We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay at a Classy Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Pier Business Center
Ranked #126 of 169 Hotels in Bucharest
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We stayed two nights and had a very positive experience. The rooms are beautifully decorated and clean and the staff all spoke fluent English. The customer service was outstanding. We had a wonderful breakfast at the hotel our second morning with eggs, ham, vegetables, and fruit. The location was in close proximity to the Shopping Mall and other shopping venues (grocery store). It was located across from a beautiful church and the neighborhood was nice and quiet. It was a great springboard for our traveling. The hotel has gated security which made us feel even more comfortable knowing there was a guard at the front gate all night. I will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NavyNoleDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2013

You arrive at Bucharest airport, go downstairs and outside; get the 783 bus right there (tickets from the booth, English spoken) and get off at the end of the line at Piata Unirii 2; on the bus there’s a constantly updating screen showing the route map and what other buses connect to your route, and destinations are written up in English and Romanian. The hotel is, literally, just around the corner from the final stop, so that’s easy. It doesn’t look like the best neighbourhood, but it was fine, safe, well lit, there are shops and the main square of the city is right there around the corner, with the famous Old City about 3 minutes’ walk. Even so, the hotel is quiet – a few baying hounds during the night was all.

Pier and his staff are very welcoming and helpful and he showed us around the new hotel which includes a pool and spa, plus lots of business things like conference rooms. There are various types and prices of rooms and we took one of the unique, boutique hotel style ones. Great facilities and a very unique place all round. No great view, but that’s not an issue in this city, good facilities including TV and so on, and the staff even organised our train tickets. On hearing that we were going to also visit Brasov one of the receptionists printed out maps and wrote down information including tips on where to go and what to do as she was from that city.

Breakfast was made up of eggs (omelette or boiled), bacon, salad, and strong coffee. The décor is the real reason for going: slightly baroque with a dash of ultra-modern orange, original murals, art, a display of costumes and dresses, iron furniture, modern fittings, coloured lights, marble floors and… well you have to see it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

They utterly messed up our booking and handled the ensuing problems terribly. Initially they claimed all 3 of our rooms had been trashed by football hooligans, but then had also mentioned our booking so far in advance as being an issue - which just didn't add up, I suspect they'd just given our rooms to other people despite confirming our reservations with us.

They started by suggesting i share a bed with my colleague (!) and our male colleague sleep on a sofa whilst still attempting to charge us more for this single room than we were going to pay for 3 separate rooms! They'd already called us in them morning to confirm our booking but not mentioned the problems then, so did not give us time to find somewhere else to stay. Begrudgingly they gave our male colleague his own, much inferior without WC room whilst myself and a friend had to share a room - very unsatisfactory and it's lucky I get on so well with my colleagues else it could've been quite awkward!

Upon asking if breakfast was included after initially looking very put out she agreed and said we'd get just ONE croissant each - a very strange thing to say, and actually not true - a perfectly nice breakfast was supplied. It transpires breakfast should've been in our price regardless! However, in light of how everything was handled the whole stay was unsatisfactory - no amount of fancy curtains / funky bathroom fittings can make up for being made to feel thoroughly unwelcome and ripped off.

To round off our stay, they hadn't booked us a taxi for the airport despite promising they had so we had extra stress on leaving as we thought we may miss our flights!

Overall - I wouldn't stay here again, and I'd recommend you don't either, there are excellent hotels and very pleasant people in Romania in general, they don't work at Pier Conference & Spa though!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Great rooms, fantastic art all over, brilliant service, impeccable english! The hotel is very new but will definitely become a classic! Location is superb close to old town, easy to find, secure parking. An absolute recommendation for business, conferences and pleasure!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WilbertA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kynopoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Vardakis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DanishTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
0.4 mi away
Europa Royale Bucharest
Europa Royale Bucharest
#16 of 169 in Bucharest
744 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tania Hotel
Tania Hotel
#55 of 169 in Bucharest
71 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Horoscop
Hotel Horoscop
#71 of 169 in Bucharest
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Armonia Hotel
Armonia Hotel
#77 of 169 in Bucharest
90 reviews
1.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Bucharest Hotel & Residence
1.1 mi away
Ibis Bucharest Palatul Parlamentului
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Pier Business Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Pier Business Center

Address: Calea Serban Voda 22-24, Bucharest 040201, Romania (Formerly Pier Conference & Spa)
Region: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 169 Hotels in Bucharest
Price Range: £56 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Pier Business Center 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Bucharest,at only 300 sqm to Old Town GRAND PIER BUSINESS CENTER is one of the largest investments in art creation elements from Bucharest, with the sole intention of providing the customer with the satisfaction of an unique stay. Each of our rooms is equipped with an intelligent access system, ambiental sound system, glass partitions and stained glass plating, unique design, TV set, free high-speed Wi Fi internet connection, intelligent chiller based cooling-heating system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Pier Business Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing