We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romanian House of Parliament”

Palace of Parliament
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
US$34.01*
and up
Communist Bucharest History Tour
Ranked #11 of 286 things to do in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The world's second largest building was built as a palace for Nicolae Ceauşescu, who was overthrown and executed before it was completed.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Romanian House of Parliament”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I have lived in Romania, I am born here and I saw the Bucharest town transformation in order to build this giant building. I have never visited it in a tour guide, without having in mind a well defined reason. Perhaps, because it is in my home proximity (I arrive there by foot) and as far I know, needs a serious preparation, the visit being absolutely guided and for a limited number of people. However, this building exists grace to our past and last mad mind dictator, Nicolae Ceausescu (absolute Romanian leader from 1965 to 1989, and leader before, since 1946). As far as I know, it is the second large administrative building in the World, after Pentagon, i.e. first in Europe with regards to this category. This attracts mainly foreigners and increasing number of Romanians who would appreciate it as a present result, people sufferings for it remaining in the history.

The building seems unique in its exterior architecture, apparently not very regular and by far very large. It is encountered by a total length of about 4 km roads, subject to the annual Bucharest cross and as well marathon, in beginning October. I have briefly seen the building interior in my participation to the Water Conference: the spaces are large and one would see a lot of marble, since the Ceausescu leader was very found of this construction material, not available at that time for ordinary people funeral monuments.

For its singularity, I admit this building became emblematic for Bucharest and I intend really to pay it a visit, not too far in time.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cristian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,809 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,040
    1,788
    722
    172
    87
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eance, France
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A monstrous carbuncle.”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Our guide was excellent, very well versed in her subject and I collared her after the tour for another 20 minute chat which she was more than happy to do.
The place itself (for me anyway) is absolutely grotesque, a true vision of dictatorial profligacy, but if you're in Bucharest you really should see it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bobleponge216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
2 reviews
“Impressive”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Take the middle "class" tour of the parliament. It is reasonable price and will show you all you have to see. Really impressive and beautiful building. the view from the top of it is to die for!!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Todor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The Second Large building after Pentagon”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Well, coming to Bucharest is worth to spend some time (approximately 75 minutes) for a visit to this Communist Landmark. Though on its place existed a wonderful architectural house district (has been demolished, lost forever), today represents a must for the Bucharest's visitors.
The building intrigues by its sizes, monumentality, position (dominant) and last for the materials that were used to be decorated inside.
Few figures are relevant: it measures 270 m (890 ft) by 240 m (790 ft), 86 m (282 ft) high, and 92 m (302 ft) underground. It has 1,100 rooms, 2 underground parking garages and is 12 stories tall, with four underground levels currently available for the general public and in use, and another four in different stages of completion. The floorspace is 340,000 m2 (3,700,000 sq ft). Built in an eclectic neoclasical style the structure combines elements and motifs from multiple sources.
Today's the Palace of the Parliament, was meant to become the Civic Centre (intended to become a bigger area than the famous Champs Elysee), required demolishing much of Bucharest's historic district, including 19 Orthodox Christian churches, six Jewish synagogues, three Protestant churches (plus eight relocated churches - one can still be visited Mihai Voda Church - translated behind the actual blocks from its initial position), and 30,000 residences.
A highlight of the Palace is the huge Chandelier that has more than 4000 bulbs and approximately one tone.
In the end worth to mention that according to the World Book of Records, the Palace is the world's largest civilian building with an administrative function, most expensive administrative building and heaviest building.

The rest I leave to discover yourselves.

PS: The access is to be made from 2-4 Izvor St. everyday between 10 - 16 hrs. I suggest a prior reservation for the visit (tel 021 414 1426). For standard tour (aprox. 60 min.) the entrance fee is 25 Lei (Ron). You MUST have your ID card or passport to you. N.B: For persons in wheel chairs the access is to be made separately to a different access way and IS A MUST TO LET THEM KNOW IN ADVANCE.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank DANMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“huge strange unique building”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

you should see the Palace because 1. it's the most important Bucharest landmark 2. it's something different from anything you've seen before. the size of it, the pseudo-grandeur of some of the interiors, the spirit of Romania's last communist years makes it worth a visit

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank dorinser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Palace of Parliament also viewed

 

Been to Palace of Parliament? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing