We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel in Bucharest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marshal Garden Hotel
Ranked #38 of 169 Hotels in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I travelled to Bucharest twice in Sept 2013, stayed here both times. The rooms are fantastic, as is the restaurant. The staff are all amazing and have perfect English, and nothing seemed to be a problem. They can arrange a decent (and safe) car and driver for your airport transfers, tours of the city, etc... yes there are weddings on Saturday nights (two were held on the night I was there) but the noise is not such a problem. The price is amazing for the quality of the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

I travelled to Bucharest to see Chelsea play Steaua Bucharest in the Champions League.
I had chosen this hotel as it appeared to represent excellent value for money and was billed as a 5-star establishment.
I wasn't disappointed, although there is something about the place that is not quite 5-star.
I can't really put my finger on it as the place itself, the rooms, and the staff were all excellent.
The hotel is ultra modern and the rooms are spacious, offer minimalist chic, and are kept beautifully clean. The shower was one of the very best I have ever enjoyed. The bed was very comfortable. The only downside is the rather complicated lighting system, including that in the corridors which work on a sensor.
I only used the restaurant for breakfast and it offered the standard buffet fare in a light and airy room.
The bar in the foyer is quite small and shuts at 9 pm (perhaps that belies the wannabe 5-star tag). There are plenty of decent bars nearby however so this is no great drama unless you just fancy a late drink then up to bed.
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, facilitating our booking a trip round the former palace of Ceausescu (well worth a visit) ; sorting taxis (well worth it as there are plenty of rogue taxi- drivers with different tariffs) ; and helping produce our return boarding passes. Top marks.
The hotel is situated on the right side of the city if you are watching football at the national stadium and is handy for the airport.
All in all a great hotel (probably 4 star+) and excellent value for money.

Oh...and Chelsea won. 4-0.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JD-ASCOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

In general, the hotel is ok, rooms are spacious, fixtures are modern and above average quality, minor problems here and there like the shower and toilet doors and the funky lighting in the room. Staff is nice and helpful. The hotel lacks the class of a 5 star hotel, but given the below average price, that's ok.

The major problem, however, is a Saturday night during wedding season. If you need a room in Bucharest on a Saturday between April and November, do not make the mistake of booking at this hotel, unless you are part of the wedding. The hotel management places a warning letter in your room saying that you will not be able to sleep that night and they mention that at 11:00 PM the music volume will drop. If you're going to wait for that, you will wait until morning, around 5:00 AM. While you press the pillow over your head, you will also wonder if the deep bass is actually coming from the speakers or from the glass in the room windows. A few times you will amazed how they windows have not broken, yet, as they seem to jump off the building, screaming. I've been in some loud places before where the music came through and it was difficult to sleep, especially at the seaside or in wild resorts, but what I experienced here was out of this world -- it was not just the noise coming from the wedding, it was the windows and the walls in the rooms vibrating so loud, you wonder if the building would crumble. In their letter, hotel management mentioned that they'll change your room if the music is too loud, but who wants to switch rooms in the middle of the night (I would have maybe tried, had I known that it would not get quieter until 5:00 AM). They better tell yo to leave the hotel or give up on sleep.

If however, you end up staying at this hotel on a Saturday night during wedding season, you may as well try to crash the wedding (actually there are several weddings at the same time in the hotel), you will have nothing to lose, definitely not sleep as you will not get any anyway.

Room Tip: On Saturdays during wedding season ask for a room at a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Transil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The hotel is approx. 30 to 50 of the local currency from the airport. Beware there are uncivilised taxi drivers that will take your money, also ensure the receipt is the receipt for your journey.
The situation of the hotel is perfect in the centre of Bucharest and a short walk from one of the main streets
The drive up to the hotel is not attractive but once inside it is a very very nice hotel. The foyer is very colourful clean and the hotel staff very welcoming and respectful. Water and apples are available on the desk.
The rooms are very large and spacious the view is fair. The rooms are clean with a large bathroom/ toilet there is a glass partition you can see into the bedroom, just a note for the shy ones.
The rooftop terrace is excellent for coffee and the floor below for breakfast is perfect. The breakfast is very nice if I had one criticism it would be the waiters do not know how to smile and are too efficient as I tend to like to be left on my own for breakfast, just a personal thing.
I would recommend this hotel and know that anyone staying in this 5 star hotel will only sing its praises.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Hotle is very modern, clean room, good facilities, good breakfast and dinner. Room is big and bed confortable, only problem was a bit too much light coming from outside, not great if you need complete darkness for sleeping.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Max248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

A one day stopover, picked up from airport by the hotel limo, excellent way to get from the airport. Hotel very clean and modern, and staff really excellent and helpful. Got me onto the sightseeing bus tour with great directions. Corrected error in account quickly and efficiently. Well done reception.

Room very comfortable if a little quirky. The light in the wardrobe came on at 3AM, and again at 4:30AM, so bright could not keep it from waking me even with door shut. Complained and staff acted as if it was first time they heard of this, Other posts have reported the same issue so no solution on the way anytime soon.

Warning, the sink is designed to spray water at crotch height no matter how gentle the tap is turned on, keep the towel handy or risk embarrassment. And there is no door to the loo if you are sharing a room that could be difficult.

Breakfast a good European choice and very efficient service.

My only negative comment is that smoking was allowed/tolerated in both the bar and the restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshal Garden H, Front Office Manager at Marshal Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Valuable Guest,
Thank you very much, at the beginning for choosing Marshal Garden Hotel, but specially for taking your time to share your experience and your impressions of your stay at Marshal Garden Hotel on Tripadvisor.
We thank you for the nice words and please be sure that we have shared your review with all the personnel.
Your well-being is our concern and we shall strive to provide best services at all times, and we will improve as well some services, and you will see that at your next stay with us.
We certainly look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Marshal Garden Hotel during your next visit to Bucharest, and please do not hesitate to contact me.
Kindest Regards,
Alin Muj
Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I was there for three days; the workshop organisers selected this hotel for the very good meeting facilities. In my humble opinion this hotel should be rated 4* plus rather than 5*, but still is a very good hotel.
The Pros:
- really superb rooms, large enough, confortable and a large bathroom with window (rare!);
- service attentive and efficient;
Normal (very good) for this level:
- value for money (official price is rather at western level, so try the special conditions, then value is very good);
- cleanliness corresponds to status;
Cleaning of clothes is available and efficient.
Internet is free and, when functioning, very quick. One day I experienced falling out in both sleeping room (in the morning) and meeting room (during working day) with two different servers.
Restaurant:
- very good breakfast, superb quality of food in general (Danieli is well known), but
- I was surprized not having the choice of a glass of Prosecco as starter in an Italian restaurant (other than a full bottle) while every 2* pizzeria will have, and to have to pay for some parmigiano cheese extra on my pasta ("the chef's recipe is without, so you have to pay extra", I was told).
Conclusion: I would certainly return for a meeting.
No newspapers available at breakfast, this is a point very easy to improve.

Room Tip: As rooms are located on floors 1 up to 4, try the floors above (better view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Didier D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshal Garden H, Front Office Manager at Marshal Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear Mr Didier,
Thank you for taking your precious time to leave us your kind review.
It is our pleasure to have had you as our guest for this meeting withheld in our Hotel.
We are delighted to hear that your stay with us was at your level of expectations, and the rooms were comfortable, and you enjoyed our services.
We do thank you for your comments and as well for all your recommendations. Please be sure that we will take action in all of them and we will improve every single point as well, and at your next stay with us in Danieli Restaurant you will have the choice of a glass of Prosecco as a starter.
Looking forward to welcoming you again.
Best Regards,
Alin Muj
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Grand Hotel Continental
#15 of 169 in Bucharest
604 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Bucharest
2 mi away
JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Bucharest Hotel
Sheraton Bucharest Hotel
#13 of 169 in Bucharest
365 reviews
0.9 mi away
InterContinental Bucharest
InterContinental Bucharest
#5 of 169 in Bucharest
1,406 reviews
0.6 mi away
Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marshal Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marshal Garden Hotel

Address: calea Dorobantilor, no 50B, sect 1, Bucharest 010574, Romania
Region: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 169 Hotels in Bucharest
Price Range: £72 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Marshal Garden Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MARSHAL GARDEN HOTEL is a a new built 5* hotel located in Romania, in the heart of the capital city: Bucharest, within an area with important tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Marshal Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing