We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful hotel!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Bucharest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
InterContinental Bucharest
Ranked #7 of 171 Hotels in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
2,585 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,924 helpful votes
“A wonderful hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

We spent 2 nights at the hotel, immediately following a very severe snow storm in Bucharest in early February.

The hotel is very centrally located and is known by all the taxi drivers. It's an apx. 30 minutes drive from the airport during rush hours (30-40 Lei – be sure to to ask for small bills when you change to Romanian currency at the airport, as taxi drivers in Bucharest carry no small change).
There's a Metro station right by the hotel (Universitate‏ station), which makes travelling in the city safe, cheap and very easy.

We arrived to the hotel at apx. 18:30.
The lobby is beautifully decorated with dark green marble, a waterfall and flowers.
Despite booking a Club room, we had the check-in at the lobby, which wasn't an issue.
As Platinum Ambassador, our Club room was upgraded to a lovely Junior Suite.

While we waited for our luggage to arrive to our room, we explored it a bit.
It was a Junior Suite on the 16th floor, which included a bedroom, a living room, a small balcony, a main bathroom with a wonderful jacuzzi and and extra bathroom with a shower.
All the walls in the room were covered in what seemed to be a velvet-like fabric. Other than having a very nice feeling to it, it gave the room an extra touch.
The bath amenities were the great usual Intercontinental lemon verbena by Agraria and were plentiful.
The room also included 2 sets of HD TV (with countless channels, many of which in English), a work desk, a sofa, minibars and a Nespresso machine with capsules.
Our welcome amenities included a bottle of wine, some mineral water, fruit, 2 drink coupons for the bar and a hand written welcome letter. One could not hope for a nicer welcome!
The only downside to the room was that it was too hot for comfort and the a/c could not be turned off.

The hotel also included a lovely pool, gym and Italian restaurant, which we did not get a chance to use or eat at.
We had our breakfasts at the "Corso" restaurant. The breakfast was very nice indeed, with made to order eggs, waffles and pancakes, fruit, vegetables, cold cuts and cheese. The made to order coffee was absolutely wonderful, too.

We decided to check out the Club lounge on the 22nd floor, as it is so renowned around Bucharest.
Well, we were not disappointed. Far from it.
This proved to be an excellent lounge, with a library, numerous sofas and tables, computers, a great view of Bucharest (including a fun telescope) and an almost endless array of food and dessert spreads.
While the food in the lounge was very nice during the day, it was absolutely stunning during pre-dinner, and included hot dishes such as soup, pasta and meats, salads, desserts and alcohol.
The attendants at the lounge were very nice and professional and were really very eager to assist (they even closed the lounge's door during a noisy party in the nearby hall, in order to keep it quiet).
All in all, the lounge was absolutely brilliant and well worth the price of a Club room.

Bottom line – this is an excellent hotel in Bucharest, centrally located, with a great infrastructure, wonderful staff at the Club lounge and some amazing food.
Make sure you choose this hotel for your next stay in Bucharest!

Room Tip: Go for at least a Club room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheShis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinenta... B, General Manager at InterContinental Bucharest, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your rewarding review. It is always a pleasure to read that we reached your expectation. I am happy that your stay at the InterContinental Bucharest was a fantastic one. It is great that you had the chance to experience also the Club InterContinental Lounge and you have enjoyed the food and the great view. I hope next time you will manage to visit also the Health Club on the 22nd Floor. I highly recommend not to miss a dinner in our Italian Restaurant Modigliani, it is really worth trying.
Thank you for recommending us.
I am definitely looking forward to your return in the near future to experience more of the InterContinental lifestyle and of course, the city of Bucharest.


All the best,

Stefan Frank

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    669
    403
    104
    18
    16
See reviews for
96
236
134
548
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Great place to escape the stresses of city life. Each room has a balcony. Great views from the upper floors, particularly the club lounge (floor 21) and spa/pool (floor 22). Treat yourself to one of the enormous suites and you will feel like you own the place. Good location. Excellent service.

Room Tip: Worth paying a bit extra for a Club room to access lounge facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinenta... B, General Manager at InterContinental Bucharest, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your excellent review. Thank you for recommending our services and our location.
I am more than happy to read about your great experience with us.

I am looking forward to your new trip in Bucharest and your next visit at the InterContinental Bucharest.

Best wishes,

Stefan Frank

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
177 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

I arrived at this hotel by myself at midnight, 5 months pregnant and after over 24 hours of travel to realize that I hadn't completed my reservation and they didn't have a record of it. I literally didn't have it in me to be upset or start to investigate alternatives and the front desk agent just took control of the situation for me. He sent a housekeeper up to one of the recently renovoated rooms that they were not quite reserving yet to see if it was clean and I might be able to stay there for the night. I was in luck and they sent me on my sleepy way! I needed to move hotels the next night because they were full for the remainder of the week but I am incredibly grateful they figured out a way to accommodate me on the night of my arrival even though it was clearly a mistake on my end.

The hotel is centrally located, the room was larger, there were plenty of treadmills at the gym when I went to workout and the breakfast was great. Overall, very positive experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank becknuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinenta... B, General Manager at InterContinental Bucharest, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review. I am happy that you had an enjoyable time with us and that you for offered to recommend us. It is great that you found the food and the service to your liking.
I look forward to the next opportunity to be of service to you for the next visit to Bucharest!

Best wishes,

Stefan Frank

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
151 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

This 5 Star property located next to the national theater and walking distance to old town

Huge lobby with free wifi , reception with helpful staff and the bar and restaurant located at the same lever

We were upgraded to a Deluxe room. The room was clean and big. I especially love the king size bed because it was really a one king size bed and not two single beds that pushed together

Bathroom was huge and clean with a bath tub. Love the amenities as it came with the manicure set, a scrunchie together with the shower cap. Not to mention the shampoo, conditional and lotion!

The breakfast was great and we super love the super high speed internet!

Definitely will be back to this hotel

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VanessaMunYee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinenta... B, General Manager at InterContinental Bucharest, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your five star review. I am so happy that you had such an enjoyable stay with us, that you found to your liking our offerings and that you loved the high speed Internet service. Thank you for kindly offering to recommend us.

I look forward to the next opportunity to be of service to you, your friends and colleagues.

Best regards,

Stefan Frank

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Good location and friendly staff. The decor in my room was a little tired and outdated. The corridor smelt strongly of cigarette smoke even though it was meant to be a non smoking floor. Breakfast was v good as expected.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinenta... B, General Manager at InterContinental Bucharest, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you for sharing your experience about your recent stay at the InterContinental Bucharest and thank you for all your recommendations. I am glad that you had a pleasant stay with us.

Looking forward to welcome you back!

All the best,

Stefan Frank

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Where to begin? This was the first hotel-Bar I frequented in Bucharest back in 1987. Jet-lagged and wide-awake at midnight, I walked from my hotel on Calea Victoria to the bright lights of the Intercon just up the street. I breezed into the deserted place and located the "dollar" bar on the first floor just steps away from the main entrance--where it remains to this day. But there is more than the old main lobby bar: there are restaurants for quick food and liesurely expensive meals. We also went upstairs to the top floor bar and restaurant where we took in Romanian folk singers and dancers. If you decide to get a room, the views from the top floors are great of the city. Location is right down town a nice walk away from Athene Palace and the Square where the heroes of the 1989 revolt are honored. The Intercon is also right next to the Theater, the University and on the metro. Lots of shops and stores nearby too. So stop in and have a brew and marvel that you are in Bucharest and enjoy the moment.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidh400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinenta... B, General Manager at InterContinental Bucharest, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and thank you for returning to InterContinental Bucharest. I am glad that you came back to us after so many years. I am happy to see that you still find it a nice place to stay when you visit the city of Bucharest.

Thank you for recommending us.

All my very best!

Stefan Frank

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Having visited Bucharest 4 times and beeing a hotelier myself, I have to say that this hotel is for sure the best one!! Where to begin..
-Rooms: Spacious, quiet, very very clean, having all the amenities that someone could ask from a 5* hotel, with balcony and a view (mine was towards the national theater).
-Service: I travel a lot and this has to be the best service I met in a hotel. Really friendly people with a smile on their face (from the Bellboy to the Housekeeping staff), very good knowledge of the city and very very helpful with anything you ask for.
-Breakfast: Excellent buffet until 11 in the morning, with a dedicated chef for your own preference in eggs and omelet.
-Location: Literary in the centre in walking distance of 1 min to the historical centre and the "central Metro station" of the city.
For sure management does a great job!
P.S. Many thanks to all the staff and Bogdan for taking so good care of us during our excellent dinner at the Modigliani. Food and service amazing my friend! Keep up the excellent work!!
See you all again!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PanosB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinenta... B, General Manager at InterContinental Bucharest, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the InterContinental Bucharest! It is really great to read that you found our service to your liking. Thank you for all the compliments addressed to my colleagues. I am so very pleased to see that you have tried our Modigliani Restaurant and your dinner was really excellent. It is a place worth going to..
I am happy that your stay with us was a memorable one.
Thank you again for all the compliments and recommendations.

I am looking forward to the next opportunity to welcome you!

All the best!

Stefan Frank

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Bucharest
0.4 mi away
Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Grand Hotel Continental
#8 of 171 in Bucharest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hotel Christina
Hotel Christina
#1 of 171 in Bucharest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
0.7 mi away
Epoque Hotel
Epoque Hotel
#2 of 171 in Bucharest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Bucharest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bucharest

Property: InterContinental Bucharest
Address: Bulevardul Balcescu Nicolae 4 | Bulevardul Nicolae Bălcescu 4, București 010051, Romania +40 21 310 2020, Bucharest 010051, Romania
Phone Number:
Region: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Bucharest
#4 Business Hotel in Bucharest
#4 Family Hotel in Bucharest
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bucharest
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Bucharest 5*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Towering above the city skyline, InterContinental Bucharest is one of the city's favourite international high-rise hotels, a distinction owed to its ideal location, fine appointments and impeccable service. Experience the Club InterContinental Lounge on the 21st floor of the hotel for a memorable stay in a relaxing, private and elegant setting designed to fulfil the expectations of the business travellers. Immerse yourself in the beautifully designed pool, with panoramic city vistas on the 22nd floor. Dine at Corso Brasserie, offering a contemporary Romanian menu and glass walls overlooking Bucharest. For a fine dining experience, try the Modigliani Pasta e Carne, one of the top Italian restaurants in Bucharest.The Old City Center, the Romanian Athenaeum Concert Hall and Cismigiu Gardens are just a few minutes away from the hotel. You’re also within walking distance of Bucharest’s business and shopping districts. Start your Bucharest's itinerary with the amazing city view from your room balcony! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your InterContinental Bucharest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Bucharest Hotel Bucharest
Bucharest Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing