We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible terrible service”
Review of Torna Fratre

Torna Fratre
Ranked #1,240 of 1,852 Restaurants in Bucharest
Cuisines: Romanian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible terrible service”
Reviewed 29 November 2012

We were there to celebrate the birthday of a close friend. Some of us arrived around 9pm and were surprised when, at 22:40, the waiter very rudely told us that they are closing at 23:00 and we should order one last round and hurry home. On the restaurant website, the closing hour is 24:00 and they even mention that if a some clients want to stay a bit longer (like one hour), they would happily oblige. And no, we weren't there to drink a beer for 2 hours, our check was quite large by local standards.

I was there 2 times before that, one time was good, second time was kinda awful (waiters ignoring us for half hour), but this third time really was the definite worst and convinced me to not ever go there again.

So despite the food being decent, I cannot recommend this place to anyone. Was a ruined night for us and I started to understand why more than of restaurants go bankrupt after less than year on average.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank tatalor79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    20
    11
    1
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious food, great service, irresistible local drinks”
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Whenever we travel to a country we try to find new restaurants serving local food. Even though Bucharest does not lack them ("Carul cu Bere" is probably the most famous), we found that many loose their original strive for perfection as they become successful or very well known. Therefore, being that the food at "Carul cu Bere" was a little disappointing the day before, we asked around and were told the new "Torna Fratre" deserves a look, and indeed the experience was gratifying. The location is good, close to the center, on a newly paved street. The rooms are small but nicely decorated. The service was great from the start and the small little local drinks (caisata, vishinata, afinata) were irresistible to the point where we ended up loosing count. The food was delicious; almost everything we ordered came on time, hot and was flavorful. The Menu is rich in every category and we enjoyed the varied appetizers specific to the country. We will definitely put it on our list to visit it again and hoping it will not let the quality of either the food or the service go down.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Silvia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
“Just Great.”
Reviewed 15 December 2011

An excellent restaurant where we ate the most delicious food in Romania. We warmed up with a traditional Maramures brandy and drank wine from Oltenia region. Incredibly tasty food, good service and live traditional music played by a traditional Romanian folk music made ​​us feel great, like in another world, or at other times. Thanks to those two friendly waiters.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bogdan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Torna Torna Fratre”
Reviewed 7 October 2011

The place definitely deserves its slogan. The food is excellent, the portions are generous and the staff is very kind and attentive. An off-the-beaten-path restaurant that is worth the visit.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MitzaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Torna Fratre also viewed

 
Bucharest, Romania
 
Bucharest, Romania
 

Been to Torna Fratre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing