We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 171 Hotels in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
Afula, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

stayed at the hotel with a group from work for 4 days came to Bucharest.
Bucharest is very hot in August, but at the Marriott all nice and relaxed.
Large comfortable rooms, great breakfast, excellent service trunks.
If you want to bet there is a 24-hour casino hotel.
Bucharest pleasantly surprised me and nightlife that the city is undergoing development.
People drive to Bucharest !!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nir l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    648
    341
    70
    23
    22
See reviews for
96
207
82
568
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

I attended several conferences at Marriot, and every time I was impressed by the food and the conferences rooms. Service was always more than decent and you always feel welcomed. Some of the rooms I stayed in were a little bit small, but others were just great.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniela O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel is, undoubtedly, the best hotel Bucharest can offer. Everything about it has the right dose of classiness, comfort and charm. Throughout the years, I couldn't think of a single thing I didn't enjoy about this place, and, right now, I feel the same as I always did.
The building is outstanding, both on the outside and on the inside. The massive columns which stand by the staircases add to the hotel's grandeur, the said staircases giving the feeling of a scene from a fairytale ballroom.The rooms are extremely clean and spacious and the beds are a real pleasure to sleep in(you can literally dive into the sheets!!! Marriott beds are the most comfortable ones ever!). The staff is very friendly and ready to help you anytime.Also, the hotel hosts several luxury shops, which are very expensive but, nevertheless, provide for a nice walk inside the building.
But the most spectacular "attractions" of this hotel are, by far, its amazing restaurants: Cucina for the Italian in you, JW Steakhouse for delicious steaks and others and Champions, Marriott's classic American restaurant. While I did enjoy Champions, I definitely believe that the other two restaurants I mentioned are better, in comparison. Also, both Cucina and JW Steakhouse are among the best restaurants in Bucharest, critically acclaimed and hosts to a variety of spectacular events, such as New Year's Eve parties or various foodie events, which are certainly not to be missed. Needless to say, the food is fantastic and has a great taste, the taste of food into which a great deal of professional effort is being put, every single time. Another great place to relax is Marriott's Vienna Café, offering wonderful cakes and pastry products, which are also available to-go. And since I talked about the events which are being organized here, I would heartily recommend you to attend one, if you have the possibility. You will definitely not regret it.
The hotel's location is good, conveniently situated near the Palace of Parliament, one of Bucharest's key locations. Lots of taxis await you in front of the hotel, should you want to visit the town in detail.
In conclusion, this JW Marriott charms with top-notch services and an atmosphere which is harder and harder to create or to reproduce. Of course, we are talking about expensive matters, but you will be offered a great deal of quality, even more than you initially hoped for. You will want to come back, time and time again. How marvelous!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rorschach, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Probably the top Hotel in Bucarest. First class in every aspect. Excellent and spacious rooms, superb staff. I could recommend the hotel to anyone, in particular also the Italian Restaurant on the first floor.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Centovalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

The JW Marriott Bucharest is a great example of a high end business hotel : outstanding and elegant facilities and rooms, and great, professional service.
Breakfast in particular is amazing - one of the best I have ever experienced (and I visited hundreds of hotels around the world), with an extensive, excellent buffet.
The location is interesting: the hotel is directly across the Bucharest Palace of Parliament (a.k.a. Caucescu's House of People), and many rooms face the Palace (second largest building in the world after the Pentagon). Nice.
The Bucharest Old Town is just 5 min taxi ride or 20 min walk.
So... A great, high end "standard" hotel. When you're inside, you get the exact same feeling you would in any other large top end chain business hotel - if that's what you are looking for then the JW Marriott Bucharest is for you. I.e., this is NOT a boutique hotel.
=> highly recommended - if this is the type of hotel you are looking for.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Didier C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night at the hotel but had to check out due to the rude staff who shouted at my wife for trying to open her hand bag. The same courtesy towards not extended to the German patron next to her. The gym staff told us to return towels at the counter as if we would steal them. Being a marriot member this was a disappointing experience. Never going back to this sub average five star

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Vivan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Igael_Porecki, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback related to your stay at our hotel.

I am sorry you left our hotel disappointed and I will be very grateful if you could give us more information about the issue you brought to our attention in order to be able to investigate the situation.

I do hope we will have the opportunity to host you again at JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel and to convince you about the high quality of our services.

Sincerely yours,
Corina Tomescu,
Guest Relations Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
istanbul
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

This is my second trip to the same hotel. I had the same fantastic service as I had before. Great lobby with many outstanding shops,delicious breakfast and of course great service. This time a nice lady Monica Isarie at the reception was very helpful and made our things very easy. All her suggestions were super as shopping center Afi Palace,restaurants etc.. I will take more groups in the future to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fatiha2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Bucharest
1.4 mi away
Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest
2.0 mi away
Hotel Christina
Hotel Christina
#1 of 171 in Bucharest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
InterContinental Bucharest
InterContinental Bucharest
#7 of 171 in Bucharest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
0.9 mi away
Epoque Hotel
Epoque Hotel
#2 of 171 in Bucharest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Grand Hotel Continental
#8 of 171 in Bucharest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel

Property: JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel
Address: Calea 13 Septembrie 90, Bucharest 050726, Romania
Region: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bucharest
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bucharest
#5 Business Hotel in Bucharest
#10 Family Hotel in Bucharest
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand in every way, the JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel surrounds you with luxury and elegance, befitting the chosen hotel of European royalty, international dignitaries and music stars. Prestigiously located next to the stunning Parliament Palace, the hotel "city within a city" complete with shopping gallery and casino, state-of-the-art fitness and spa center. The 402 guest rooms and suites, the largest in Bucharest, offer everything the traveling executive requires and feature exquisite bedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Bucharest
Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel
Bucharest Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing