We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Bucharest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 166 Hotels in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Beautiful Bucharest”
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Very grand Grand Hotel which is part of the flagship JW range of Marriott's. This is a huge, classic hotel with very impressive reception and restaurant areas. There are a number of restaurants and shops within the property as well as a casino and leisure complex.

The rooms were luxurious and spacious and I had a view of the immense Parliament building opposite. However, the location is a little way out of the city centre. I was on a short and busy business trip so didn't mind so much, though this would be a factor if I was there as a tourist.

As such I only saw the city from the back of a taxi. It is a very bustling and beautiful city and I can see why it has the nickname "Paris of the east". Very wide tree lined boulevards with many grand buildings. Interspersed with properties either unfinished or in disrepair - I guess a hangover from the communist era.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Parliament, the ones on the other side face a car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farnham_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    691
    357
    77
    25
    26
See reviews for
99
222
91
600
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

I stayed here recently during a business trip to attend a conference at the hotel and was really impressed. I had an executive room which gave me access to the executive lounge 24/7 with complimentary snacks and drinks. The hotel restaurants were great - particularly the Lebanese one on the ground floor and the steak house. Wonderful breakfasts and really nice staff, large rooms and very clean. It got a bit noisy in the corridors at night but nothing horrendous.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room if you are worried about noise in the corridors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BizTravAnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
152 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Stayed for 3 nights on business. Service is polite and friendly, if perhaps not quite up there with JW in London, but still very very good. Yet another "plus" in the overall experience I had with Marriotts.

Rooms are very large, and HVAC is good, doesn't dry out throat or skin. Taxi ride to the old town, can be some time in morning rush hour.

Hotel is very grand and lavish in appearance.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Norski_Rus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Marriott hotels are usually good hotels to stay at but I think this one is not only the best Marriot hotel I have been to but one of my top 20 of all hotels. The location is not the best if I should pick some negative parts but the building is just fantastic

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eggertsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
İstanbul, Türkiye
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2011

You can try to test Angus Meat. It was delicious.

You can also try to test Itilian kitchenette.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HAKANAYDINGLOBALIST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

The hotel is close to the “House of People,” park Izvor and Old Town attractions. It is located within 10-15 minutes walking distance or $5 cab ride. You can check in for your flight and print boarding passes at the hotel lobby. If you are staying at this hotel for the first time and the hotel is not overbooked, they will upgrade your room to a nicer one with a better view. The rooms and bathrooms are big, the beds are very comfortable, there is a big plasma TV in the room, very good breakfast (not included into the broom rate), and very polite personnel. We did not purchase a room rate with Internet and breakfast included. The breakfast can be purchased off the menu for a better price (unless you want a buffet). The menu has omelets, waffle and pancakes, egg benedict, egg Florentine, poached eggs, and so forth. The cab rides within the city limits are very inexpensive; just make sure you ask the cab driver to turn the meter on.
There are countless places to eat in Old Town, we liked dinners at “Malagamba” restaurant.

Room Tip: If you are staying at this hotel for the first time and the hotel is not overbooked, they will upgra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lvw24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed here for one week during our last part of relocation. Finally we found a hotel in Europe that has the size of the room equal to the ones in North America. As well, 2 queen beds were really queen. So, as i said, rooms are huge, same as bathroom, with both bathtub and separate shower, nice amenities, very comfy beds, big plasma tv in the room, very good breakfast, very polite personnel every where, huge and very nice lobby.
The only things that I did not like were: nothing special on the outside, it looks like all the communist blocks in the area (everything changes once you enter the lobby), no free internet. (we had de luxe room- I guess it is free if you choose club room), a little bit out of the city downtown area, though it is still considered very central.
All in all, we had a very good time and I really reccomend it.

Room Tip: choose club level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dumid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Bucharest
1.4 mi away
Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest
1.5 mi away
InterContinental Bucharest
InterContinental Bucharest
#7 of 166 in Bucharest
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Epoque Hotel
Epoque Hotel
#2 of 166 in Bucharest
751 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Christina
Hotel Christina
#1 of 166 in Bucharest
1,121 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Cismigiu
Hotel Cismigiu
#3 of 166 in Bucharest
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel

Property: JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel
Address: Calea 13 Septembrie 90, Bucharest 050726, Romania
Region: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bucharest
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bucharest
#5 Business Hotel in Bucharest
#10 Family Hotel in Bucharest
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand in every way, the JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel surrounds you with luxury and elegance, befitting the chosen hotel of European royalty, international dignitaries and music stars. Prestigiously located next to the stunning Parliament Palace, the hotel "city within a city" complete with shopping gallery and casino, state-of-the-art fitness and spa center. The 402 guest rooms and suites, the largest in Bucharest, offer everything the traveling executive requires and feature exquisite bedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Bucharest
Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel
Bucharest Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing