We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a drive by”

Palace of Parliament
Book In Advance
More Info
US$33.25*
and up
Communist Bucharest History Tour
Ranked #8 of 279 things to do in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The world's second largest building was built as a palace for Nicolae Ceauşescu, who was overthrown and executed before it was completed.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Worth a drive by”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

Yes, the first view of this building is overwhelmingly huge. But the main entrance is a mess of disorganization. Jammed with people; They only do organized tours... stand in line to get tickets, then stand in another line for you tour... Hard to tell where the lines are! Not cheap either... so we opted to go to the gift shop to look at a picture book of the "rooms" that you were allowed to see.

Not that impressive in content... and very little original furnishings... So we managed to get through the sea people and escape! I'm content we passed on this and spent the rest of day exploring the Old City in the sunshine.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank JennyC282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,928
    1,693
    673
    163
    82
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Inefficient”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Interesting to see the Palace. TOO many people on each tour. The extended tour to see the roof is NOT worth the time or expense. The elevator could only take six people on average at a time (including the elevator operator), and it was slow. So for a group of 30 to 40 people, it added an hour to the tour just to shuttle everyone up and down. And you cannot leave the tour early, so we sat and waited for everyone to get to the elevator and then ride down in small groups.

Save the time and money, skip the rooftop visit, and see something else in the city.

Also, be prepared to surrender your passport at the beginning of the tour. They keep that until the tour is over.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chisinau, Moldova
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

I saw it in books, I heard about it, and I saw in Grimus video for the song "Selfie". I wanted to see it in reality with proper eyes. It is impressive! Famous, huge and unusual!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoetermeer, Nederland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Big is really BIG”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Of course a not to be missed happening in Bucharest. Reports that the guides would be 'superficial' was untrue. Our guide for the tour of this impossible building was knowledgeable to a high degree (24/8 1200 English). And that was only part of the story.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Visenta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great guided tour of this palace”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

We arrived 10am Sunday and straight away joined an English-speaking tour. Guide was very informative. Chance to ask questions. Rooms were amazing in size and decoration. Due to the circumstances surrounding this building, the rooms are not furnished. Went out onto the balcony for a picture opportunity. Took a 13 and 10 year old and they enjoyed it too. Be prepared to leave your passports at reception while on the tour. Will go back next year and do the underground tour.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank ClaireB4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Palace of Parliament also viewed

 

Been to Palace of Parliament? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing