We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 166 Hotels in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I always prefer big hotels when I travel for business and try different ones when I visit the same city on multiple occasions. Bucharest gives a few to chose from, and I would rate the Marriott as high as the Hilton and better than the Radisson. The Bucharest Marriott is a grand hotel as the title suggests with a huge white marble lobby to match the title. Indeed impressive. The room was huge, very comfortable. The bed and linens of high quality. The bathroom equally huge with a shower and a separate bathtub. Standard amenities, had to call for sleepers. The business lounge adequate, nothing to rave about though. Location is next to the mountain of a building the parliament. You will need to catch a taxi ride to go restaurants bars etc.. but that is not an issue, the are (usually) quite cheap in Romania. I took breakfast in the lounge and it was the usual limited efficient fair, but I am sure the proper one in the restaurant must be huge. Overall a very comfortable hotel, with some true luxury features which will warrant a good stay. Recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkomis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    675
    351
    75
    24
    24
See reviews for
99
215
87
588
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed here for business. This is a fairly typical, if a little below par, JW Marriott. Big, elegant hotel with huge, grand reception and large rooms. The room I stayed in was in need of a little TLC, and my colleague also said the same. There is a very good, commercial gym downstairs, and a casino as well as two restaurants. Staff were friendly and helpful. Biggest downside here is hotel is pretty far out of the city center, and can take a while depending on traffic. One morning it took almost an hour to get the office because of traffic (standard trip time was about 20 minutes for comparison). Breakfast was great, big selection. I ate at the steakhouse one night and it was average, expensive when compared with what you could get in the city. Hotel was ok, but wouldn't stay here again if returning to Bucharest, just too far out.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cussmuppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Igael_Porecki, General Manager at JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments as they greatly assist us in offering and improving our services.

Nevertheless, I would advise you to consult out Concierge Team for any location details as they will always be at your disposal for any needed information.

Looking forward to welcoming you again at JW Marriott bucharest Grand Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

As you walk in your always greeted by the staff, Checkin was pretty quick and easy, there was some language issues between me and the staff but she got what I was trying to say.

The room was a stand marriott room, I got access to the lounge which was pretty decent. Free soft drinks is always handy.
Breakfast is the normal fully loaded business, what you want you will get. The morning staff are always smiling and remember you which is nice when your traveling alone.

Gym is the best thing about this hotel and the main reason I stay here. its a fully equip gym with not so helpful/friendly staff but no biggy.

They have a really decent steak restaurant in the hotel and a really decent coffee bar. They have the champs bar and the staff are really nice.. I got there on Sunday and wanted to watch some Premiership games (footy), they found me a channel and set me up in a decent place so i could hear the game.
Food was decent, but pretty expensive to be honest.

The hotel is pretty far from town, one evening we walked back from town to the hotel which took a good 30 minutes and we had to go via park. When we told the staff they said best not to do that again.

There is a Hilton in town where my work mate stay, they say its better then the Marriott on value for money.

I normally get to stay here 2 or 3 times a year. Each time its the same deal with service and the room. Being a JW, you would expect something extra but its not. San Mateo Marriott is just as good

Room Tip: Watch the dogs, stay at the rear of the hotel the front is on a main road and pretty manic with nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuckyHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Igael_Porecki, General Manager at JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your remarks and for the time spent in providing us your feedback.

On behalf of my team I would like to tell you that we are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us. At he same time I would like to let you know that our Front Office team could anytime advise you about the hotel area and places to visit near the hotel.

We do hope that you will visit us again and that we will have the opportunity to make your stay a memorable one.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnston, Iowa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

This is my first negative review of any Marriott property. I just returned from an 18 day tour in Europe. Our tour group stayed at the JW Marriott in Bucharest, Romania for two nights. I am a member of the Marriott rewards program, but not at their top level. If you like your room extra hot, can't even use a sheet at night hot, then this is the place for you. The first night we asked for help and they said they'd fix it. They did not. The second night we asked them to come to the room and see how hot it was. The maintenance man turned the cooling system to "hot" and said that should do it. He said that since the heat was not on, that would cool it down. Of course it did not and again we roasted all night long. The two worst nights sleep on our entire trip. Since I was hot and unhappy, I did not read the fine print on their internet. I thought it said it was free if you were a Marriott rewards member. Not so, had to be a top member (gold?). So I got stuck with a $32 bill to send one e-mail. The employees at this Marriott were extremely untypical of your Marriott employees. They truly did not care. Maybe it was because I was a member of the tour group. None the less, I cannot recommend this hotel to anyone; unless you really like extreme heat and an employee group that is average at best.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mark c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Igael_Porecki, General Manager at JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your feedback and we assure you that your comments are helping us in improving the quality of services we provide to our guests.

We deeply regret the experience you had and we offer our sincere apology. Please be sure that we made sure that such issues would not happen in the future and that our respective managers are informed.

I really hope that we will host you again and restore your faith in our hotel and service tea.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

It's a JW Marriott, but not the same class as the Bangkok, Manila, Seoul, or Kuala Lumpur JWs. Looks like it used to be an old communist hotel...big and not much personal charm on the inside. The afternoon executive lounge was ok..again, not as good as some of the Asian JWs I have stayed in. Seemed like a good location..but Bucharest is a odd type town. Don't think I could keep my family engaged there more than two days. Overall, I would stay Here again, but the city and hotel are not destination areas I would go out of my way to go to again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank JKL0802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I stayed 4 nights at the this hotel during a business trip. The hotel is in a big building and the rooms including bath room are quite spacious. The service is generally ok, the breakfast, however, made the whole experience average. The room is quite noisy and the some of the staff are either not very or too attentive (it's a bit annoying if you still chew on something and the waiter removes already one's plate). Also, the selection of food is quite dull and hearty Romanian specialties are lacking. I expect a hotel of this category to do better!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonSEAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Igael_Porecki, General Manager at JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback related to your stay in our hotel and for the time allocated with it.

We are sorry to hear about the issues related to our staff and with the food but let me assure you that we are permenantly train our employees and we are doing our utmost to meet your requirements.

Information for further enhancements are always welcome and I am looking forward to welcome you back at JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel.

All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We just returned from ten days staying at the Marriott in Bucharest. From the moment we arrived until we left we were met with outstanding service. Each morning we enjoyed a breakfast buffet with excellent variety - included in our hotel cost. Our room was very quiet, bright and clean. We wanted advice on seeing the city as well as touring the countryside. The Concierge, Monica Isarie, provided us with very helpful information and arranged day trips for us. She made sure our guide knew the area, the history and could speak English. Florin, our driver/guide, looked after all our travels including taking us back to the airport very very early in the morning. Monica and Florin helped us sample excellent traditional Romanian cuisine and wine.
We do a lot of travelling and the service provided at the Bucharest Marriott is probably the best we have had anywhere.

Room Tip: We were with friends on this trip. Their rooms and ours were 'Standard' - very spacious, br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTravellerYYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Bucharest
1.4 mi away
Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest
1.5 mi away
InterContinental Bucharest
InterContinental Bucharest
#8 of 166 in Bucharest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Christina
Hotel Christina
#1 of 166 in Bucharest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
0.9 mi away
Epoque Hotel
Epoque Hotel
#2 of 166 in Bucharest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Grand Hotel Continental
#9 of 166 in Bucharest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel

Property: JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel
Address: Calea 13 Septembrie 90, Bucharest 050726, Romania
Region: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bucharest
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bucharest
#5 Business Hotel in Bucharest
#10 Family Hotel in Bucharest
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand in every way, the JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel surrounds you with luxury and elegance, befitting the chosen hotel of European royalty, international dignitaries and music stars. Prestigiously located next to the stunning Parliament Palace, the hotel "city within a city" complete with shopping gallery and casino, state-of-the-art fitness and spa center. The 402 guest rooms and suites, the largest in Bucharest, offer everything the traveling executive requires and feature exquisite bedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Bucharest
Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel
Bucharest Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing