We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hard to fault”
Review of Epoque Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Epoque Hotel
Ranked #2 of 166 Hotels in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hard to fault”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights recently and was very impressed. The rooms are well appointed, clean and spacious, the food is of the highest quality and the staff are courteous, friendly and attentive - but without being overbearing. The hotel is also located off any main roads and surprising quiet for a city location. All considered, fantastic value for money. I would definitively stay at the Epoque again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana P, Owner at Epoque Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Valuable Guest,
Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor, we feel very proud we managed to make your stay so pleasant.
I am glad you mentioned our quiet location, as this is our slogan: retreat in the heart of the city!
We look forward to your next visit, it will be a pleasure to have you as our honored guest!
Kind regards
Diana Popescu
Owner & CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    620
    87
    25
    4
    6
See reviews for
91
264
57
197
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plainfield, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I picked Époque as my main stay hotel while on my first trip to Bucharest in almost 25 yrs (was born and raised there) and did I make a fabulous choice with this one ! I absolutely loved the quaint location, nestled in a residential neighborhood yet centrally located, a 2-3 min walk from Cismigiu park. From the moment I arrived, the staff was exceptionally friendly and professional, eager to answer any question I had. I had a lovely suite with a bedroom and a sitting room, bathroom had both a shower and a tub. The breakfast was excellent! Had dinner at the hotel one nite in their French cuisine inspired restaurant - it was delicious and the staff was great ! Dinner Price more comparable with the US (whereas food in Romania seems to be cheap by US standards!) but totally worth it !
Wifi worked great! Super clean and beautiful exterior ! Staff was always attentive. Prompt service in getting cabs as well.
There's a mini market only a couple of blocks away. Minibar items cheap by US standards. Minibar very well stocked! Bummed I didn't have time to use the spa or the pool - guess there's always a next time :) Would stay at this hotel in a heartbeat again ! Loved it !

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HalfPint335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana P, Owner at Epoque Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Valuable Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at Epoque.
I am happy that Epoque made such a great impression on you, especially since this was your first time back to Romania in so many years!
Thank you for all your nice words, it is very rewarding for our entire team. We really look forward to welcoming you back (hopefully sooner that 25 more years :), and next time we will make sure you visit our cosy spa and book a relaxing massage.
Kind regards from Bucharest!
Diana Popescu
Owner & CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We chose Bucharest for a city break off the beaten track and were amazed with this fantastic city and the people. The hotel we chose was based upon feedback from other reviews. A wonderful hotel with first class food and the most friendly staff who cannot do enough to make your stay perfect. The Epoque hotel and Bucharest are the perfect combination for a perfect city break.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana P, Owner at Epoque Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for chosing Epoque Hotel for your city break and for trusting other travellers' genuine opinions posted here.
Bucharest is indeed becoming more and more a vivid city and a preferred city break destination, and I am glad you noticed.
Thank you for your review, it is so nice to see guests are so pleased with the Epoque experience.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to your next visit, why not!?
Kind regards,
Diana Popescu
Owner & CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Was in Bucharest for a wedding and stayed here, we took the weekend package which is get 2 nights and 1 night is free, then we extended for 1 more day. After making the booking online, we had some potential trip changes. During this whole ordeal, the hotel manager was very receptive to my inquiries, such as changing dates, extending dates and potentially changing the name of the reservation to one of our friends. After all this, we just added 1 more day.

The hotel lives up to the words and pictures on their website. We stayed in a junior suite and was given a room with a balcony, really magnificent. Upon arrival, our room was still getting ready so we left our bags and went for a nice walk in the park which is a 2 minute walk away. As we returned, bags were in the room with a bottle of wine and some sweets, nice touch. The room was spacious, really clean, felt like new and comfortable. It has a great layout allowing for a sitting room, desk area and the room of course. With 2 tvs, large armoire, lots of windows and a double-sink, we were more than amazed! The service was always courteous and friendly, breakfast full of great options and a spa area with cool technology. They also have outdoor seating looking for the main entrance which is beautifully landscaped and green.

IF you're staying in Bucharest, shell out a bit more cash and stay here, well worth it. It's also a central location and really safe.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room, they can't guarantee it, but it doesn't hurt to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zkhoja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana P, Owner at Epoque Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for chosing Epoque Hotel and for taking the time to post such a lovely review regarding your recent stay.
We really appreciate the details you mentioned, it shows you really enjoyed your stay and I am proud we delivered such an enjoyable experience.
Should you ever visit Bucharest again, we really hope you will chose Epoque Hotel, we would be honored.
Kind regards,
Diana Popescu
Owner & CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

As others have said,being greeted by a glass of champagne on check in just set the tone for a great stay. Clean, spacious comfortable rooms, fast efficient and free wifi. The staff were all very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The food in the restaurant was superb on the 2 nights we ate in, and for breakfast the waiter knew our egg order by days 2! Very impressive.
One very minor complaint, there was a complimentary bottle of water by my bed, but it was never re stocked. That seems odd when there is such a great level of service on everything else.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Callymac5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana P, Owner at Epoque Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Valuable Guest,
Thank you for chosing Epoque Hotel for your stay in Bucharest, and special thanks for your detailed review posted on Tripadvisor.
I really appreciate your kind remarks and the details you mentioned, your feedback regarding the complimentary water was noted, indeed we only refill the water at request.
Should you ever visit Bucharest, it will be our pleasure to welcome you back here at Epoque.
Kind regards,
Diana Popescu
Owner & CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
655 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Our 3 nights at Époque were a highlight of our month in Eastern Europe. The suites are spacious, new and comfortable and the bathrooms are large and modern. Breakfast was the best buffet of our month - fresh, creative and plentiful (don't miss the berry cobbler!). It was the kind and attentive service from the staff that set this hotel leagues above competitors. Andreea Niculescu and her team deliver kind, caring and attentive service. Robert and Eduard were outstanding concierge/bell staff. All the staff in the restaurant and bar were wonderful and Hermina in the spa is one of the best massage therapists we have been privileged to meet. The spa, sauna, steam room and showers are a nice respite after a day of sightseeing. Thanks to all the staff at Époque for a memorable stay!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Eat-Sleep-Walk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana P, Owner at Epoque Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for such a great review regarding you 3 days stay at Epoque.
I am really proud we managed to make your stay a memorable one. I passed your complimnts to all my colleagues, and all of them - Andreea, Edi, Robert, Hermina, the restaurant staff - they all send their greetings and thanks.
Should Bucharest be again among your future destinations, you will be welcomed back here at Epoque.
Kind regards,
Diana Popescu
Owner & CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

A real retreat in the city. All is on the top. Very comfortable room with very large bed, perfectly clean. Great services. Very attentive staff. Excellent breakfast. No doubt : the best choice in Bucharest.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tianax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana P, Owner at Epoque Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Epoque.
We are really proud you consider our boutique hotel the best choice in Bucharest and really hope to have the chance to welcome you back at Epoque on your future trips to Bucharest.
Kind regards
Diana Popescu
Owner & CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Christina
Hotel Christina
#1 of 166 in Bucharest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cismigiu
Hotel Cismigiu
#3 of 166 in Bucharest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Grand Hotel Continental
#9 of 166 in Bucharest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Bucharest
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Bucharest
InterContinental Bucharest
#8 of 166 in Bucharest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
0.5 mi away
Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Epoque Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Epoque Hotel

Property: Epoque Hotel
Address: Intrarea Aurora 17C, Bucharest 010213, Romania
Region: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 166 Hotels in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Epoque Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Epoque luxurious boutique hotel is located in the very center of Bucharest, near Cismigiu Central Park, a perfect downtown location for a tourist exploring the city and also for a business person in need of connections to all major business venues of the city. With its 45 suites, a high class restaurant and a luxurious cozy spa, the 5 star Epoque Boutique Hotel has a passion to deliver its guest's satisfaction and exclusive life style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Epoque Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing