We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“BBQ mici” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Cocosatu

La Cocosatu
Ranked #173 of 1,728 Restaurants in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue, Eastern European, Romanian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“BBQ mici”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stopped here after a long day driving around Romania, and were so hungry, we kept ordering 2 more mici (pronounced meech), which were soft savory sausages, barbequed out front by the owner. I also recommend the crunchy corn flake covered chicken schnitzel. Service was slow due to the free for all nature of the waiter assignments to the tables. Loved the food and the prices were quite reasonable. We ate outside on a lovely day. The view was of the parking lot, though.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Quizene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    23
    10
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Typical average Romanian food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

The good: French fries which really are baked potatoes were very good, soups were alright, "mititei" not too bad.
The bad: Cheap looking place, service is average, you have to wait a long time, waiters are largely indifferent, very poor selection of soft drinks. They don't have tea!
Will not come again.

Helpful?
1 Thank CornelA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
223 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“not the best mititei and the worst service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We came for lunch because we heard about the mititei .
The waiters are rude and arrogant ,they do not care if you sit or stay ,when we paid the bill ,the waiter decided to deduct the tip by himself .That made us ask all the money ,until the last penny ,due to his rudeness and also to the fact that the service was bad and slow.
The food is tasty but I suppose they use chemicals for the mititei and we were sick until the next day.
Not that cheap for such a dump.
Do not recommend this place!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank wlaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
75 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

If your are thinking on visiting the place because you heard you can eat the best "mici" here, forget about it.
The atmosphere is terrible, the air is full of smoke (from the grill and from the cigarrets), service is not very good... there's no reason for coming here

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Eva P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Not good for tourist”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

Overpriced for tourist. Staff don't speak English. Very rude and they had the guts to charge me 10 lei for bread that supposed to be free. Not recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank PilikaiHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Cocosatu also viewed

 

Been to La Cocosatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing