We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostel of the year”
Review of Umbrella Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Umbrella Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014

That must have been the best hostel I've stayed at. Atmospheric, at the heart of the city, yet quiet and cosy. Clean, elegant and well-planned from the architectural point of view. The staff was exceptionally helpful and well-informed, making our stay an ever nicer one. We will surely recommend it to anyone travelling to Bucharest.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank krajeski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

This is one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at! Clean, modern, well-organized and great natural light but still with Romanian touches (spiral stairs, skeleton keys). Bogdan was so helpful with any questions we had and was just super friendly. Marco and Stefan were great too. Common rooms such as living room and kitchen were very conducive to meeting other travelers and we found it easy to chat with people. Rooms were very secure and comfortable and the outdoor space is perfect!
Location was convenient, just 2 min from a major intersection with buses and a Metro station but tucked away on a quiet street. Staff make sure to give you a map and plenty of suggestions on arrival.
Seriously, very welcoming and warm, friendly place to stay! Thank you Bogdan, Marco, Stefan!

Room Tip: Room 101 has a private bathroom but other, non-ensuite private rooms are great too. Still plenty of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helliion6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The staff were very helpful. The facilities in the hostel are excellent compared to other hostels I have stayed at. Room was clean and it was easy to meet people in the hostel. It is about a ten minute walk to the old town/city.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deank06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

A 15/20 minute walk from the old town but nonetheless well situated.

Very relaxed, clean and, I would say, one of the best hostels I have stayed at on my travels through Asia and Europe.

Valentino is also very knowledgeable about where to go for sights and sounds.

Breakfast included was a bonus - toast, cereal, cheese, salami, coffee etc..

Very recommended.

Oh... and for 40 pounds for a three night stay, you can't go wrong!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

It's one of the best hostel I've ever been in Europe. Nice and clean rooms with comfortable beds. It has a good kitchen, a nice living room and very friendly stuff. My friend and I really enjoyed our time in the Umbrella hostel.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Serena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

The staff were really helpful and friendly. The hostel was kept very clean. I enjoyed chatting with the other guests and mixing in the common rooms. I loved the outdoor courtyard and its privacy from the street.Breakfast was nice for it's price.The location was wonderfully accessible to all I needed. I would definitely recommend it.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Georgyana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

If you have tried other hostels before, you will see how perfect is Umbrella hostel. A beautiful building, extremely clean, comfortable bedrooms, a big and brand new kitchen, a nice living room ... The staff, composed of young and nice guys is always around and very helpful. The neighbourhood is also very cool, even though it's not exactely at the centre of the city : many bars, clubs, nice shops and a awesome shaorma a few steps away.
Really nothing else to say : you will feel home at Umbrella !

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
1.1 mi away
Antique Hostel
Antique Hostel
#4 of 153 in Bucharest
311 reviews
1 mi away
Little Bucharest Old Town Hostel
1.8 mi away
Bucur's Shelter Hostel
Bucur's Shelter Hostel
#2 of 153 in Bucharest
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
X Hostel Bucharest
X Hostel Bucharest
#14 of 153 in Bucharest
226 reviews
1.3 mi away
Crazy Duck Hostel
Crazy Duck Hostel
#6 of 153 in Bucharest
131 reviews
1.8 mi away
First Hostel Bucharest
First Hostel Bucharest
#11 of 153 in Bucharest
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umbrella Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umbrella Hostel

Address: General Christian Tell 21, Bucharest, Romania
Region: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 153 Speciality Lodging in Bucharest
Price Range: £8 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Umbrella Hostel is located in one of the few areas in Bucharest from where you can walk to any of the city’s points of interest. The building itself is a 1920s professionally restored house, with a capacity of 32 beds, arranged in 6 double/triple rooms, one 4 bedroom and two 8 bedrooms. We have a beautiful outdoor terrace which can accommodate all of our guests at once.. Free WIFI, free HDTV, Breakfast Not Included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Umbrella Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing