We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb in Every Way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest
Ranked #10 of 169 Hotels in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This is a magical place to stay. The hotel has played such an important part in 20th century history, which is what made me want to stay there while in Bucharest. The location is ideal, the staff is first rate, and the public and guest rooms are opulently decorated. I was made to feel like royalty while staying there. It doesn't get better than the Athenee Palace!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank sdechris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you so much for this beautiful review you’re sharing with the TripAdvisor community. It gives me a tremendous pleasure to read that we were successful in offering you an enjoyable stay. Indeed, the Athénée Palace Hilton has very much been at the center of Bucharest history throughout the last century and our staff will be more than happy to tell you more about the wonderful history of this property. Looking forward to treat you like royalty again soon!

Kind regards,
Jan Thomsen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,977)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,130 - 1,136 of 1,977 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

I love this hotel, use to go there for years now but as my flight was canceled i stayed there on 31st december... and i have to say that the experience was less than average. From check in to check out i've understood that the main goal and focus during this day was : NYE dedicated to local crowd. During this period the hotel is not a place for visitors, it's a place for events... this means that all the faclities are dedicated to NYE : bars + restaurant + lobby + public area, even the executive lounge is close (moved to a small smoky room with no seat available on the 1st floor). After 4 in the afternoon, impossible to relax, it was time for NYE preparation (hoovers, banquet preparation, etc etc)... not very relax friendly (all bars close). During the evening : a lot of people in the hotel (mostly locals), a lot of noise (from inside and outside as there is a concert on the main square) and all inclusive menu only. Food was really bad (i mean BAD), understaffed and no place for something else than NYE noise. They could at least think about the guests who want to relax in a quiet place, but they prefer to focus on making money with locals and events. It's a choice but it's not nice at all for guests. Had the feeling of if you don't come for NYE events, it's not the place to be and i was right. Should be also nice to provide better non-allergenic pillow (really tired) and duvet (really too small for the bed and slim)... don't talk about the room-service garbage staying all day in the corridors, etc etc. Focus on events, not on guests. Very disapointed. Will come back but NEVER during holidays.

Room Tip: All rooms are ok but don't go during winter holidays. Better to ask for a central square view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bubbles_please
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for your review here on Tripadvisor.

I am sorry to hear that your flight was cancelled and that you had to stay over in Bucharest during New Years Eve. I can imagine that your friends and family were unhappy not having you at home. I am very happy to see, that you still consider us for future stays despite the incidences you described in your review. However, I am very sorry to learn that your experience during the afternoon and evening did not meet your expectations. Unfortunately we had to prepare the outlets for the New Years Evening events which forced us to offer limited service during the late afternoon. Each outlet had different Food & Beverage offers for the evening which were very popular but also busy and loud due to the different entertainment in the hotel and the fireworks in front of the hotel. In our main restaurant, Roberto's, we planned always to keep tables available for hotel guests, but at a certain point of time also those were fully booked. Please let me take this opportunity to apologize for the inconvenience this caused for you. Please be rest assured, that we will use your feedback and be more attentive to our guests during those critical hours. I have brought your comments forward to all relevant department heads for future improvement.

Looking forward to welcoming you.

Kind regards,
Jan Thomsen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I stayed in the hotel 3 days while working in Bucharest. The rooms were very clean, the breakfast buffet was excellent. The staff were very polite and helpful. Most of the hotel staff spoke good English. The rooms were comfortable and the beds were very nice. My only complaint is the same as in most of Romania, since so many people smoke there, even non-smoking rooms still have the lingering smell of smoke.

This is an older hotel and has not been updated for several years, but it is clean and very nice.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salupm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

First and foremost, I wish to thank you for staying with us and also for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. I’m really happy that we managed to offer you a comfortable stay and I would like to present my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you encountered with odor in your room.

We look forward to seeing on your next visit to Bucharest!

Kind regards,
Jan Thomsen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

The Hotel is convenient, clean, safe, and with a history of espionage. The steam room is nice, and the hot tub as well. The executive lounge has tasty tidbits and freeflow alcohol in the early evening - a nice bonus.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Joy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you for your kind words, it was a pleasure reading them as it was having you with us. I’m happy that you took advantage of the facilities and services we are offering here, at Athénée Palace Hilton.

If you are interested in more of our history, I would recommend the book “Athenee Palace” written by the American journalist R.G. Waldeck. The book narrates the fascinating events and the international figures that made Romania Europe's last sensational source of intrigue and color during the ‘40’s.

We look forward to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,
Jan Thomsen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Excellent hotel. Good location, friendly staff and one of the best executive lounges this side of the Bosphorous. Breakfast was fantastic for vegans, lot's to chose from. Avoid the taxis outside they will try and rip you off.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stebrobv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

vey good hotel I will come backvey good hotel I will come backvey good hotel I will come back vey good hotel I will come backvey good hotel I will come backvey good hotel I will come back vey good hotel I will come backvey good hotel I will come backvey good hotel I will come backvey good hotel I will come backvey good hotel I will come backvey good hotel I will come back

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Yitshak K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

The staff were extremely polite and helpful. Everyone spoke English. The concierge desk really works hard to ensure you enjoy your stay. The rooms are comfortable and the bedding was great. They have american TV HBO, CINEMAX, and all the current movies to relax by.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you for your kind review! We take great pride in offering a pleasant experience to all our guests, from the promptitude of reception staff to the comfort of our rooms. I’m happy to read such a positive feedback and I’m looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,
Jan Thomsen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Bucharest
1.4 mi away
JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Bucharest
InterContinental Bucharest
#5 of 169 in Bucharest
1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Epoque Hotel
Epoque Hotel
#2 of 169 in Bucharest
817 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Grand Hotel Continental
#15 of 169 in Bucharest
590 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Bucarest City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest

Address: Strada Episcopiei 1 - 3 | District 1, Bucharest 010292, Romania
Phone Number:
Region: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bucharest
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bucharest
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bucharest
#10 Business Hotel in Bucharest
#11 Family Hotel in Bucharest
Price Range: £71 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest 5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore Bucharest from the historic Athenee Palace Hilton Buchrest hotel, built in 1914 and set in the heart of the city. At the Hilton Athenee Palace Bucharest hotel you can enjoy local attractions including the Romanian Athenaeum and the former Royal Palace. Theatres, shops and cafes are all located within walking distance. All Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest hotel rooms have wireless internet access. Upgrade to a Hilton Room Plus or choose an Executive Room for Executive Lounge access. Enjoy the heated indoor pool, Jacuzzi and well-equipped gym or indulge in a luxurious treatment in the hotel's beauty center. Spend the evening in our onsite casino or dine in one of 3 restaurants. The English Bar offers a large selection of whiskies. Feast on authentic Italian delights in Roberto's restaurant.Just minutes' drive from Henri Coanda Airport, the Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest hotel has 11 meeting rooms for up to 400 guests. The Le Diplomate Ballroom is an UNESCO heritage monument and the setting for international events. Take in magnificent views over the Revolution Square and the Athenaeum from the fifth floor balcony in the Executive Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest Hotel Bucharest
Hilton International Bucharest
Hilton Bucharest
Bucharest Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing