We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent high end business hotel, next to the Bucharest Palace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel
Ranked #9 of 170 Hotels in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The JW Marriott Bucharest is a great example of a high end business hotel : outstanding and elegant facilities and rooms, and great, professional service.
Breakfast in particular is amazing - one of the best I have ever experienced (and I visited hundreds of hotels around the world), with an extensive, excellent buffet.
The location is interesting: the hotel is directly across the Bucharest Palace of Parliament (a.k.a. Caucescu's House of People), and many rooms face the Palace (second largest building in the world after the Pentagon). Nice.
The Bucharest Old Town is just 5 min taxi ride or 20 min walk.
So... A great, high end "standard" hotel. When you're inside, you get the exact same feeling you would in any other large top end chain business hotel - if that's what you are looking for then the JW Marriott Bucharest is for you. I.e., this is NOT a boutique hotel.
=> highly recommended - if this is the type of hotel you are looking for.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank Didier C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

645 - 651 of 1,317 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night at the hotel but had to check out due to the rude staff who shouted at my wife for trying to open her hand bag. The same courtesy towards not extended to the German patron next to her. The gym staff told us to return towels at the counter as if we would steal them. Being a marriot member this was a disappointing experience. Never going back to this sub average five star

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
8  Thank Vivan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Igael_Porecki, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback related to your stay at our hotel.

I am sorry you left our hotel disappointed and I will be very grateful if you could give us more information about the issue you brought to our attention in order to be able to investigate the situation.

I do hope we will have the opportunity to host you again at JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel and to convince you about the high quality of our services.

Sincerely yours,
Corina Tomescu,
Guest Relations Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This is my second trip to the same hotel. I had the same fantastic service as I had before. Great lobby with many outstanding shops,delicious breakfast and of course great service. This time a nice lady Monica Isarie at the reception was very helpful and made our things very easy. All her suggestions were super as shopping center Afi Palace,restaurants etc.. I will take more groups in the future to this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank fatiha2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

elegant, very good located, pleasant choice of stay while touring the city.
comfortable rooms and a very good service. the staff was friendly and helpful, with a welcoming attitude. had a bad experience with one of the taxi drivers .

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anatzil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel would be a level 9 if it were in Western Europe or London. The building is grand and impressive. The lobby is like a sleek white and black marble cathedral, with soaring ceilings and columns - just beautiful! High end retail extends in the wings Reception clerks are efficient and welcoming. There is a spacious grand staircase between floors as well as the elevators if you are only shuttling between a floor or two. The room was an "Executive Grand" which meant space for a full living room ensemble and second TV. It was elegantly appointed with a top quality bed. The bathroom included a walk in shower and a separate tub. Lovely marble and top grade fixtures - everything one would expect from a superior JW. The Concierge lounge was the elegant retreat it is supposed to be, with excellent breakfast and evening hors d'oeuvres buffets. The attendants were friendly, helpful and promptly replenished the bar and buffet. It is quiet, relaxing (and not overrun and noisy as so many lounges are these days). The fitness center is actually a club with local members and is well equipped with a pool, jacuzzi, steam and sauna in the changing rooms - quite elegant and upscale. This hotel easily earns five stars. At this price, it should probably get a sixth star!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hamish P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Igael_Porecki, General Manager at JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time spent to share with us your opinion. I am very happy to see that we met your expectations and that you had a great stay with us.

I will for sure share it with my team and I would very much like to have you again with us soon!

Sincerely yours!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The JW in Bucharest has much to commend it -- wonderful staff, super clean and quality rooms, great breakfast. The rooms, even the non-exclusive ones, are very comfortable and well attended. But, one is "nickeled and dimed" to death with exorbitant charges for insignificant things. Now, admittedly, I just stayed at the JW in Baku Azerbaijan, so I got a taste of what a 5-star is all about. This hotel is close, but not quite there. Didn't like the location that much, as it was a fair distance from anything interesting. And while the rooms were very, very clean, there was nothing particularly different or unique or "outstanding" about them.
All of this being said, it is still a very nice hotel. I would highly recommend it...but, you may get a better deal by going elsewhere...and not just the savings part, but those special little extras one expects at a 5-star hotel.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank Walkintall26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This is a great hotel, as one would expect from a J.W.Marriott, and the staff couldn't have been more friendly and efficient. BUT, we had one of the worst meals (chicken) I've ever eaten. Indeed, it was a large group, but it was in a banquet hall where they should be equipped to service large groups.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank suburban-countess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Igael_Porecki, General Manager at JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your impressions.

I am happy to see that you enjoyed your experience with us, at the same time I am sorry to hear about your food experience.
I can assure you that is an isolate case and I do hope to welcome you again and show you the high quality of our products and services.

All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Bucharest
1.4 mi away
Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest
1.5 mi away
InterContinental Bucharest
InterContinental Bucharest
#5 of 170 in Bucharest
1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Epoque Hotel
Epoque Hotel
#2 of 170 in Bucharest
848 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sheraton Bucharest Hotel
Sheraton Bucharest Hotel
#11 of 170 in Bucharest
415 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Cismigiu
Hotel Cismigiu
#3 of 170 in Bucharest
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel

Address: Calea 13 Septembrie 90, Bucharest 050726, Romania
Region: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bucharest
#5 Business Hotel in Bucharest
#5 Family Hotel in Bucharest
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bucharest
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bucharest
Price Range: £74 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand in every way, the JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel surrounds you with luxury and elegance, befitting the chosen hotel of European royalty, international dignitaries and music stars. Prestigiously located next to the stunning Parliament Palace, the hotel "city within a city" complete with shopping gallery and casino, state-of-the-art fitness and spa center. The 402 guest rooms and suites, the largest in Bucharest, offer everything the traveling executive requires and feature exquisite bedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Bucharest
Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel
Bucharest Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing