We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very comfortable hotel in the center of Bucharest with great staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest
Ranked #11 of 171 Hotels in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very comfortable hotel in the center of Bucharest with great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Located within 10 min walking distance from the city center.

Spotless, clean and spacious room with very comfortable bed.Free wifi (ask at the reception for the accessing code). Helpful, kind and professional staff, especially in the restaurant.
All compliments to the waiters that were working during the brekfast time. Breakfast was rich and delicous with vast variaty of food and beverages. Excellent italian coffee served for the brekfast in beautiful garden area.Coffee and tea kettle in the room with good offer of both. Iron and ironing board available also comes very handy. The only down side is that it was not possible to open the windows, as it was indicated , due to security reasons. Though the room ventilation was functioning very well if you stay in a smoking room this could be a bit of a problem.

I would higly recommend this hotel for a stay in Bucharest.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dealek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you for your appreciation and for taking the time to write this review on Tripadvisor. I am glad you enjoyed our spacious rooms and excellent services and I am happy to read you loved the rich breakfast selection that we offer to the guests in our elegant Italian restaurant, Roberto’s.
I am sorry that you were not advised that you could not open your window, as with a call to our reception desk, a team member is available to open them for you. Please accept my apology if this was not correctly communicated to you.
Thank you also for recognizing our friendly staff. Your kind feedback about our employees is very much appreciated and will be communicated to them personally.
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Linda Griffin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    926
    574
    148
    21
    26
See reviews for
168
454
133
672
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

I've been staying at this hotel almost 70 days this year due to the business trip, and I definately recomment this hotel.
Breakfast at the garden is wonderful(spring and summer) and the location is very good.
Moreover, the staffs are extremely kind and helpful, everyone is speaking english very well.

Executive lounge offers some food at dinner and you can print the document at the print room.

Staffs are willing to offer as many as possible during whole my 70 days stay.

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank moonkyung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you for being our guest at Athénée Palace Hilton and for sharing your experience with the Tripadvisor community.
I am glad you appreciated the friendliness of our staff and the up-town position of our beautiful hotel. Indeed, we take great pride in our Roberto’s on La Strada terrace where our guests are able to choose between tasty Italian dishes, fresh summer cocktails or the most exquisite selection of wines.
Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Athénée Palace Hilton in the very near future!

Kind regards,
Linda Griffin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Highly competent and smooth running place with some great staff. Public rooms downstairs are worth a visit even if you don't plan to stay.

Rooms, food and service all very good. Used by tour/cruise companies so you might want to avoid their changeover days when there won't be a seat to be found anywhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arsewiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you for sending us your feedback and recommendations on Tripadvisor. It gives me great pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and I hope you managed take advantage of our downtown location, Executive Lounge, and our Italian restaurant, Roberto’s.
Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Athénée Palace Hilton in the very near future!

Kind regards,
Linda Griffin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Stayed a couple of times in the Hilton Athenee and would say it lives up to what you would expect. Booked online every time and got a very good deal each time. Great location close to the heart of the city which is helpful for someone that likes to walk to explore the city. Have stayed in the more expensive rooms and the standard rooms and found them both very spacious and comfortable.
Stayed a couple of years earlier and found the breakfast to be fairly basic but has now improved but could still be better. Internet speed is very good but would be better if it was fully complimentary in all rooms 24 hours a day without needing to log in. Other hotels offer similar and free fast internet and is one key thing i look for when deciding on which hotel to stay at.
Found the staff very friendly and helpful as you would hope from a Hilton hotel. Definitely worth a look particularly if u want a hotel with great A/C to escape the summer heat in bucharest!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OzTraveler76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Stayed at the Fira Palace Hilton for a couple of nights. Excellent hotel, centrally located 10 minutes walk from the old town. A good experience, would definitely stop again. Used most of the facilities including the pool and the sauna

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you very much for your recent review and for choosing Athénée Palace Hilton in Bucharest.
Your satisfaction is very important to us and I am delighted to learn that you had a great stay here and that you were able to enjoy the facilities our wonderful hotel had to offer.
Looking forward to seeing you back soon at Athénée Palace Hilton!

Kind regards,
Linda Griffin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
194 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

I didn't know what to expect in Romania. This hotel surpassed my expectations. We were upgraded to the presidential suite for our first stay (I wish I had taken pictures). We prefer a room with a separate bedroom (with a door). On our return from touring around the country we spent another night at this hotel. This time I had booked the Athenee Palace Suite, which was lovely but had stairs to an upstairs loft. I declined this room and accepted the Courtyard Suite was also very nice. Walking distance to many restaurants outside of hotel. Service was very accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canterqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
I want to thank you for taking the time to share such a nice feedback on Tripadvisor. I am enchanted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our services made you feel welcome and comfortable, successfully impressing you. I do hope you took advantage of your time around the country, discovering all the lovely places Romania has to offer.
Regarding the presidential suite, please do not worry about the fact that you did not take pictures. You have an array of photos with our rooms, including the Presidential and the Courtyard Suites, on our website, http://www.hiltonbucharest.com. Perhaps on a next visit you can also enjoy the elegant atmosphere of our famous English Bar or the tasteful dishes from our Italian restaurant, Roberto’s.
Please know that we would be thrilled to have you again as our guest should your travel preferences bring you back to our area. Once again, thanks for all of your very nice words.

Kind regards,
Linda Griffin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Salvador, El Salvador
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Location, stuff were great! The only complain that i have is that you have to pay for Wi Fi! i dont know why Hilton does that!!!! but besides that you can walk since everything is nearby.
I do recommend it!
tip: dont book an airport transportation if you are more than one person, just ask for a cab and it will be really cheaper.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JuanAmaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We are very happy that your stay with us was comfortable and enjoyable as we always take pride in offering the best to our guests. Your kind feedback about the team is highly appreciated too and will be communicated to them.
For your next visit, I am pleased to inform you that the Wi-Fi is free of charge in our lobby, bars, and restaurants.
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Linda Griffin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Bucharest
0.7 mi away
Hotel Christina
Hotel Christina
#1 of 171 in Bucharest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Bucharest
InterContinental Bucharest
#7 of 171 in Bucharest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Grand Hotel Continental
#8 of 171 in Bucharest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.5 mi away
Epoque Hotel
Epoque Hotel
#2 of 171 in Bucharest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest

Property: Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest
Address: Strada Episcopiei 1 - 3 | District 1, Bucharest 010292, Romania
Phone Number:
Region: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bucharest
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bucharest
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bucharest
#10 Business Hotel in Bucharest
#11 Family Hotel in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest 5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore Bucharest from the historic Athenee Palace Hilton Buchrest hotel, built in 1914 and set in the heart of the city. At the Hilton Athenee Palace Bucharest hotel you can enjoy local attractions including the Romanian Athenaeum and the former Royal Palace. Theatres, shops and cafes are all located within walking distance. All Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest hotel rooms have wireless internet access. Upgrade to a Hilton Room Plus or choose an Executive Room for Executive Lounge access. Enjoy the heated indoor pool, Jacuzzi and well-equipped gym or indulge in a luxurious treatment in the hotel's beauty center. Spend the evening in our onsite casino or dine in one of 3 restaurants. The English Bar offers a large selection of whiskies. Feast on authentic Italian delights in Roberto's restaurant.Just minutes' drive from Henri Coanda Airport, the Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest hotel has 11 meeting rooms for up to 400 guests. The Le Diplomate Ballroom is an UNESCO heritage monument and the setting for international events. Take in magnificent views over the Revolution Square and the Athenaeum from the fifth floor balcony in the Executive Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA and Odigeo so you can book your Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest Hotel Bucharest
Hilton International Bucharest
Hilton Bucharest
Bucharest Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing