We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the top restaurants of Bucharest!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Cantine de Nicolai

La Cantine de Nicolai
Ranked #120 of 1,750 Restaurants in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
106 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“One of the top restaurants of Bucharest!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Nicolai, owner and Chef! Perfect host, lot's of heart and soul. You will have a beautifull experience and a real joy to try the dishes! Don't miss it if you travel around the city.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Triumph200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    32
    16
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eu, France
Level Contributor
449 reviews
318 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Simply the best in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Where modern art meets good food. Maybe the best restaurant in town. Done and maintained with care and attention. It’s a surprise that it’s still at the top after so many years, when other restaurants are closing, opening and so on. I didn’t have the chance to try the terrace, but I heard only good things. The service was very good, intelligent, solving unscheduled number of guests, not disturbing, calm. In one word; professional. The food was good, even more, with a higher touch. Heard that one of the partners is now a judge in the country’s top chef jury TV show. Good wine list. I strongly recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Valentin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano
Level Contributor
415 reviews
236 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Perfect for a special event”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

I have been there for the first time to celebrate my birthday and it was a good idea. The food is excellent, the atmosphere very nice. Last but not least, the owner offered us a glass of wine for the birthday. It is rather expensive for Bucharest but worth the price.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank leonardo_1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Went here for birthday celebration, and it was worth it! Great atmosphere, great service, great food. I recommend it when you want a quiet dinner and a great desert :)
I will come back here gladly!

Helpful?
Thank Liviuberny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
232 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great service but a bit pricy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

I liked this place quite a lot but for the prices they are charging I would have expected wow food. The dishes were tasty, good sizes but nothing really special: the tuna was just normal, the onion soup a bit too sweet.

Helpful?
Thank corina0210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Cantine de Nicolai also viewed

 
Bucharest, Romania
Bucharest, Romania
 
Bucharest, Romania
 

Been to La Cantine de Nicolai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing