We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest
Ranked #11 of 172 Hotels in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

This is a wonderful quiet hotel in Bucharest but everything you expect from a Hilton hotel. We upgraded our room to a junior suite for an extra £20pp per night. The staff are all friendly and the location is ideal, with shops locally. If you do get the junior suite, you have access to the fifth floor dining room where you can obtain free drinks and snacks. The upgrade also entitles you to free wifi from anywhere in the hotel. The restaurant is big and they have great hot and cold options for breakfast. The open terrace is lovely. All in all, was very happy with the choice of our 3 night stay in Bucharest.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bimal20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Athénée Palace Hilton and for writing this valuable review.
We are thrilled to read that our hotel amenities came up to your expectations and you had a pleasant staying with us. Moreover, I am glad that the breakfast was according to your taste and you appreciated our curteous staff.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you again soon!

Kind Regards,
Jan Thomsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    975
    592
    153
    24
    26
See reviews for
177
473
138
708
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Holon, Israel
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Location is perfect, walking distance of major attractions.
Very clean and have professional staff that speaks fluent English.
Very good breakfast and nice selection of food and beverages at the executive lounge.
2 team members from the concierge desk-Vasily and Daniel were super friendly and knowledgable with fantastic sense of humor.
Bravo!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ada G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Athénée Palace Hilton and for writing this appreciated review.
Athénée Palace Hilton offers, by all means, a chance for its guests to explore Bucharest and to discover the hidden gems of the city. Therefore, we are happy that you could feel this way, too. Furthermore, we are glad that everything was customized to make your staying as agreeable as it can get and resulted in you having a fantastic time here.
We will transmit the kind words to our staff members, Vasile and Daniel, who will also be looking further to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Jan Thomsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Hotel is a little bit outdated. Quality of food (room service & English bar) has some room for improvement and is not in line with the level of the price.I had the hamburger and it was of surprising low quality.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyZRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing this valuable feedback and we are glad that Athénée Palace Hilton was your choice of stay, in the heart of Bucharest.
Firstly, we are disappointed that we could not meet your expectations. We regret that the hotel style did not make an impression on you, as we envision it as a combination of classical details with fine modern touches. Please rest assured all your feedback had been taken into consideration for further improvement. Maybe when you come back, you'll let us pamper you with our “pura cucina italiana” menu in Roberto’s.

Looking forward to welcome you again soon!

Kind regards,
Jan Thomsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
303 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed here for one night as part of a Viking River Cruise. Good location (the art museum is literally across the street) and perfectly nice rooms but the whole place smelled like smoke. We were quite taken with the pleasant breakfast and friendly front desk staff.

Room Tip: We were a group traveling together but had rooms way far apart. The distances in this hotel are pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kleic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Second visit here - this time in summer. Lovely as ever, friendly staff and a great welcome outdoors in the Italian restaurant / bar.

Thanks Miki, you made us very welcome, great fun and great service.

Room Tip: Can be a bit noisy from the road and smoking is allowed most places so if you don't like smoke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for writing this valuable review.
It was a pleasant surprise to read a feedback from a recurrent guest! We are contented that we managed to offer you the same high quality services and that everything was according to your taste. In the end, we would like to apologize for the smoking-friendly environment and we hope that it did not affect your overall impression.
We will pass on the message to our staff member and we are waiting to welcome you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Jan Thomsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

An excellent hotel with great amenities and very helpful staff. Thus is the second time I've stayed here and my stay was just as pleasant as the last. The location is great with many restaurants, the location is very close to the heart of Bucharest.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Gurmukh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are happy for having the chance to welcome you for the second time at Athénée Palace Hilton and that your staying with us was more than pleasant. We also hope that you took advantage of the location and strolled around the streets of what used to be called "Little Paris".

We will be looking forward to welcome you again whenever your travel brings you back to Bucharest!

Kind regards,
Jan Thomsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed one night in this very iconic building. Good breakfast served outside in the courtyard. Big rooms bit outdated, but no worries. Centrally located. Strange people around during the night. As well in hotel lobby, you know what I mean. Overall very pleasant experience, highly recommended.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Door74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Bucharest
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Bucharest
InterContinental Bucharest
#6 of 172 in Bucharest
1,232 reviews
1.4 mi away
JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Grand Hotel Continental
#8 of 172 in Bucharest
531 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Christina
Hotel Christina
#1 of 172 in Bucharest
1,093 reviews
0.5 mi away
Epoque Hotel
Epoque Hotel
#2 of 172 in Bucharest
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest

Property: Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest
Address: Strada Episcopiei 1 - 3 | District 1, Bucharest 010292, Romania
Phone Number:
Region: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bucharest
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bucharest
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bucharest
#10 Business Hotel in Bucharest
#11 Family Hotel in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest 5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore Bucharest from the historic Athenee Palace Hilton Buchrest hotel, built in 1914 and set in the heart of the city. At the Hilton Athenee Palace Bucharest hotel you can enjoy local attractions including the Romanian Athenaeum and the former Royal Palace. Theatres, shops and cafes are all located within walking distance. All Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest hotel rooms have wireless internet access. Upgrade to a Hilton Room Plus or choose an Executive Room for Executive Lounge access. Enjoy the heated indoor pool, Jacuzzi and well-equipped gym or indulge in a luxurious treatment in the hotel's beauty center. Spend the evening in our onsite casino or dine in one of 3 restaurants. The English Bar offers a large selection of whiskies. Feast on authentic Italian delights in Roberto's restaurant.Just minutes' drive from Henri Coanda Airport, the Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest hotel has 11 meeting rooms for up to 400 guests. The Le Diplomate Ballroom is an UNESCO heritage monument and the setting for international events. Take in magnificent views over the Revolution Square and the Athenaeum from the fifth floor balcony in the Executive Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest Hotel Bucharest
Hilton International Bucharest
Hilton Bucharest
Bucharest Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing