We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but really nice hotel”
Review of Boutique Monaco

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bucharest
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Boutique Monaco
Ranked #56 of 169 Hotels in Bucharest
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is around a 15 minutes walk from the old town. It's right besides a park. The room was small, but otherwise really nice and offered everything that I needed. Very friendly staff and a nice breakfast buffet. Free Wi-Fi was working like a charm. I really recommend that you make the free Guided Bucharest Walking Tour if you have some 3 hours to spare (google it, or the hotel might have flyers)!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerrios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

I've pick this hotel because was close to the location I needed to go and it seams that I took a great decision. The rooms are very clean, nice personal. Everybody from reception are eager to help you and they can give you a detailed indication if you want to go to eat or to visit. The prices are very good and the quality of services are excellent. For sure I will come back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Istrate_Cristian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights last October and we really enjoyed the accommodations and the location . We had the annexe which is by the street but surprisingly quiet ! It seems to be bigger than the other rooms for the same price and there is a table with chairs just outside where one sip a coffee in the morning or a beer at apero time . The only minus of the annex is that the WIFI did not work in the room .
The hotel is located at the limit of the Embassy Quarter so it is a safe environment . The Italian Embassy was just on the other side of the street . There are 2 metro stations nearby and also 2 HOHO stations that we found very useful .
There are also groceries and restaurants nearby and the staff was very helpful at providing recommandations . Breakfast is above average and on the morning we had to leave , it was served 45 minutes earlier so that we could enjoy it !
For the price , it is hard to get a better deal !

Room Tip: The annex seems to be a better deal !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank belleretraite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We picked this hotel because it was small and looked as if it had character, and was situated in a good location for sightseeing as a lot was within walking distance and there are two metro stops close to hand.

We had the only room with a balcony, and can imagine that in summer this would be great for sitting outside as the evening cools down - at this time of year it wasn't as attractive given the wind chill! The room was a good size, large comfortable bed with extra pillows available, and a key operated safe in the wardrobe. The only thing that I personally missed was access to tea/coffee making facilities but that was a minor issue.

Breakfast was fine, a range of cooked meats and cheeses, yoghurt, cereal, bread for toast, juice, coffee and croissants. Omelettes can be made on request. Whilst some reviewers have said that the scope is meagre, I would have to disagree and simply state that the range is no different than most European hotels.

We found all the staff to be really helpful and friendly (despite the trying behaviour of a few of the guests) and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Highly recommended!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We have just spent two night at this lovely hotel in Bucharest. It was easily the best part of our visit - Bucharest, while an interesting city historically is a pretty untidy, even grubby, place. The Vila Monaco on the other hand was beautiful - lovely classy furnishings, modern bathroom, comfortable bed and immaculately clean. And a big bonus - our room No 104) opened onto a large terrace, in fact we had exclusive use. It was a perfect spot for sipping beer after sight-seeing. Maria greeted us on arrival and made us feel welcome, and was helpful with showing us how things worked and where to go for dinner. The hotel provided a detailed tourist map and guide book for Bucharest. We were able to get WiFi in the lobby (no signal in the room) but did not find that inconvenient. There were a number of English speaking TV channels - a surprise since in most other places we had visited we could only get CNN. Breakfast was served in the charming breakfast room and had the usual selection of foods provided in Europe, with personal service for cooked food (eggs). We would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Bucharest for its beautiful accommodation and also easy proximity to all of the historic places.

Room Tip: Ask for room 104 - it has a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

A well-appointed 10-room inn across from the Hungarian Embassy on a relatively quiet street yet within walking distance of the sights. Welcoming staff and excellent buffet breakfast. Room 201 was on the top floor--quiet, adequate size, updated bath and good WiFi. A few reasons I did't give 5 stars: hot water took a long time (at least 5 minutes to reach the top floor, shower floor was not textured and consequently very slippery, bulb burned out in bath so rather dim, and to prevent guests from making long-distance calls, room phone is turned off making it difficult to call desk and might be a problem in an emergency.

Room Tip: Top floor slow to get hot water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AcePortland_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this little hotel. The room was great (we were in the annex) the breakfasts were excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful. Great location close to the old city and not too far to walk to the main station!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gwynne8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cismigiu
Hotel Cismigiu
#3 of 169 in Bucharest
448 reviews
0.5 mi away
Amzei Hotel
Amzei Hotel
#69 of 169 in Bucharest
91 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Boutique Hotel Moxa
Le Boutique Hotel Moxa
#21 of 169 in Bucharest
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Rembrandt Hotel
Rembrandt Hotel
#4 of 169 in Bucharest
1,000 reviews
1 mi away
Epoque Hotel
Epoque Hotel
#2 of 169 in Bucharest
836 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Bucharest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Monaco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Monaco

Address: Strada Jean Luis Calderon, Bucharest 020039, Romania
Region: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 169 Hotels in Bucharest
Price Range: £40 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing