We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A standard Hilton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest
Ranked #9 of 166 Hotels in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
Brit in Bahrain
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A standard Hilton”
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Exactly as you can expect from a Hilton, nice clean rooms and the usual amenities- pool is very small but new, sauna, jacuzzi etc and herbal teas from the desk at the pool which is a nice touch!
The main reason to stay here is the location....Perfect!!! Situated in a large open area looking over the art museum, opera house and down to the statue for the revolution, it is a clean, attractive and safe area with many places of interest within walking distance. Concierge team absolutely excellent and full of information. Stay with confidence in your choice.

Room Tip: if you want a nice view (perhaps these are noisier but I didnt notice) ask for a room facing the str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank molly1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
We are happy to hear that you liked our location and that and enjoyed a relaxing time in our Health Club. It gives me great pleasure to know we were able to fulfill your expectations. I will be happy to pass your compliments to the concierge team.



We hope you will visit us again in the near future!



Kind Regards,

Linda Griffin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,842 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,020
    612
    158
    25
    27
See reviews for
183
502
143
728
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

I travel to Bucharest on business a couple times a year. I have stayed in a couple different hotels in the area. I find the Athenee Palace hotel to be one of the best in Romania. The hotel is clean, the staff very friendly, food is good, gym is nice and the overall location is fantastic. Everything is within 30 minutes or less of this location. The staff will get to know you and they take such good care of you. The building has a lot of history and is beautiful inside and out. Electrical Plugs are convenient and allow for US plugs without adapters, really nice touch. If you are comfortable and happy with the way top Hilton property's are managed and maintained, you will feel right at home at this well run hotel. You can not go wrong staying at this beautiful hotel

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
Thank you so much for your review and for recommending our hotel to the Tripadvisor community. I am glad that our amenities contributed to a memorable stay as our guest and made you choose Athénée Palace Hilton as your home away from home. I am also delighted that our staff made you feel welcome and comfortable. I will surely pass your kind comments to them.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon!


Kind Regards,

Linda Griffin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013 via mobile

Great hotel with an amazing location just by the square where one of the most memorable and significant events of the 20th Century. Rooms are very generous and gym and bar are good. There is a very good wine merchants almost opposite which provides quality wine at east European prices. I'll be staying here every time.

Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank nobudgettravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
Thank you for being our guest at Athénée Palace Hilton and for sharing your experience with the Tripadvisor community. It is truly rewarding for us to know you had an enjoyable stay and that you were satisfied with our great location and facilities.



I hope you’ll have a chance to return soon and explore more of what the hotel’s surroundings have to offer. Our concierge team will be more than happy to help you.



Kind regards,

Linda Griffin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
155 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

This is for me the best hotel in the city. The whole team is experienced, efficient and highly curteous throughout. The building has been refurbished in the last couple of years and it's looking fresh and bright and keeps a good balance between contemporary and overly modern. The rooms are spotless and quiet. The restaurants are of a good standard, and the outdoor terrace is particularly nice to dine on during the summer. The only problem is the English Bar where there's so much smoking it's hard to see through the haze. I wish they'd either install better ventilation in there or ban smoking completely. However a gold star for best service goes to one of the ladies at the English Bar who remembers my drink preference even if she hasn't seen me for a year.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice. The ones facing the busy street tend to be slightly more noisy but sound insulat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Thank you for your review and thank you as well for mentioning our staff great customer service.
This is what our team aspire to achieve every single day of the year. Please rest assured we took your valuable feedback regarding English Bar into consideration and will continue to work on improving the ventilation.

I hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back soon!


Kind regards,

Linda Griffin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I am HHonors Gold so we were treated to an Executive Room with view of Revolution Square and former Royal Palace which is now an art gallery. Large room but wardrobe ridiculously small with a badly placed safe blocking space to hang clothes. Executive Lounge was very well stocked with snacks and drinks with alcohol available 6pm to 8.30 and wine and beer thereafter until closing time. Mihail and Lilianna were wonderful hosts and provided excellent service throughout our stay. All staff very polite and helpful especially Daniel in concierge who arranged a private sightseeing tour for us. Location of hotel ideal and taxis are cheap. Do walk around the old town and visit the excellent folk museum and village museum. Culture is cheap and opera and classical concerts well worth the outing.
Despite the hotel emphasising its history and old world elegance the only area to reflect that is the collonade foyer and private dining room with its elegant glass dome. The rest is all modern Hilton/Holiday Inn type decor.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cardiardaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
Thank you for sharing your constructive feedback with us and other travelers here on Tripadvisor. It is truly rewarding to receive such a positive message about our staff and amenities from our valuable guests. I will make sure to share with my team your kind words of appreciation. Referring the wardrobe size, please rest assured we took into consideration your comment for further improvements.

On behalf of all the Athenee Palace Hilton team I send you warmest regards from Bucharest and I look forward to welcoming you back in our property in the future.



Kind Regards,

Linda Griffin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

I am HHonors Gold and have to say I was treated like a VIP. It started with the shuttle bus from the airport, well no bus for me as they sent a complimentary limo instead! check in was smooth and i got a double upgrade to a junior suite. They executive floor is really good, the lounge serves food almost all day and the pre-dinner buffet was perfect for those just wanting a light snack for dinner, there was also free wine, beer, spirits, juices and sodas available. The room was spacious but the only thing was the air con wasn't so strong at night but this was easily solved by unlocking the windows as the neighbourhood is so peaceful no issues with noise. Staff were all very helpful and went out of their way to do everything for us. Even at the fitness suite the lady gave me a full tour making sure that everything was all ok. Overall I found the staff very helpful and would highly recommend this hotel. The location is great too.

Room Tip: 5th floor executive rooms are great, well worth it if they give you a free upgrade or one for a mode...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor. It is such a pleasure to receive such positive feedback.
I am happy to see that your impression on our facilities and most importantly the service was good and that you felt well taken care of during your stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future!


Kind regards,

Linda Griffin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
122 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We stayed for 1 night. The location is great looking over the main square.
Check in was quick but they gave us wrong room so we had to move rooms and also we asked for view room of the square no availability.
The internet in the room is not free but they gave me a voucher complimentary maybe because we were on executive floor.
The room is not new but very well kept, clean and large . Good TV and also minibar and coffee machine.
The lounge is one of the best for European hotel. Very good service. Breakfast is good selection with salmon, cheese and 3 or 4 hot food options. All day they gave coffee, juices and some great quality sweets and cakes. In the evening very good selection of cold and some hot snacks and wine and spirits. Great views from the lounge.
The concierge was also very friendly.
We had dinner in the Italian restaurant, great food and service again.
My first choice for Bucharest based on the very good lounge.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moschino24_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your Athénée Palace Hilton experience on Tripadvisor. I am happy to read you enjoyed our Executive Lounge, our rooms and Italian restaurant Roberto’s. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with your room change. We strive to offer the best service to our guests and we thank you for your patience and understanding.



The entire team would be more than happy to welcome you back in the future!



Kind Regards,

Linda Griffin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Bucharest
1.4 mi away
JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Bucharest
InterContinental Bucharest
#8 of 166 in Bucharest
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Epoque Hotel
Epoque Hotel
#2 of 166 in Bucharest
754 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Bucarest City Centre
0.7 mi away
Hotel Christina
Hotel Christina
#1 of 166 in Bucharest
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest

Property: Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest
Address: Strada Episcopiei 1 - 3 | District 1, Bucharest 010292, Romania
Phone Number:
Region: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bucharest
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bucharest
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bucharest
#10 Business Hotel in Bucharest
#11 Family Hotel in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest 5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore Bucharest from the historic Athenee Palace Hilton Buchrest hotel, built in 1914 and set in the heart of the city. At the Hilton Athenee Palace Bucharest hotel you can enjoy local attractions including the Romanian Athenaeum and the former Royal Palace. Theatres, shops and cafes are all located within walking distance. All Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest hotel rooms have wireless internet access. Upgrade to a Hilton Room Plus or choose an Executive Room for Executive Lounge access. Enjoy the heated indoor pool, Jacuzzi and well-equipped gym or indulge in a luxurious treatment in the hotel's beauty center. Spend the evening in our onsite casino or dine in one of 3 restaurants. The English Bar offers a large selection of whiskies. Feast on authentic Italian delights in Roberto's restaurant.Just minutes' drive from Henri Coanda Airport, the Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest hotel has 11 meeting rooms for up to 400 guests. The Le Diplomate Ballroom is an UNESCO heritage monument and the setting for international events. Take in magnificent views over the Revolution Square and the Athenaeum from the fifth floor balcony in the Executive Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest Hotel Bucharest
Hilton International Bucharest
Hilton Bucharest
Bucharest Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing