We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bit outdated but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Bucharest
Ranked #6 of 172 Hotels in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Bit outdated but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

I have to say that on arrival the big lobby was impressive. But once I got to the room I felt a bit disappointed.

However, the room had this old carpet but was extremely clean. Great view overlooking the city.

The highlight o our stay was the breakfast. It was just delicious and so chillaxing. You can sit, order your cappuccino ( that was perfectly made) and have a relaxing breakfast.

Here is a great tip: free wifi is only available in the lobby. In the room it is an extra €15 per day. However, I did connect on the lobby and went back to my room and it was still working. So I repeated again in the next day and guess what? It worked again :)

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank T_FortyPlusCountries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanFBucharest, General Manager at InterContinental Bucharest, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at the InterContinental Bucharest. I am happy to know that your experience with our services was as you expected.
In the light of your comments, I have noted the observations regarding the need to renovate the hotel which will be definitely considered in our future actions.
It is great that you had a memorable and enjoyable breakfast experience, very important for a good start of the day.
Thank you for recommending us.

I hope you will return to Bucharest and choose us as your home away from home.

Best wishes,

Stefan Frank

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    682
    411
    106
    18
    16
See reviews for
97
241
138
557
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Free wifi for those on the rewards plan. Worth signing up just for that!
Location is good and central for the old town. Hotel is very nice and rooms are typical business hotel facilities. Had a balcony with a great view of the city (although the city isn't a great view).
On the whole ideal place to stay when visiting.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonPainter123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanFBucharest, General Manager at InterContinental Bucharest, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your rewarding review. I am happy to read that you have found our hotel nice and up to your expectations. Thank you for choosing InterContinental and for recommending us.

I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back for your next visit in the city of Bucharest.

Bet wishes,

Stefan Frank

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv District, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

I would like to recopmend on this hotel, the staff are service oriented and very nice
in particular the staff from the bar which made our stay in hotel awsome!
the hotel is veru clean and close to most of the attractions the city can offer

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OShlomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanFBucharest, General Manager at InterContinental Bucharest, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write an excellent review and indeed for choosing InterContinental Bucharest.
I am absolutely delighted that you would highly recommend our hotel. Thank you for the compliments addressed to my team.

I sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Stefan Frank

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Very traditional IC, good service and great location. Club lounge was excellent- both in service and food.
Unfortunately had a flood in our bathroom at 5 am from a problem in the room above us resulting in a poor nights sleep, then an incident at the gym/ pool (fitness centre guests reserving sun loungers for friends that have not arrived). Staff were good at dealing with the physical threats from a member in the gym, although would not recommend this hotel if you were relying on sun loungers/ relaxing gym experience.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank qwertyjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanFBucharest, General Manager at InterContinental Bucharest, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at the InterContinental Bucharest. Please accept my apologises for the inconveniences experienced. Please rest assured that we are taking all the necessary actions to prevent any similar situations in the future. Thank you for all the compliments addressed to the team and for all the recommendations. I am happy that you enjoyed the Club InterContinental Lounge and you found it excellent.

I hope I will have the chance to welcome you back in the near future!

Best wishes,

Stefan Frank

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Overall it was a nice experience. The location is very good. Just in front there is a metro station. Just 5 minutes walk you can reach to old city town. it is very clean and the staff are very kind. Internet is very efficient because they have placed the modem in the room (but I'm not sure if they have it in every room). However, there are some defencies in details especially in the bathroom. they used the best syphon but the worst water taps. so you can not easily adjust the flow of water and the temperature of the water in bath. and the pipes of the sink is probably filled up with dirt because when you wash your hands the water doesn't flow enough so the sink fills with water. to prevent this you should open the tap very slightly..
Anyway as I said the overall comfort is very good. The breakfast is very nice. I advice you to taste mushroom and cheese omelette. best regards.

Room Tip: The room should look at the old city town and top floors (higher than 10)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Socif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanFBucharest, General Manager at InterContinental Bucharest, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your thoughts about your stay at the InterContinental Bucharest. I appreciate all the observations which will be considered for future actions. I am glad that your overall experience was an enjoyable one.

Thank you for all the recommendations. I am happy that you have tried the breakfast omelette. It is really popular.

Looking forward to welcome you back.

All the best,


Stefan Frank

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

I spent one night at this hotel in July and I found it amazing. At a close walking distance to the old center, room was comfortable, allowed for smoking, with fruit waiting for me and with a super bed. When you travel a lot it is good to feel like at home. Breakfast is just great, kind people, always with a smile (not always easy!) and helpful to indicate me where I could find a close place in the center for dinner, or help me with the baggage. Fantastic.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lfernanp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanFBucharest, General Manager at InterContinental Bucharest, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing InterContinental Bucharest for your stay in the city and thank you for your feedback. It is really rewarding to read about your experience. I am happy to see that my team and I could bring you the feeling of being home, here with us. It is great that you found our services fantastic. Thank you for recommending us and for all the praises addressed to my colleagues.

I am looking forward to welcome you back.

All the best,

Stefan Frank

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We loved our stay in the InterContinental Bucharest. The staff were helpful and friendly and as my husband is a frequent "stayer" at other InterContinental hotels, they upgraded us to a suite with a comfortable bed, beautiful balcony and left wine and fruit in our room. We enjoyed the use of the Club Room which was well worth the upgrade because on a number of nights we didn't even need to go out - the food was sufficient along with free drinks. We also drank at the bar downstairs with the most talented piano player and friendly bar staff. They serve a good drink too. Concierge helped us with a tour with a very knowledgeable guide. All in all we enjoyed our stay immensely.

Room Tip: Pay extra for club room. Unless you plan to go out every meal, it is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sailfisherflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanFBucharest, General Manager at InterContinental Bucharest, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience about the recent stay at the InterContinental Bucharest. It is a pleasure to read your nice words and to find out that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. I am happy to see that you have enjoyed both the Lounge and the bar atmosphere and that you found the hotel with its services, to be a great one.Thank you for all the compliments addressed to the team and thank you for all your recommendations.

Looking forward to your next visit!

Best wishes

Stefan Frank

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Bucharest
0.4 mi away
Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest
1.5 mi away
JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Christina
Hotel Christina
#1 of 172 in Bucharest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
0.8 mi away
Epoque Hotel
Epoque Hotel
#2 of 172 in Bucharest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Grand Hotel Continental
#8 of 172 in Bucharest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Bucharest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bucharest

Property: InterContinental Bucharest
Address: Bulevardul Balcescu Nicolae 4 | Bulevardul Nicolae Bălcescu 4, București 010051, Romania +40 21 310 2020, Bucharest 010051, Romania
Phone Number:
Region: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Bucharest
#4 Family Hotel in Bucharest
#4 Business Hotel in Bucharest
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bucharest
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Bucharest 5*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Towering above the city skyline, InterContinental Bucharest is one of the city's favourite international high-rise hotels, a distinction owed to its ideal location, fine appointments and impeccable service. Experience the Club InterContinental Lounge on the 21st floor of the hotel for a memorable stay in a relaxing, private and elegant setting designed to fulfil the expectations of the business travellers. Immerse yourself in the beautifully designed pool, with panoramic city vistas on the 22nd floor. Dine at Corso Brasserie, offering a contemporary Romanian menu and glass walls overlooking Bucharest. For a fine dining experience, try the Modigliani Pasta e Carne, one of the top Italian restaurants in Bucharest.The Old City Center, the Romanian Athenaeum Concert Hall and Cismigiu Gardens are just a few minutes away from the hotel. You’re also within walking distance of Bucharest’s business and shopping districts. Start your Bucharest's itinerary with the amazing city view from your room balcony! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Bucharest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Bucharest Hotel Bucharest
Bucharest Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing