We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for Your Money.. Affordable Luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Continental
Ranked #16 of 169 Hotels in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I recently spent one night in this hotel while doing a quick visit in Bucharest for business. My room was supposedly a single one but it had two beds and all the comforts you could look for. Of course it was extremely clean and the furniture was reminiscent of baroque style, as the whole hotel. They told us the rooms were sound-proof, which I believe to be true cause I couldn't hear a whisper while I was in there. But, he TV sound was audible in the bathroom as well, which was nice! Unfortunately I couldn't make any use of the spa/gym area because of lack of time, although it was included in the price. Breakfast is served is a nice room in the basement area and offers simple yet delicious variety of food, both savoury and sweet. We got there at 11 pm and, despite the restaurant being closed, my companion was able to be served a light snack with fruit and cheese at the bar. The staff was nice and could speak good English. I absolutely recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bagiana85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ContinentalHotelsRO, General Manager at Grand Hotel Continental, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear guest,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. It is such a great pleasure to see that you found our Grand Hotel Continental so appropriate for what you wished for. We hope that when you will stay with us again you will try our Eden Spa, a place of calm and relaxation Thank you again for your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you in a not too distant future.

Best regards,
Sanda Almasan, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (604)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 604 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed here for five nights. The service was excellent, and the sound-proofed and air-conditioned room meant we got proper sleep despite the heat outside. Very comfortable bed. The rooms come equipped with iron and ironing board and hair dryer as well as a secure safe to leave valuables.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kittyperry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ContinentalHotelsRO, General Manager at Grand Hotel Continental, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the interest shown towards Grand Hotel Continental and for taking the time to share your review on Tripadvisor. I was thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the excellent comments on the hotel room. I hope I'll have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Grand Hotel Continental Bucharest,

Best regards,
Sanda Almasan, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My family and I stayed here for about a week. It is located very close to the old town. The staff was responsive to all of our needs with no waiting. They made dinner reservations for us, called taxis and recommended shopping areas. The rooms were luxurious, decorated with antiques. Breakfast was great with omelettes made to order! I would not stay anywhere else in Bucharest!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PolishPrincess2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ContinentalHotelsRO, General Manager at Grand Hotel Continental, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your wonderful thoughts following your stay with us.
I was so happy reading that you appreciate our small palace. The Grand Hotel Continental is indeed one of the oldest and beautiful hotel of Bucharest, included in the Romanian state Patrimony and the decorations and the antique pieces of furniture are completing the unique charm of the hotel. I do hope I’ll have the pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel.

My best wishes,
Sanda Almasan, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived to find we'd been upgraded, always a plus! Rooms and public areas of the hotel comfortable, beautiful and well maintained. Staff courteous, friendly and helpful. Location excellent and very central. Food and drinks in the Victoria bar and at breakfast delicious- we recommend the vodka apple!!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank gem2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ContinentalHotelsRO, General Manager at Grand Hotel Continental, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for your lovely feedback on your experience at Grand Hotel Continental Bucharest. So nice to read that you found the staff friendly, courteous and helpful. I have passed your kind comments to the team who are very grateful .I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any further assistance.

Warm regards,
Sanda Almasan, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Albeit Bucharest was known as the little Paris in the 1920's and is a truly remarkable city, its selection of hotels leaves much to be desired. This hotel is clean and "luxurious" in a tired kind of way. Lots of fake gilt and replica furniture. The rooms are ok and not much else can be said. Breakfast is served in a cellar of the hotel - despite them having a lovely dining room upstairs.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SimonLiebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ContinentalHotelsRO, General Manager at Grand Hotel Continental, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Grand Hotel Continental on Tripadvisor. I am most grateful for your feedback, which is such a valuable source of information for me, regardless of whether it is good or bad, and helps me monitor the service we provide.
The team and I are obviously extremely disappointed to see that we did not exceed your expectations in a few areas.

I was also very surprised you mentioned that our furniture is a replica furniture. The furniture of the most part of the hotel's room (room 306 included) is an original furniture, made in solid wood, more then 50 years ago and was carefully reconditioned before the re-opening of the hotel in 2009. Other rooms have antique furniture bought, as the most part of the hotel decoration, from famous auction houses in Europe - in Vienna, Parma, Turin. Every day we get a lot of positive feedback on the hotel décor and furnishings, therefore your review saddens us more.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Grand Hotel Continental in the future!

Best regards,
Sanda Almasan, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for just one night and cannot fault the place. Food was lovely, staff were excellent, drinks were good.
We were upgraded to a suite on arrival and it was stunning - even had a proper coffee maker in the living room!
Will definitely return!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank jwdBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ContinentalHotelsRO, General Manager at Grand Hotel Continental, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are always delighted to receive feedback from our guests. The team and I are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I was also thrilled that you appreciated our food and drinks.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future,

Best regards,
Sanda Almasan, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The hotel was the best part of the week we spent in Bucharest. The hotel is classic and elegant, restored to its full splendor. The rooms are beautiful, with modern bathrooms and stylish, classic interiors. The ceilings are tall, the furniture is elegant and classic. The service is superb and the breakfast is beautiful, rich and very customizable (they have sugar free honey!)

Room Tip: Rooms not facing Calea Victoriei are more quiet. Also, try to be away from the banquet room, especia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank maiestate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ContinentalHotelsRO, General Manager at Grand Hotel Continental, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. It is such a great pleasure to learn that you found our Grand Hotel Continental classic and elegant and that you really loved your experience at breakfast. Thank you again for your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you in a not too distant future.

Best regards,
Sanda Almasan, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
0.3 mi away
Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Bucharest
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Bucharest
InterContinental Bucharest
#5 of 169 in Bucharest
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel
0.5 mi away
Epoque Hotel
Epoque Hotel
#2 of 169 in Bucharest
836 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cismigiu
Hotel Cismigiu
#3 of 169 in Bucharest
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Continental

Address: Cale Victoriei 56, Bucharest 010083, Romania
Region: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 169 Hotels in Bucharest
Price Range: £72 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Continental 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Grand elegance is back in Bucharest." At Grand Hotel Continental you will rediscover the old dimension of luxury in the hospitality. Architectural refinement details and exceptional services are dedicated to the elite clientele. We have restored the atmosphere of XIXth century, we have added the XXI-century technology and we have customized all services to create a unique and memorable experience for each guest. The Grand Hotel Continental is located on Calea Victoriei, a place full of history, the center of Bucharest high life since the 1800s. The building was built in 1886 by the plans of two known architects Mr. Enil Ritten Forster and I.I. Rasnovanu in German Renaissance style. It was first called "Otelul" and it was built where the old "Broft Hotel" (property of the businessman Menahem Elias) was before. Half a century later it took the Grand Hotel Continental name. The building has passed through a recent restoration, preserving the same classic structure and details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing