stout appearance and the presence of the roofed arcaded veranda, raised usually atop a tower-type structure, having the roof supported by pillars (the Romanian name is “foisor”). They originate in the medieval fortified boyar manor houses (“kullas”), a regional variant of the Ottoman tower houses common in the Balkans. The style also employs Romanian motifs sourced in Wallachian religious architecture. The Neo-Romanian developed mostly in the first decades of the previous century when it was largely used for state-funded public programs, aiming to create an image of national identity.") It has tried and, in our opinion, succeeded. It is refreshing to find white clean minimalism with a local distilled flavor instead of “international opulence”. Beyond decoration, the rooms, which are actually suites, are fully appointed, with very comfy beds. Unfortunately, although made-to-order to match the decoration style, the sofa in the living area is rather uncomfortable. The bathrooms have a really nice set-up (toilet is separated), ours had a large walk-in shower for two. The service is friendly, helpful, prompt. The “spa” is small but you can still pamper yourself with a really exceptional massage (the masseuse we had at the time was by far the best I have ever encountered, really professionally trained) followed by a leisurely dunk in the small swimming pool.
And now we come to the "coup de grace": the restaurant. Let's start by saying that their claiming to be "the best French restaurant in Bucharest" is not arrogant. (OK, maybe just a little.) I have to be honest: I am not such a connoisseur of French cuisine to be able to critique knowingly what we enjoyed that night. But I am enough of a foodie to describe the deliciously harmonious French-fusion creations as “food orgasm”. Over and over again, with each dish. Worth a try for the sensitive taste-buds in need of pampering.
We’ll go back for an extended stay someday to check out the rest, but for a one-night stay, we enjoyed it very much.

Room Tip: Most suites have no balcony.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ioana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana P, Owner at Epoque Hotel Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Valuable Guest,
I cannot thank you enough for taking the time to post such a detailed review regarding the NYE night spent in Epoque Hotel.
I was impressed you are so knoledgeable when it comes to architecture, and I am very grateful for the nice words about our boutique hotel and our team.
All compliments have been passed to our talented French Executive Chef and his team, and he was delighted you enjoyed the special NYE menu he designed.
I must admit I really admire people that respect themselves and even if they live in Bucharest they chose to pamper themselves from time to time, so I hope we will have the chance to welcome you again at Epoque (now that 8th of March is coming :)
Best regards,
Diana Popescu
Owner & CEO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel, very close to Cismigiu Park. Spacious and clean rooms, yet a bit larger bed would be great.

Fast wifi, yet it takes several tries to connect.

Nice restaurant offering french cuisine.

Didnt try the spa facilities, so cannot comment on it.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Intruder3303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana P, Owner at Epoque Hotel Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Valuble Guest,
Thank you for posting a review regarding your recent stay at Epoque Hotel.
I am glad you had an enjoyable stay, and I really hope you will visit us again, as you must try our cosy spa, so that the Epoque experience will be complete.

Kind regards,
Diana Popescu
Owner & CEO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews