We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest place to stay in the center of Bucharest.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Bucharest
Ranked #9 of 167 Hotels in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Nicest place to stay in the center of Bucharest.”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

The hotel is clean and the staff is nice and courteous. Breakfast was included, which is great. Food is fresh. A little noisy if you open the balcony door, as there is construction all around the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dterbanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    717
    433
    111
    21
    17
See reviews for
105
262
144
582
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pollone, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Luxury, confort, kindness and the best position. These are the key words of this hotel, located in the centre of the city, close to the Opera and to the University, few steps also from the underground stop "University".
Space in the rooms, well equipped. Staff very kind and efficient. Good also the Italian restaurant that offers some special dishes from different countries.
Very good organized also the transfer to or from the airport with private care.
The view from high floors is great, you can see the city from the top, nice duirng the day and amazing with the lights during the night.

Room Tip: The rooms are spacious and well equipped, but you have to choose a room on high floor, to have a vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

I loved my stay here, for two reasons: The hotel itself, and for the staff.

The hotel is centrally located, and walkable to many sites of interest.

After traveling for a week and staying in smaller hotels, this was a great change to a classic hotel. The elevators were quick. The halls were well carpeted and the walls, as in the rooms, were padded fabric, so it was SO VERY quiet.

The rooms were large, with a large,very comfortable bed. As I said, the walls in the rooms are padded fabric, so you'll get plenty of quiet and sleep easily.Plenty of shelf and storage space.
The bathroom had great water pressure, with plenty of counter space.

Each room has a balcony, which is good for those of us who are smokers who don't want to smoke in the room.

Great bar in the lobby. As we had a higher-level reservation, we had access to a "Club Room," gym, pool, and hot tub on the top floors. The pool is not huge; but it was never crowded, so it was a nice place to get away and have a swim.

The "Club Room" was large and had a nice spread of food and drinks, with a wonderful view of the city. HOWEVER, the club room was tragically under-staffed. Only one person was working there on the several visits I made to the club. This person was sitting at her desk working; and I had to interrupt her from her work to get coffee (necessary in the morning, especially). As she was the only one working, subsequent visitors to the club had to wait for her to emerge before they could get coffee or anything else they wanted that was not on offer. On one visit, I had to wait 20 minutes for her to emerge from the back kitchen to help me, as there was no one else on staff. For such a high-end hotel, they really need two or even three people to work in this room. If you should book the Club level reservation, you are much better off going downstairs to get your early morning coffee.

Also be aware that while you can smoke downstairs at the bar, you cannot smoke in the Club Room.

As for the front desk staff, I cannot tell you how helpful they were. To make a long story short, a cell phone fell out of my travelmate's pocket in a cab. To retrieve it, the hotel staff scanned the security tapes, called the cab company, and eventually got the phone back. All with efficiency and pleasant attitudes. As we were leaving, they even told us what to expect in the next city and told us some of the history and anecdotes about the area.

One final note: the security guard at the front behaved during the "missing phone incident" as if it were his own phone that was lost, and helped in any way he could until the phone was back in our hands. He worked quietly and efficiently, without trying to draw attention to himself; but we felt much better knowing he was there and helping. He seemed to be working 24 hours, and he even helped out in the Club Room upstairs on one occasion. I cannot say enough good things about him. The epitome of quiet dignity and duty.

So stay here - for the hotel's comforts, and for the staff.

Room Tip: Request a room on the front for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanFBucharest, General Manager at InterContinental Bucharest, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the InterContinental Bucharest.
I am happy to read that you enjoyed your recent visit at the hotel and we are glad to have made an impact in your stay in Bucharest, and we are even more excited to read of your great review online.
I am sure that a lot of travellers, whether leisure or business, will benefit from your review, highlighting your experiences from the moment you arrived, to the detailed description of the room, and most especially the service you have received from my colleagues. It is really great that the issue with the phone has been solved.

Your words will not only motivate my colleagues, but inspire the entire team at InterContinental Bucharest to continue creating the best service experience.

Thank you for recommending us.

Looking forward to your next visit in the nearest future.

Best wishes,

Stefan Frank

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Having a room in this hotel was my best experience ever about hotels. Amazing services,beautiful cosy room,great fancy food and the view from the room exceeded expectations. I would come back here anytime for such an amazing treat.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andreea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanFBucharest, General Manager at InterContinental Bucharest, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience about your recent stay at the InterContinental Bucharest.
I am really happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit at the hotel and that you were particularly pleased by the overall service provided to you.

Thank you for acknowledging positive elements of your stay, as it is from your feedback that we will be able to uphold our commitment to excellence. I am sure that a lot of travellers, whether leisure or business, will benefit from your review.

Thank you for recommending us.

Looking forward to your next stay at the InterContinental Bucharest!

Best wishes!

Stefan Frank

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
685 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 476 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Stayed here 3 nights on business - I needed a good base in the city and the Intercon was an excellent location. Very high standards. Super fast problem free check in and out. The room was spacious and clean and nicely appointed - bed a bit hard. Staff were excellent - concierge were outstanding - so helpful really 10/10. I would stay here again and highly recommend it. It makes life so much easier when you stay in an excellent hotel like this.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank regulartraveller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanFBucharest, General Manager at InterContinental Bucharest, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your excellent review. It is great to read that you found InterContinental Bucharest excellent for a business traveller. Thank you for the compliments addressed to the team and for highly recommending us.

I am looking forward to welcome you again in the nearest future!

Best wishes!

Stefan Frank

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I love traveling, I've been to many places around the world but the Intercontinental in Bucharest was one of the best experiences I've had, we arrived early in the morning and were able to get a room right away, very clean, knowledgeable and friendly staff, breakfast was included with the room, great selection of healthy food . Best part of the experience was the fact that I forgot my watch in the room and I called a week later, they were so helpful and made the effort to ship it all the way to Canada. Thank you staff at Intercontinental, you are amazing

Room Tip: Best place in Bucharest
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanFBucharest, General Manager at InterContinental Bucharest, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your rewarding review. It a pleasure for my team and I to read these thoughts about your stay at the InterContinental Bucharest. I am very happy that we were part of a memorable experience.

Thank you for recommending us.

Looking forward for your next visit!

All the best!

Stefan Frank

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timisoara, Romania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

We had a very nice honeymoon break together with my wife. We stayed for 2 nights and upgraded from the beginning to executive lounge access. It was a very pleasant experience and we recharged our batteries properly. Service and food was excellent. The Club Lounge manager blended us with the atmosphere with probably the best capuccino in town. We strongly recommend the upgrade.

Helpful?
Thank Sebastian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Bucharest
0.4 mi away
Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest
1.5 mi away
JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Epoque Hotel
Epoque Hotel
#2 of 167 in Bucharest
770 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Grand Hotel Continental
#6 of 167 in Bucharest
551 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Bucarest City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Bucharest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bucharest

Property: InterContinental Bucharest
Address: Bulevardul Balcescu Nicolae 4 | Bulevardul Nicolae Bălcescu 4, București 010051, Romania +40 21 310 2020, Bucharest 010051, Romania
Phone Number:
Region: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Bucharest
#4 Family Hotel in Bucharest
#4 Business Hotel in Bucharest
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bucharest
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Bucharest 5*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Towering above the city skyline, InterContinental Bucharest is one of the city's favourite international high-rise hotels, a distinction owed to its ideal location, fine appointments and impeccable service. Experience the Club InterContinental Lounge on the 21st floor of the hotel for a memorable stay in a relaxing, private and elegant setting designed to fulfil the expectations of the business travellers. Immerse yourself in the beautifully designed pool, with panoramic city vistas on the 22nd floor. Dine at Corso Brasserie, offering a contemporary Romanian menu and glass walls overlooking Bucharest. For a fine dining experience, try the Modigliani Pasta e Carne, one of the top Italian restaurants in Bucharest.The Old City Center, the Romanian Athenaeum Concert Hall and Cismigiu Gardens are just a few minutes away from the hotel. You’re also within walking distance of Bucharest’s business and shopping districts. Start your Bucharest's itinerary with the amazing city view from your room balcony! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Nozio Netplan srl, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Bucharest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Bucharest Hotel Bucharest
Bucharest Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing