We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't look further. Superb hotel and service.”
Review of Hotel Cismigiu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Cismigiu
Ranked #3 of 166 Hotels in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Don't look further. Superb hotel and service.”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I stayed at Hotel Cismigiu at the start of a spell working in Bucharest before I found an apartment. It is quite simply fantastic, beautiful facade, fantastic modern and clean rooms (apartments really) and incredibly helpful and friendly staff, from the manger to the cleaning/room staff. When the staff found out that it was my birthday from cards in the room the cleaners had seen, they promptly brought up a nice bottle of wine and a card! Breakfast also great in adjoining bar, and a small but tidy and modern gym too. All in all, thanks to all at Hotel Cismigiu for making my introduction to the fascinating City of Bucharest so welcoming and comfortable!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ChrisMM545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatalinBalan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Cismigiu, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
Dear Valuable Guest,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your nice review.

We do our best to satisfy our guests and it is even better if we exceed their expectations.
Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Catalin Balan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    92
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
38
117
36
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

very nice hotel, friendly and helpful staff, very impressive rooms - huge space - sort of apartment or suite with kitchenette and living room as well as nice large bedroom, well located next to a bar and restaurants, strongly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lumzq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatalinBalan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Cismigiu, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you so much for taking time to write this wonderful comment on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted to learn that you deeply appreciated the property and the service.

We do look forward to welcoming you back among us in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Catalin Balan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

My wife researched this hotel on Tripadvisor before our trip in April, and I am glad she chose this when we went on a private trip across Romania.

It is a very modern hotel within a historic building. The room we stayed was very spacious, with a kitchenette, dining table for 4, a living room, and separate bedroom. The bed was the best bed we had during our trip, and I had a really, really good night's sleep. I wish we could have stayed more than one night, if only to lounge and relax in our room. Our room faced the street and had a balcony, which would have provided a great view of a military parade that passed by our hotel.

The only thing that threw me off was breakfast, wherein you had to order eggs and sides from a menu. I guess I didn't see the menu.

Other than that it was a great stay.

Room Tip: Choose the room facing the street, to watch the world go by from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Edison1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatalinBalan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Cismigiu, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Mr. Edison,

Greetings from Hotel Cismigiu Bucharest!

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Hotel Cismigiu Bucharest.

We were really delighted to note your comments and how much enjoyed the experience of Hotel Cismigiu services.
We're working together with restaurant team in order to improve morning service and products quality
We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the future to experience even more of what we have to offer.

Yours sincerely,
Catalin Balan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flint, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This is a splendid hotel - a historic building, recently renovated, well located for central Bucharest and with great suites of rooms with lots of space. Friendly and helpful reception desk, speaking good English and excellent free wifi in rooms. The one near disaster I had was a late wake-up call when I needed to get to the airport for an early flight, but all was rescued, with profuse apologies! I would recommend very strongly - even though I got a discounted rate as I was attending a conference nearby, the normal rates are excellent value.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GilesP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatalinBalan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Cismigiu, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Mr. Giles,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your very nice review.
We do our best to satisfy our guests and it is even better if we exceed their expectations.

We'll pay more attention and take care of wake-up calls for future in order to eliminate the inconvenience of being late for flight.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Catalin Balan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Fantastic hotel, every aspect was perfect. Totally renovated to a very high standard in 2013 and it shows - every aspect is scrupulously clean & modern. Really pleasant & helpful staff.

Much better than a regular hotel, as the rooms are all mini-apartments. Executive Suite had a living room, dining area, parquet floors, 2 flat screen TVs & minibar with a complimentary bottle of water. Great bathroom with a wide range of quality organic toiletries etc.

Free, fast wi-fi. Excellent soundproofing meant you couldn't hear any street noise unless you opened a window. Room was quite hot & hard to adjust temperature. Rooftop terrace is unfortunately not finished/available yet. Breakfast in the ‘Gambrinus’ bar offered a small but high quality selection, with eggs & meat cooked to order.

5mins walk from stops for Airport Bus No. 783. Bus price was 8.6 lei for a return ticket (both uploaded on a Multiplu card). Cards can be purchased from the booth in front of either the Arrivals or Departures - they can be picky about not having any change, but you can break your notes in the nearby supermarket inside the Terminal. Remember to validate tickets on boarding the bus (swipe against the box/machine on board), as the Airport bus lines are a prime target for plain-clothes ticket inspectors, and we were asked to produce tickets on the way in from Airport.

Very central location, hard to better - 10mins walk to Revolutionary Square, Parliament Palace & bars of Lipscani Old Town. There's two handy supermarkets opposite the hotel, just down the side street at McDonalds, where cheap alcohol & provisions can be purchased.

If you want to visit the Ceaucescu Parliament Palace for a tour, be aware that production of a National ID card or passport is compulsory, and English tours only run at certain times.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatalinBalan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Cismigiu, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Mr. Alan,

Thank you so much for your very nice comment.

We were truly delighted to read how much you enjoyed your visit to the Hotel Cismigiu and the city of Bucharest.
Our staff takes a great deal of pleasure in making sure that all our guests’ needs are met and it is hugely rewarding for them to receive a review such as this.
Kindly know that your appreciation means a lot to all the team.

We will be very pleased to welcoming you back at Hotel Cismigiu.

Yours sincerely,
Catalin Balan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chambly, Canada
Level Contributor
155 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Once you get in front of the hotel , you see an old building , with a small reception . You will meet the manager Mr Catalin Balan. Mr Balan is exceptional as all the staff : Georgeta Grecu , Adrian ...

Mr Balan show me the rooms , real suite , large windows , very clean . The room was very confortable , with a foam memory bed , large TV , and the living room was an other TV, with a fridge , stove and the tools if you decide to eat in your room . The service Mr Balan provided me to visit , get a restaurant , find an address was more than expected . More , there is a nice restaurant bistro for Breakfast or dinner or just for a drink . The location of the hotel is in the beginning of the old Bucharest , where are all the best Restaurants , Casino , Store , etc .

It was my 5th trip in Romania , and it was the best place to stay .

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor have larger windows . The room with a view on the main street are more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank fstremblay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatalinBalan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Cismigiu, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Mr. Sylvain,,

Greetings from Hotel Cismigiu!

Thank you very much for taking your precious time to share your thoughts and experience on “Trip Advisor” following your recent stay at Hotel Cismigiu Bucharest.

Your kind comments were passed on to our whole team.
We certainly look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Cismigiu during your next visit to Bucharest, and please do not hesitate to contact me.

Your well-being is our concern and we shall provide you our best services at all times.

Sincerely,
Catalin Balan
Front Office Manager
Hotel Cismigiu Bucharest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This is a lovely hotel, the rooms are very clean and nicely decorated. We had a seating area with seperate bedroom and bathroom. The hotel is easy to find. If you are arriving from the bus from the airport then where you get dropped off (University square) then turn right and you will find Regina Elisabeta blvd from there it is about a 5 minute walk.
The hotel staff are lovely very friendly and helpful.
The breakfast is in the bar attached to the hotel, it does smell of smoke a bit, nioce continetal breakfast. We weren't offered any cooked eggs and only spotted this on the card on the table which didn't look like a menu. However that was the only minor complaint. I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Clairebooey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatalinBalan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Cismigiu, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Mrs. Claire,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Hotel Cismigiu.

We are delighted to read that you were very satisfied with our reception staff and our service as well as our nice suites.

Smoking is allowed in most of the Romanian restaurants, hope this will end next year so everybody should enjoy a good coffee without inhaling any cigarettes smoke.
Breakfast staff will be trained on the next weeks in order to provide all information and quality services together with our delicious omelette.

We do hope that your traveling plans bring you back to Bucharest and Hotel Cismigiu.

With kind regards,
Catalin Balan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Christina
Hotel Christina
#1 of 166 in Bucharest
1,122 reviews
0.4 mi away
Epoque Hotel
Epoque Hotel
#2 of 166 in Bucharest
754 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rembrandt Hotel
Rembrandt Hotel
#4 of 166 in Bucharest
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Bucharest
0.2 mi away
Novotel Bucarest City Centre
0.4 mi away
Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cismigiu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cismigiu

Property: Hotel Cismigiu
Address: Bulevardul Regina Elisabeta 38, Bucharest 050017, Romania
Region: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 166 Hotels in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cismigiu 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in downtown Bucharest, the newly rebuilt Hotel Cismigiu 4*, one century old and one million stories rich, has come to life again. Creating a fantastic ambiance, its design melts heritage and novelty, mixing Art Nouveau architecture with contemporary style. Super chic and elegant, the hotel is just 3 minutes away from the famous bar and terraces of the Historical Center and 20 minutes by taxi from the International Otopeni Airport. Enjoy one of our 60 rooms, suites and fully equipped apartments, designed for your comfort!The hotel also harbours the Gambrinus Restaurant, as well as a decadent roof top "Ici et la" Restaurant and terrace, an efficient Business Center with all facilities and a practical underground parking. You can take the cultural pulse of Bucharest in the Old Town, where the hotel is quickly becoming a landmark, as we also host the Cervantes Institute of Spanish Culture. Vive la historia! All our services respect and promote a responsible environmental behavior! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cismigiu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing