We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest
Ranked #10 of 169 Hotels in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed at the Athenee Palace for 4 days at the end of May and decided to upgrade to a large suite. Our reception was welcoming and friendly. The hotel and lobby is in the tradition of the many grand hotels around the world. The cafe on the main floor was enjoyable for a small treat or meal with coffee or tea, although if you are a non smoker stay away from the dividing line as the smoke will drift over from the smoking area to the non smoking area. Checkout was fine and the concierge was helpful. WIFI was extremely fast for a hotel.

Our room was very large with a living room, dining table, small office area, 2 bathrooms, and a large bedroom. The bathroom had been renovated and was beautiful. However, the suite overall was tired looking. It needs a complete renovation. I have two small complaints. For such an expensive suite there was no hair dryer (I need one and in most hotels of this calibre there is one available). The 2nd complaint was that the water kettle which would be used for making a cup of tea did not work.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobKnight99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,941)
There are newer reviews for Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,012 - 1,018 of 1,941 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

Very well run hotel which I throughly enjoyed for a week on business. Very convenient location, easy to walk to most sites. Professional, well trained staff in all positions throughout hotel. Very nice breakfast, good fruit and better than average coffee and the usual buffet. Excellent health club, clean, versatile, well maintained, not crowded only for hotel guests it seems. Helpful front desk and concierge. My room was the normal variety, but was spacious, well lit, nice bathroom in all regards. Quiet, little noise from hallway or other rooms. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
3  Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Athénée Palace Hilton and for taking the time to write this valuable review!
We are touched by your kind words and happy to learn that the facilities and services met your expectations. We are looking forward to welcome you again soon, maybe, on a trip that will allow you to also explore lovely Bucharest.

Kind Regards,
Jan Thomsen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I had been looking forward to staying here after reading Olivia Manning's Fortunes of War, a lot of which is set in this hotel and its famous English Bar. And it did not disappoint.

The Athenee Palace oozes history but is also a modern, elegant and comfortable hotel. As an HH member we were upgraded to a large, splendid suite with Club access. The Club is nice but perhaps not as comfortable as many these days. We loved the lively English Bar and had an excellent dinner in the restaurant. We even lost our shirts in the casino, which has an entirely different atmosphere to the hotel and felt a touch tacky and sinister. Breakfast good.

The staff were friendly and helpful and the concierge's advice in how not to be ripped off by taxi drivers was very helpful.

Overall a great and memorable experience.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Spineynorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for reserving time to write this valuable review.
Secondly, we are glad to see how quickly our charming The English Bar is propagating throughout the world and that it fulfilled your expectations. Our biggest satisfaction lies in the fact that you did not experience any inconvenience and everything was to your liking, starting with the building and ending with our staff members. We will pass on your kind words to the Concierge staff, as well as to the entire members.

Looking forward to welcome you again soon!
Kind Regards,
Jan Thomsen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

When I first came to Bucharest on business, I stayed here.
The food is excellent, the rooms are clean, spacious and have every amenity you could ask for. The staff were always pleasant and helpful. There is a thriving community of ex-pats who frequent "The English Bar" and this makes you feel instantly at home. Although it is not cheap, it is worth every penny.

Colin Madge,
Bucharest,
Romania.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for you kind words and for choosing Athénée Palace Hilton!
We are always striving for excellence and working to offer our guests a perfect staying, so we are beyond happy that you could get a taste of that. The English Bar is, indeed, a very much appreciated intimate corner in the hotel and we are glad that you could be part of that atmosphere.

We are looking forward to welcome you again!

Kind Regards,
Jan Thomsen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We spent three nights here in a Diplomat Suite, which worked well for us with two children. Unfortunately we did not have a view over the square which was a shame, however there was an enormous marquee up which did spoil the outlook somewhat. We did enjoy the views from the executive lounge which served delicious pre-dinner snacks. The children enjoyed their mini-burgers.

Our bedroom and bathroom were spacious with a good size lounge too, and the second bathroom was useful. The turn down service is a real treat. Although the extra bed was put in our bedroom, it was moved while we were at dinner without any problem.

The buffet breakfast was excellent and it was lovely to be able to sit outside on the terrace to enjoy this - the children ordered pancakes which arrived covered in fresh fruit and chocolate sauce!

We also made use of the pool and hot tub every day in the late afternoon and had the entire place to ourselves!

We had contacted the concierge, Vasile before our trip and he booked the various restaurants that we had chosen, a must if you decide to eat at Caru cu Bere.

Overall a great hotel, a central location but do try and get a room with a view!

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room overlooking the square on a high floor.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor.
I am very glad to hear that you and your family had a nice time at Athénée Palace Hilton, as well as in charming Bucharest. I am sorry to hear that you could not enjoy a room with a view, but should you visit us again, we will be more than happy to establish your preferred room arrangements. I am happy to see that, on the other hand, our hotel facilities and the food fulfilled your expectations and you experienced relaxing moments.
We are looking forward to welcome you and your family again (very) soon!

Kind Regards,
Jan Thomsen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great service from polite and accommodating staff, lovely room with best quality extras and beautiful breakfast, and within walking distance of many restaurants and points of interest. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vikki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear Guest,

What a pleasure to read such kind words in regard to our hotel, Athénée Palace Hilton! I would like to thank you for sharing your impressions and we hope that you had a perfect stay with us. Our mission is to make the guests feel like they have arrived at a second home and I truly hope that you could feel comfortable and relaxed.
We will be looking forward to welcome you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Jan Thomsen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Athenee Palace Hilton in Bucharest is a lovely hotel and nothing like a typical Hilton. The hotel is historic and features great public rooms.
There is an excellent bar, a very good white linen restaurant and a combination bar/grill with lighter fare.

Our room was a junior suite with a comfortable king bed and a separate living room. The bathroom was a functional with a tub/shower which might be a challenge for some to get in and out of.

The problem for me was the A/C which could not cool the room enough and which had a fan that did not push enough air through the room. I like sleeping in a cold room so this might not bother other guests.
The room was quite and comfortable.
Also the room service breakfast of eggs and coffee was not hot, lthough it did arrive o time.

The location is very good and has a convenience store for snacks and liquor stores a block away.

Th staff was friendly and the service was good. I would recommend it to thers.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miamijim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you for you review on TripAdvisor and for choosing Athénée Palace Hilton.
It was a pleasure to learn that you appreciated this charming hotel with a rich history behind and that its facilities were according to your expectations. However, we are deeply sorry for the inconveniences that you have encountered and we truly hope that it did not affect your stay with us. Please, rest assured that we will take further actions in order not to be faced with similar unfortunate situations.
We will be looking forward to welcome you again, very soon!

Kind Regards,
Jan Thomsen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Bucharest
1.4 mi away
JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Bucharest
InterContinental Bucharest
#6 of 169 in Bucharest
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Epoque Hotel
Epoque Hotel
#2 of 169 in Bucharest
801 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Grand Hotel Continental
#15 of 169 in Bucharest
571 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Bucarest City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest

Address: Strada Episcopiei 1 - 3 | District 1, Bucharest 010292, Romania
Phone Number:
Region: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bucharest
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bucharest
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bucharest
#10 Business Hotel in Bucharest
#11 Family Hotel in Bucharest
Price Range: £84 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest 5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore Bucharest from the historic Athenee Palace Hilton Buchrest hotel, built in 1914 and set in the heart of the city. At the Hilton Athenee Palace Bucharest hotel you can enjoy local attractions including the Romanian Athenaeum and the former Royal Palace. Theatres, shops and cafes are all located within walking distance. All Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest hotel rooms have wireless internet access. Upgrade to a Hilton Room Plus or choose an Executive Room for Executive Lounge access. Enjoy the heated indoor pool, Jacuzzi and well-equipped gym or indulge in a luxurious treatment in the hotel's beauty center. Spend the evening in our onsite casino or dine in one of 3 restaurants. The English Bar offers a large selection of whiskies. Feast on authentic Italian delights in Roberto's restaurant.Just minutes' drive from Henri Coanda Airport, the Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest hotel has 11 meeting rooms for up to 400 guests. The Le Diplomate Ballroom is an UNESCO heritage monument and the setting for international events. Take in magnificent views over the Revolution Square and the Athenaeum from the fifth floor balcony in the Executive Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest Hotel Bucharest
Hilton International Bucharest
Hilton Bucharest
Bucharest Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing