We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but be careful.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Bucharest
Ranked #8 of 168 Hotels in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great hotel but be careful.”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The hotel is without question very nice. The staff are absolutely first class. The Club Lounge is without question one of the best I have ever been in. The pool is great and the work out facilities are excellent. My junior suite was wonderful with an outstanding view from the 15th floor. The room had a large balcony that was great for morning coffee. My one cautionary caveat regards the door to the room.

The door to my room did not close on its own thus it was very important that you be SURE you have pulled the door completely closed when you leave. I wish I had been advised when I checked in that the doors are not self closing or more accurately are self closing about 75% of the time. Unfortunately I went to the lobby bar to meet associates for about an hour and foolishly chose to leave my Ipad charging while I was downstairs. I did not realize at the time the door might not close all the way when I left and alas on this occasion it did not. When I came back my Ipad was gone. I certainly accept my responsibility for letting my guard down as there is a perfectly good safe where all my other valuables were stored but I do regret the hotel did not advise that one needs to be certain the door closes behind them.

Having said that, I can still comfortably recommend the hotel and just hope others might learn from my mishap as I know I have!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinenta... B, General Manager at InterContinental Bucharest, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am glad that your experience with us was overall a nice one and you have enjoyed some time at the Club InterContinental Lounge and at the 22nd Health Club as well. I am really sorry for the inconvenience experienced with the Ipad.

Thank you for recommending our hotel.

I hope I will have the chance to welcome you back in the near future.

All the best,

Stefan Frank

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    728
    440
    113
    21
    17
See reviews for
107
268
147
588
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Monument, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I recently had the opportunity to spend two weeks at the InterContinental Bucharest. The hotel is a large 22 story hotel one block from Old Town Bucharest. The rooms are spacious, very comfortable, and spotlessly clean. A Metro stop is located within steps of the hotel. The hotel's many facilities are outstanding. The fitness center is equipped with lockers and changing rooms, as well as a weight room, sauna, steam room, swimming pool and Jacuzzi. The wireless WIFI internet connection is reliable and very fast. I have to agree with the comments made by DogWhispere03 regarding the hotel's staff. The staff was attentive, extremely professional and always courteous. Given the opportunity to visit Bucharest in the future, I would definitely stay at the InterContinental Bucharest again. Lastly, I highly recommend the hotel to anyone searching for an excellent comfortable hotel in Bucharest.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cohibaVI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinenta... B, General Manager at InterContinental Bucharest, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review. I am so happy to read that you had a really enjoyable time with us. Thank you for recommending our locations, the 22nd Health Club and most important, the service provided by my colleagues. It is really great for us to read your feedback. Once again thank you.

I am looking forward to your next visit!

Best regards,

Stefan Frank

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The InterCon in Bucharest is an old hotel that has been thoroughly modernized. The rooms are large and extremely comfortable. It is centrally located with easy access to many attractions and close to several good restaurants and a metro stop. All of the hotel facilities are outstanding; the fitness center and pool are large, modern and attractive; the Club (on the 22nd floor) is excellent; and the restaurant and coffee lounge are very good. The WiFi internet connection in the room (and throughout the public areas in the hotel) is fast and reliable. I was in the hotel for two weeks and the internet was never down. A word of advice, take the time and spend the money to join the IHG Club at the Ambassador level. This will insure free access to the Fitness Center and Pool, and free in-room internet, as well as discounted access to all of the amenities at the Club. This is an investment that pays for itself very, very quickly. The best part of the hotel is the staff. Everyone that I encountered was unfailingly polite, professional and solicitous. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Higher floors avoid some of the traffic noise and offer a better view, obviously.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DogWhispere03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinenta... B, General Manager at InterContinental Bucharest, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the InterContinental Bucharest. I am so happy to read that you found our hotel to your liking. Thank you for all the nice words addressed to my colleagues. It is really a great pleasure to read your feedback. I am very happy that you spent time at the Club InterContinental Lounge and also at the 22nd Health Club, places one can not miss when accommodated at the InterContinental Bucharest.
Thank you for all your recommendation.

I am looking forward to the next opportunity to welcome you back.

My best wishes,

Stefan Frank

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Typing this in my room before I head off for the airport.

When you come into Bucharest airport, as you leave the arrivals there is a machine to your left. Take a ticket for a taxi then head outside. The journey is around 35-40 minutes and will cost between 40-60 LEI depending on which way the driver goes.
***NOTE*** - 99.99% of the taxis DO NOT accept cards so get some cash out at the ATM in the airport.

Check in was extremely quick with 5 people on check in duty when I arrived.
Ask for a higher floor if possible. As Platinum member you will likely be upgraded to a suite but these are on 3rd floor from my experience.

Rooms are fine. Firm bed, pillow choice. Flat screen Smart tv with range of channels and news channels. Many in English.
Tea, coffee, mini bar, iron, ironing board, in room safe. Plenty of hanging space and good work space. Wifi throughout the hotel (free to priority club elite but I think for non elite members there is a charge)

Lobby bar is fine serving local beers and a few imported ones. 16 LEI for a large beer.

On teh 1st night my colleague and I went out for food. We were recommended a restaurant called The Red Steak House ( at least I think that is what it is called) which is done like an American steak house. Saddles for seats along the bar ! The food is outstanding and for starters, 2 big steak main courses, side dishes and a few beers each I think the bill for 2 people came to around 75GBP / $120. Quick service, friendly English speaking staff, great atmosphere and excellent food. We were there on a Wednesday night and they have a live singer. Eating steak and listening to blues....a good combination. The place is only a 10 minute walk from the hotel and the neighbourhood is perfectly safe.
**TIP** try the dark beer.

2nd night we stayed in the hotel and as we both had access to the club lounge on the top floor we stayed there.
Nice quiet lounge on the top floor with complimentary food and drinks. Snacks during the afternoon and a light buffet selection in the evening that had sushi, chicken and rice, cheeses, soup etc etc. Alcoholic drinks from 6pm. Choice of wines, beers, whiskys and spirits.
This lounge is quiet and relaxing and has plenty of plug sockets for charging phones /tablets/notebooks etc.

I took breakfast in the main breakfast area each morning.
Omelette station, sausages, bacon, mushrooms, scrambled eggs, potatoes are your choice of hot.
Huge cold selection of fruits, cheeses, meats, salad and wide choices of bread on teh cold section.
And the coffee.
I had read somewhere on one of the TA reviews for this place about the breakfast coffee. They weren't wrong. It is fantastic! I normally grind my coffee fresh every morning and this certainly tasted as if it had just been ground fresh before it was poured. Both mornings it was delicious.

Then up to the room for a shower and get ready to leave.
The bathroom has all the usual stuff as well as built in vanity mirror with lights and a hair dryer for the ladies. The bath is nice and deep (although seems to be slightly raised so may be awkward for some to get into / out of) and the shower strips the skin off your back which is great. Full pressure and lots of hot water. Certainly wakes you up!

I didnt use either of the restaurants at night time and didn't use the gym or pool.

The hotel is an Intercontinental and so you expect a certain standard but it is the small things that make a difference. Like the small card that is left in your room each day telling you what the weather will be like the next day and some bullet point facts about Bucharest / Romanian history or folklore.

If there was one 'thing' that I noticed, because it was so cold outside (I was here in February) then the ambient temperature of the hotel overall was turned up so that even though I had the thermostat in my room set to 18C then the room was still warm due to the 'over ride' aircon with warm air. But thats just because I like a cold bedroom. My wife would have loved it being warm!

A fantastic hotel that will not disappoint.

Room Tip: As high as possible and facing the university square. Upgrade to a club room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim_Owen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinenta... B, General Manager at InterContinental Bucharest, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dera Guest,

Thank you for such a great and detailed review. It is a real pleasure to read your comments. I am so delighted to see that you have enjoyed our services especially when you have tried most of them. I hope for the next visit you will try also the dinner in our restaurants and also the Gym.
Thank you for all your recommendations.

I do hope you come back to InterContinental Bucharest. I am looking forward to welcome you!

Best wishes,

Stefan Frank

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel was beautiful! The staff are simply some of the best workers in hotels I have had the pleasure to come in contact with! Nothing was to much trouble ever. Food was wonderful, the bedroom "1815" lovely and big. The only down side of this place I had to leave after 6 days!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinenta... B, General Manager at InterContinental Bucharest, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am so happy to read that you found everything you experienced with us, fantastic from start to finish. Thank you for the praises addressed to my colleagues.
It is great that you enjoyed the food so much. Indeed, our Chef really knows how to play with the flavours. Thank you for recommending us.

I am looking forward to your next visit, to create together memorable experiences!

Best wishes,

Stefan Frank

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Good service and comfortable but very faded.
The rooms although clean and comfortable are very much in a time warp and not modern. It's almost going back to a a 90's style hotel.
Despite this the service was very good and was reasonable value.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philipclough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Bucharest, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear philipclough,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your time at the hotel overall, and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Callington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We have just returned from this hotel having attended a darts tournament weekend here, it has been the best most comfortable cleanest hotel we've stayed in so far and we are away every 3weeks, all the staff have been polite and helped in any way needed the spa and gym area are lovely a real bonus food and drink excellent couldn't find any thing bad over the whole weekend I would reccomend to all you won't be disappointed with this hotel can't wait to go again later this year and next year :)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tamm7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinenta... B, General Manager at InterContinental Bucharest, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your excellent review. I am so happy to see that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and that you found all our offerings to your liking. Thank you for recommending us. It is great that you found some time to spend at the 22nd Health Club, it is really worth going especially since it has the nicest view over the city of Bucharest.

I am looking forward to your next visit!

Warm regards
Stefan Frank

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Bucharest
0.4 mi away
Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest
1.5 mi away
JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Epoque Hotel
Epoque Hotel
#2 of 168 in Bucharest
782 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Grand Hotel Continental
#9 of 168 in Bucharest
560 reviews
0.2 mi away
K+K Hotel Elisabeta
K+K Hotel Elisabeta
#7 of 168 in Bucharest
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Bucharest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bucharest

Property: InterContinental Bucharest
Address: Bulevardul Balcescu Nicolae 4 | Bulevardul Nicolae Bălcescu 4, București 010051, Romania +40 21 310 2020, Bucharest 010051, Romania
Phone Number:
Region: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Bucharest
#4 Business Hotel in Bucharest
#4 Family Hotel in Bucharest
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bucharest
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Bucharest 5*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Towering above the city skyline, InterContinental Bucharest is one of the city's favourite international high-rise hotels, a distinction owed to its ideal location, fine appointments and impeccable service. Experience the Club InterContinental Lounge on the 21st floor of the hotel for a memorable stay in a relaxing, private and elegant setting designed to fulfil the expectations of the business travellers. Immerse yourself in the beautifully designed pool, with panoramic city vistas on the 22nd floor. Dine at Corso Brasserie, offering a contemporary Romanian menu and glass walls overlooking Bucharest. For a fine dining experience, try the Modigliani Pasta e Carne, one of the top Italian restaurants in Bucharest.The Old City Center, the Romanian Athenaeum Concert Hall and Cismigiu Gardens are just a few minutes away from the hotel. You’re also within walking distance of Bucharest’s business and shopping districts. Start your Bucharest's itinerary with the amazing city view from your room balcony! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Nozio Netplan srl, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Bucharest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Bucharest Hotel Bucharest
Bucharest Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing