We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST HOSTEL EVER!”
Review of Umbrella Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Umbrella Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BEST HOSTEL EVER!”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This hostel is sooo good! Really clean, with good facilities (wifi, computer, washing & laundry) and a lovely little courtyard to sit in for coffee, food or a chat. The people are really helpful, giving us tips about where to go and what to see, being really knowledgeable about Bucuresti and how to cater for different tastes. They are always ready to help out no matter how many times you bother them! Really reasonably priced too. The best hostel we've stayed in! Thankyou so much for a great three days, from Caitlin, Lily and Sarah (UK) x

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 737LilyF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    33
    1
    4
    0
See reviews for
4
54
93
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I stayed at the Umbrella hostel while in Bucharest for a few nights and it was an amazing time. The staff were very friendly and welcoming, and were always alert and ready to respond to my queries or needs. They also provided great advice on what to do around the city. The room was very clean and cosy, and the daily free breakfast was rich and filling. An historic and culturally rich ambiance pervades the hostel, as it occupies one of the old-style early 20th century buildings of Bucharest - the main lounge and rooms are thus spacious with high ceilings. The hostel is very centrally located and all major sights of the city are easily accessed from it, while it is also a very safe area, being just a hundred metres or so from the French embassy. I would highly recommend the Umbrella hostel for any visitors to Bucharest.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Very nice experience, great staff, location, atmosphere and facilities. Staff are friendly and helpfull with travel plans. The city had msny things of interest and cool bars and cafes. Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: 8 dorm room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PeteSydney111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We spent 1 night in Bucharest before heading to Transylvania and this hostel was very cheap and nice. The night guard (Stefan) was an absolute legend, rooms were clean, and breakfast was included (never seen this in a hostel before). And on top of this, there is an open air bar/lounge with nice music and ping pong tables, just around the corner. We highly recommend this.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andreas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Went here with my brother, hostel was nice and the facilities were great. The guys working there were very helpful which made the stay even more pleasant, they even came with recommendations for our further journey.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JacobBertelsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

After one week of traveling around Romania this hostel remains the best. It was easy to find via the bus from the airport and walking distance (for me) to all the city sites I wanted to see. The hostel was nice and clean with outside garden area. Staff were welcoming and helpful.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank pthft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Valentin and all the fabulous staff at umbrella hostel are doing everything right to create THE most perfect and lovely hostel environment we can imagine. We really enjoyed their thoughtful recommendations, help and company!
What seemed clear was the genuine care for their guests, after falling ill Valentine did all that he could to insure I got the best medical attention.
Umbrella is the perfect balance of being a sociable hostel with a 'party' feel, and a family-friendly peaceful atmosphere, referring to it as 'home' can only be a true indication of how welcomed we felt.

Kitchen/breakfast/beds/bathrooms etc were also excellent.

It's impossible to describe how much we loved it, how sad we were to leave, and how desperate we are to make sure we come back asap!

Grace & Tash x

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graceash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Christina
Hotel Christina
#1 of 166 in Bucharest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Bucharest City Center
0.3 mi away
Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Capitol Hotel
Capitol Hotel
#10 of 166 in Bucharest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rembrandt Hotel
Rembrandt Hotel
#4 of 166 in Bucharest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Bucharest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umbrella Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umbrella Hostel

Property: Umbrella Hostel
Address: General Christian Tell 21, Bucharest, Romania
Region: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 136 Speciality Lodging in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Umbrella Hostel is located in one of the few areas in Bucharest from where you can walk to any of the city’s points of interest. The building itself is a 1920s professionally restored house, with a capacity of 32 beds, arranged in 6 double/triple rooms, one 4 bedroom and two 8 bedrooms. We have a beautiful outdoor terrace which can accommodate all of our guests at once.. Free WIFI, free HDTV, Breakfast Not Included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Umbrella Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing